Award: The Mystery Blogger Award #1 and #2

I’m still catching up on loads of book reviews and awards when time away from my teaching and taking my own classes permits, so I want to say thank you to everyone who has nominated me for various awards since July until now for your patience with me as I play catch-up since I still only have time to post to my blog 1-2x a week and that likely will not change anytime soon. I promise to get to them as time allows, and I haven’t forgotten anyone πŸ™‚ Again, thank all of you for thinking of me when you do nominate!!

I was nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award byΒ Kate @ Melting Pots And Other CalamitiesΒ way back in early July!! I’m so sorry, Kate for just getting to it! I was alsoΒ nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award by one of my bestie blogger friends, Β Mischenko@Read, Rant, RockandRollΒ last week, so I’m combining both nominations into one post, or I know that I will take another 400 years to get them both done LOL! This is the first time that I have received this award, so I was both excited and honored to receive it πŸ™‚

Kate, thank you so much for this award and thinking of me! Kate has a really fantastic blog that everyone should check out and hit that follow button! She has book reviews, tags, awards, anime reviews and recommendations. You won’t be disappointed! πŸ™‚

Mischenko, thank you for the award!! Everyone go check out her blog, right now! Β It has a little bit of everything-reviews, discussions, music, tags, awards, recipes, you name it!! It’s fabulous, and you should definitely follow it πŸ™‚

What is the Mystery Blogger Award?

mysteryblogger

This award was originally created by Maggie @okoto enigma

β€œMystery blogger award” is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging, and they do it with so much love and passion.

The Rules:

  • Put the award logo/image in your post.
  • List all the rules.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • Nominate 10-20 people and notify them.
  • Β Link back to the creator of the award. (Okoto Enigma)
  • Ask nominees any 5 questions of your choice, with a weird or funny question.
  • Share the link to your best/favorite post of yours.

Three Things About Myself:

  • I love to bake!! Like, seriously love to bake! I’ve often seriously thought of opening a bakery, and I have been paid over the years to bake pies, cakes, etc for friends and family members. Opening a bakery would be a bad idea though since I’d eat it all LOL. I would so love some coconut cake now…
  • I have an obsession with peanut butter. I could eat it all day: in a sandwich, on crackers, any dessert, it’s my favorite ice cream flavor, or I can eat it right out of the jar on a spoon (no double dipping, I promise!).
  • Autumn is my favorite season, so I cannot wait for the next couple of weeks to get here! The colors are so beautiful in fall, and it is the perfect weather in NC since it stays in the 60s and sometimes low 70s! I love all the fall smells of cinnamon, cloves, pumpkin, apples, cranberries, and I always make sure my house smells fall-ish, whether it is a candle or something baking. I always think of fall as the beginning of the holiday season and start decorating for fall, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and then of course Christmas!!!

Β Questions by Kate:

1. What is the coolest handmade thing you’ve ever received? I mostly just get homemade food as gifts, which is always cool πŸ™‚ A really great co-worker did crotchet me a beautiful baby blanket when I was pregnant with my daughter that I absolutely love. It’s not “cool” but it is lovely and special because she made it with love. But I do love getting homemade candy and cookies…

2. Is there a villain or antagonist that you can’t help but call a favorite character? If so, who? Professor Snape from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling! He was terrible to Harry and makes him just miserable when he could have helped him. But he redeems himself when reveals his forever love for Lily Potter and sacrifices himself to make sure Hogwarts and the students are safe.

3. Β What is a show, anime, or webcomic that desperately needs another season? Or a book that needs a sequel? There needs to be a sequel to Harry Potter! And notΒ Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!Β I want a HPΒ book that starts right where Deathly Hollows ends or maybe 5 years later or even where the characters are the age in the Cursed Child but actually about Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I just want more of them!!

5. What are some animations and/or webcomics that you think have some of the best art? I don’t really watch animations or read webcomics, so I’m afraid I can’t answer this one! 😦

5. (Weird/funny) Which character would you like to be from whatever you’re currently reading or watching? I’m reading several different books right now, so I’ll just pick 1! I’m reading Undead and Unforgiven by MaryJanice Davidson and since I l have been reading the series since book 1 (this is book 14), I’ve gotten to know Betsy, the Vampire Queen pretty well. She’s pretty ditzy, which is not me at all, but she is the queen of ALL vampires, and now she is running Hell! She’s also a vampire!! Oh, I said that! But I love vampires. Even more, I love strong female characters, and she is one when she is not being a ditz. And she loves shoes as much as I do. Having aΒ gorgeous husband is another plus!

Questions by Mischenko:

1. What’s your ideal pet? I love most animals and have had dogs, cats, hamsters, fish, snakes, and horses for pets either growing up or as an adult. But if I had to just pick one, then I would go with a dog, which I never, ever thought I would say since I’m totally a cat person!! But dogs love unconditionally, they never judge, they fall in love with you over and over again, are great listeners, provide solace and comfort, and well, they just know what you need when you need it. They have the qualities that I hope I have as a friend.

2. What’s your favorite food?Β Too many to name since I love food! I’m a foodie! Right now I’m starving since I skipped breakfast and lunch so if I could eat what I was craving right now, it would be a huge hamburger with swiss cheese, sauteed mushrooms (in garlic and butter), a baked potato with everything on it-lots of cheese, Β mozzarella sticks for an appetizer (anyone think I have cravings for cheese right now??!!), and a HUGE piece of cheesecake, preferably peanut butter cup!

3.Β If you had a chance for a β€œdo-over” in life, what would you do differently? I usually don’t believe in do-over’s because I’m afraid of tempting fate,Β but to be honest, if I had the chance, I would go back and get my Ph.D. back when I was still at UNC finishing my Master’s degree at age 24 instead of finishing it now when I am 40, well, I will be 41 when I get it. It would have been so much easier to do it then when I was younger even though I thought it would have been impossible with 2 kids age 3 and 1, but I finished my MA with 2 babies and help from my parents and husband ALL 3 who were 20 years younger then too LOL. So it could have been done, and it just would have been simpler for so many reasons, but mainly because I didn’t live with chronic pain every day like I do now from my fibromyalgia that limits so much of what I do and makes everything more demanding to accomplish.

4.Β What is your favorite music? I have such an eclectic taste in music that it is impossible to say what is my favorite. I like everything from Bach, Mozart, Micheal Jackson, Keith Urban, Metallica, The Rolling Stones, Bon Jovi, Micheal Buble, Justin Timberlake, Taylor Swift, Chris Cornell…and on, and on….I listen to whatever my mood dictates at the time πŸ˜‰

5.Β Who do you most admire in life? My step-mom. She is the most amazing person that I know. She is kind, loving, generous, friendly, and has a steel back bone. Her marriage to my dad is her second, and she was horribly abused by her 1st husband. Horribly! As she has shared with me the stories of the things her 1st husband did to her, things that were so awful that caused her to never be able to have children, I have sobbed and raged for what she went through. I would never want to be able to be around a man I think after going through physical, mental, and emotional abuse like that. But she has such a loving, strong heart and soul that she has been able to move on from it, which she says she would never have been able to do without counseling, of course, and the love and support of my dad. I just am in awe of her and her spirit. I’m honored and humbled that she is my “mom” in every sense of the word except biologically.

Nominees:

As I always say when I make my nominations, please know that I’m nominating you because I appreciate you and your blogs! You are individuals that I admire and enjoy and support your blogs, so thank you! πŸ™‚ Also, I know that not everyone participates in Awards and Tags, or some of you may have already done this award or been nominated for it and if you choose not to participate, then I completely understand! πŸ™‚

Lovely Blog Award

https://theorangutanlibrarian.wordpress.com/2017/09/05/the-emperors-new-clothes-tag/

https://babieslifefamilygoodfood.wordpress.com/2017/09/07/thursday-treat-7/

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/09/05/top-ten-tuesday-123/

Writing Wednesday: Death in the Family

https://mymagicalbookworld.wordpress.com/2016/02/24/welcome-to-my-world-of-books/

https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress.com/2017/09/07/christmas-in-london-by-anita-hughes/

https://darquedreamerreads.wordpress.com/2017/09/07/did-not-finish-the-lauras-by-sara-tayler-spoilers-ahead/

Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

Book Review: Hunt the Moon (Cassandra Palmer, #5)

My Questions:

  1. What is one thing that is on your bucket list (or thing you really want to do in your lifetime)?
  2. How would you describe yourself in a few words?
  3. What is your favorite book genre? Your least favorite?
  4. Describe the perfect relaxing evening.
  5. What is your guiltiest pleasure?

 

signature (1)

 

 

43 thoughts on “Award: The Mystery Blogger Award #1 and #2

    1. We’re right outside of Raleigh! I love Asheville! I was just there for 10 days the beginning of Aug visiting family 😊 I grew up in the mountains of TN and we visited Asheville all the time. We’ve talked about moving there but never have! Definitely gorgeous leaves πŸ‚πŸ And lots of snow β„β˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, the humidity is a killer! Ugh! And it’s worse in Raleigh than in the Mts! Wow! It was around 80 today and should be through the weekend. I’m hoping that means we are done with the 90+ degree days!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m obsessed with peanut butter too, peanut butter cookies especially are my favorites!! I recently went to a new ice cream place this summer and they had a flavor called peanut butter caramel cookie dough, and it’s my new favorite ever, I’ve had it like 10 times this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew I liked you πŸ’–β€πŸ’– I love peanut butter cookies! I could eat them every day! And that ice cream sounds amazing! I have to control myself when I buy Ben and Jerry’s peanut butter cup because I eat the entire pint lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I craved a burger today and the description of yours makes me want one even more!!! And cheesecake??? You have great food tastes indeed!
    Live all your answers especially your stepmom and her story. What an amazing, beautiful, strong individual and I’m glad she has your dad by her side now.
    Oh and congratulations! Haha should have said that first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, thanks! πŸ˜€ I’m dying for that cheeseburger! But I want the cheesecake even more lol. But we’re having spaghetti for dinner, so I get neither one lol.

      My stepmom is truly one of a kind! I don’t think I could go through some of the things she did and trust anyone! I’m so lucky to have her! We both are! And my kids too ❀❀ And I’m glad she has my dad too 😊 My mom was horrible to him, so they both needed a happy ending πŸ’–β€πŸ’–

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, crunchy peanut butter? Give me some! I love both, but this year it’s crunchy! I feel the same about dogs. Love mozzy sticks. I’m so hungry now…

    Congrats on the double nom and thanks for the kind words. I loved reading this. β™‘ Hope you’ve had a great week and chat soon! πŸ’–πŸ’œπŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crunchy PB is my favorite! It makes the best sandwiches! I’m starving, lol. I still want my burger and mozzarella sticks πŸ˜‚ Though I think I now want cheese filled pretzels! Maybe I just need to eat cheese lol

      Dogs are the best! I πŸ’–β€πŸ’–

      Thanks! And thank you for the nomination πŸ˜€ You deserve the kind words! I’m sorry it’s taking me forever to get to things. I’m behind on everything. It’s been an overwhelming week, I guess is the best way to describe it. 4 days with a severe migraine that led to an emergency visit for a pain med injection. Stress and not sleeping are doing me in so definitely overwhelmed. Balance is evading me. Or I’m putting too much pressure on myself. Likely a combo. But I’ll figure it all out.

      I hope you’ve had a better week and are all caught up on reading! Talk to you later! πŸ’–β€πŸ’–

      Like

    1. Thanks Annie! And you are officially my new best friend! ❀ Although in full disclosure that was taken 2 1/2 yrs ago! So I probably look ancient now since I barely sleep, lol! I know the bags under my eyes are telling a tale today hahaha πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much, Stephanie! What a lovely, lovely surprise from you! Congratulations, firstly. You absolutely deserve this. You are one of the VERY FEW book bloggers I follow and I love yours the most because you are so warm and insightful and cheeky funny which I love!
    I am proud to be among only one other nominee (the lovely Roda) who is not a book blogger so I feel extra special!
    All the best and love your answers! All credit to you for being so dedicated to finishing your university education. Amazing.
    All the best X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so welcome, Maria! I love your blog and your witty poetry and your poignant poetry and everything else on there! I feel like I know you from reading your words. And I’m a lover of words, whether it is prose, poetry, or in between. You and Roda both brighten my days! Days that are most often clouded with chronic pain from living with fibromyalgia, so I always look for brightness and light where I can to lift my heart and spirit. Your blog does that, and you are more than deserving of the award!

      Thank you for your kind words! You have no idea what they meant to me when I read them. I’m going to treasure them very closely ❀❀

      Sometimes I do wonder what I’m getting my PhD for,lol. But thank you!! And many close to me have thought me quite insane for returning to school when I have my Masters degree in English literature and have been a professor at the same college for 16 years teaching British, Contemporary, and American Lit. But I did it for ME! No, I don’t need it in the grand scheme of things unless I teach elsewhere but then I lose my tenured position. But I’m so close to my degree…I graduate in May. And somethings you do because you are compelled to do them even if it makes no sense to anyone. I’m an academic. Not just a teacher but learner and as long as my mind works, I want to keep learning, keep reaching. So your words, again, mean a great deal. You’ve made my day more than any award! ❀❀

      Enjoy your day!!

      Like

      1. What a beautiful comment. I wish I had it as a hand written letter to keep and cherish πŸ˜™
        I am so touched by everything you said here darling. And THAT is why I have been following you since probably when I first started my bloggy.
        I love the way you write and it’s so much warmer than a lot of other blogs around.
        I am so happy I can bring you smiles and joy, sooooo happy X

        I think what you’re doing is AMAZING. SERIOUSLY.
        Whoever doesn’t is NUTSO!
        You are a true inspiration. I am so glad I have found out more about you, your life , your joys and struggles. I want to give you an enormous hug then sit and have a gigantic piece of cake and an huge cup of coffee! πŸ˜‚
        You keep enriching that wonderful mind of yours and all good things will come to you.
        Lots of love you Xxxxxβ€β€β€β€πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸŒΊπŸŒΊπŸŒΊπŸŒΊπŸŒΊβ˜•β˜•β˜•β˜•β„β„β„β„πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸπŸπŸπŸŽ„πŸŽ„

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maria, if you keep writing such lovely words to me, I’m going to get an inflated ego 😍😍 You’ve again touched me more than you know and brightened my day…no, my entire weekend! I’m so glad my comment meant so much to you!

        Thank you so much for your kind words! And knowing why you follow my blog is very humbling. I’m just me when I write or try to be. I don’t mind exposing myself, flaws and all. And I love sharing my stories, my life, and I am so glad you’ve enjoyed getting to know me! I do hope that my personality comes through most of all in my writing! I like the connection that writing brings to other people and hope that somehow I make an impression with my words. So thank you again ❀😍 Oh, I would love to sit with you over a huge piece of cake and a huge cup of coffee! I think that would be tremendous fun πŸ°πŸ˜€β€β˜•

        When I’m feeling overwhelmed with teaching and school, plus being wife and mom, I’m going to reread your comment above. Being told that I’m doing something amazing by following my dream is an empowering thing! My husband is very supportive of my getting my Ph.D., thank God, or there would be a problem, lol! Colleagues and some family think it is crazy since it’s a very expensive degree, and I “don’t need it” 😝 But they aren’t paying the bill, so that’s my business lol. And I do need it since I want to learn, and sometimes depending the severity of my chronic pain all I can do during the day is use my mind. I don’t want to not be able to do what I love when I’m limited elsewhere at times physically.

        Plus, there is so much more about literature out there to discover and devour! It’s a smorgasbord of delights! So I’ll keep learning, I promise πŸ€—

        Lots of love to you too! You are so lovely! Hope you are having a lovely weekend β€πŸ’–β€πŸ’–πŸ˜šπŸ€—πŸ˜šπŸ€—πŸ˜šπŸπŸ‚πŸπŸ‚β˜•πŸ°β˜•πŸ°

        Like

  5. ooh that’s so lovely that you love to bake! I’m useless at baking, but I love eating cakes- it’s a problem πŸ˜‰ I love Autumn! And Snape! And I get what you mean about dogs- I’m a cat person, but I’d rather have a dog, cos like you said they have wonderful friendly qualities πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for the nomination!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I love, love to bake! I don’t have time now with school, but I could bake all the time! And eat it all the time, which is bad, lol. I love cake too! I could eat an entire cake hahaha. I’m seriously a cat person, but they don’t love you the way a dog does…or at least the cat I have now, lol! She is a brat! My cat who passed away years ago was awesome…she was with me all the time and knew when I was sad, etc. I think she might have been part dog, lol. I’ve been to England in Summer…is it freezing in Autumn?? You are welcome for the nomination πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh that’s lovely!!! Cakes are the best!! hehehe I know right!! aww that’s so sweet lol!! It’s pretty cold- but not too bad (I lived in Scotland for a bit though, so I don’t know if I’m a good judge, I often just say “you don’t know what cold is!!” when my family complain about cold in the south πŸ˜‰ ) Mostly I just always love the turn of seasons cos the trees are so pretty πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol, now I want cake 🍰 I love the colors too since it only gets like in the 60s and 70s F ( 15 to 21 C) here in fall lol. That’s not really cold but perfect!! πŸπŸ‚πŸ

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

