Throwback Thursday Book Pick for August 31, 2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as a way to share books that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere, which is why we all love them! If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

It’s been weeks since I’ve been able to participate in Throwback Thursday, so I wanted to pick something special, an old favorite that I really love. My pick this week is one I read when it was published 16 years ago, but I still remember how much an impact it made…and what a blubbering mess I was! My pick this week:

Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson
Published July 16, 2001 by Little, Brown and Company

5 Stars

Diary

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

A powerfully moving and suspenseful novel about families, loss, new love, and hope. Katie Wilkinson has found her perfect man at last. He’s a writer, a house painter, an original thinker-everything she’s imagined she wanted in a partner. But one day, without explanation, he disappears from her life, leaving behind only a diary for her to read. This diary is a love letter written by a new mother named Suzanne for her baby son, Nicholas. In it she pours out her heart about how she and the boy’s father met, about her hopes for marriage and family, and about the unparalleled joy that having a baby has brought into her life. As Katie reads this touching document, it becomes clear that the lover who has just left her is the husband and father in this young family. She reads on, filled with terror and hope, as she struggles to understand what has happened-and whether her new love has a prayer of surviving. Written with James Patterson’s perfect pitch for emotion and suspense, Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas captures beautifully the joys of a new family even as it builds to an overwhelmingly moving climax. This is an unforgettable love story, at once heartbreaking and full of hope.

My Thoughts:

This book. Oh, I was torn in pieces by this book in ways that I did not expect to be, especially since I was so used to reading James Patterson’s suspense and detective novels! I never imagined that he could write something so poignant, so beautiful. So breathtaking. So heart-wrenching. As a young mother with a one-year-old son at the time when I read this book, I think I sobbed uncontrollably for quite some time because I was so affected by the book. Even thinking back to the time I read it touches the deepest parts of my heart.

I remember reading this book in the span of several hours, staying up late into the middle of the night as the pages just quickly unfolded with the amazing love of Suzanne for her baby Nicholas, the story of Suzanne’s love for her husband Matt, and the love of the new parents for their baby son.  And of course, with the story of the newfound love between Katie and Matt and how profoundly Katie was affected by reading this diary. It’s a novel that is at its very heart layers and layers of a love story, or more accurately, represents a circle of unbroken and unequivocal love between all the characters that is best understood only by reading the book.

Again, as a mother, it was a hard read, but such a loving read to “hear” Suzanne’s voice in the diary and know that above all else she wanted to be known as a mother and for her son to remember her that way. It touched such a cord with me and if nothing else, that is what I want to be remembered for: a mother who proudly and fiercely loves her children since anything else pales in comparison, so I felt Suzanne’s desire to write and keep writing to her son long after the story ended.

But the book is more than about Suzanne’s love for her baby, it was her story to Katie as well, which was so intense, but so loving. There are twists in the book, but it wouldn’t be a Patterson book without them, and I certainly will not spoil them! All I will say is this is one of the most emotionally heavy books that I have read. I cannot say how beautiful and touching Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas is enough. Highly recommended even for non-readers of James Patterson as he certainly shines here!

signature (1)

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Book Pick for August 31, 2017

  1. I haven’t read a James Patterson book yet! My friend just gave me three standalones though. She says he’s real good and after reading your review, I can believe it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He normally doesn’t write romances. I think he has 2 more that are written this way. All the rest of his books are suspense or mysteries, and I’ve liked most of them although I haven’t read him in a while. He writes a lot of series and standalone, and books and I only read his Alex Cross series and Women’s Murder Club series now since I can’t keep up otherwise, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah she told me about the Alex Cross series. Said it was really good. I love contemporary suspense novels so I look forward to getting into those one of these days!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read a few James Patterson but nothing like this one! Wow, sounds so good! You have a way of making me want to run out tho the bookstore…right now! LOL

    I love the new look on your blog! It’s so pretty!

    How are you doing?! I hope you have settled down into a routine and are feeling well. I’ve been behind in blogland lol Sorry if I seem absent!

    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is definitely not a typical James Patterson!! 🙂 It is more along a Nicholas Spark’s type book lol. I’m glad I made you want to read it at least, but don’t buy it lol!! Just get it from the library 😉

      Aww, thank you!! I had messed with the graphics for the header while on vacation, I just needed to get them uploaded and tweaked over the weekend. I had been meaning to do it for forever, but something else always came up. My husband just laughed since purple and red are my favorite colors, but I like it! And it’s my blog I told him lol

      I’m not sure that a routine is the right word. Semi-routine might be better. I’m in my office 2 days a week on campus, so that’s definitely routine. And the kids started school Mon, so that is freeing up time since I’m not having to try and do assignments, lectures, grade papers, and spend time with the kids all at the same time. Of course, last week was only week one of both semester, so it was easy peasy. Next week I have 164 essays due on Sunday; they are 6-8 pages, so that is 1312 pages that I will have to grade in a 10 day turn around time on top of trying to write my own 25 page essay due the 15th, and then I have 3 exams all between Sept 20-22. So, it will go from one not so bad week since my classes will just be doing “light” work to weeks they have exams that I have to grade to essay weeks again in Oct and Nov (essay gradings are weeks my husband refers to as bitch week because I admittedly am one), and then my stuff for school. I’m ready for Dec and it’s only been 10 days LOL.

      I’m feeling tired as usual, but going to bed at 2 or 3 will do that to you. Shoulder feels so much better…not better, better, but I’m not wanting to cry lol. Definitely manageable!! I need to email you back. I was going to try to do that today. Hopefully, I can! My other “pain” is miraculously gone, lol. It seemed it was mostly shoulder related like my physical therapist said since it only flares up when the shoulder flares up. So underlying muscle and nerve pain…it was one of the things you mentioned lol. HAHA We are a riot!

      I figured you were on a much needed, well-deserved break! I’m lucky if I get a chance to check daily, so no apology needed ❤ I've been trying to check on my lunch if I stop to eat lunch 🙂

      Talk to you soon!! 🙂 I hope you are doing well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, I will check the library! I have a few other books to read first but I will definitely add it to my TBR 🙂

        We are going camping again this weekend, so I plan on starting the Good Daughter then! There is supposed to be showers and the nights will be cold (forecast is 11oC which is 52oF) so I’m glad we have a heater and lots of blankets!

        I’ve pretty much been laying low since the weekend. Lots of pain, and not sleeping because of it. Anxiety too. Not fun, but just taking it easy, doing some novel writing and hanging out with Ethan. He goes back to school on Sept 7th.

        I am SOOOO glad to hear you pain cleared up! OMG! That must be such a relief! Keep using that software so you don’t aggravate your shoulder, take care of yourself 🙂

        Sounds like a pretty hectic time coming up! Yikes! I hope it goes smoothly for you. Bitch week! HA! You deserve to be a bitch with all that going on! I hope he’s a good cook!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope you are having a great time camping! It’s still in the high 60s here at night, so we are going to be running our a/c for a while yet! We are all hot natured, so we always have the air on, lol.

        I hope you love The Good Daughter! It will be a good weekend to read it! ❤

        My fibro has flared up pretty badly since yesterday. It's been downpouring, and my fibro is always affected by weather. BUT at least the shoulder is still manageable and the other pain still mostly gone, lol. WOW! I was so freaking about that. Yes, I am sooo relieved. It seems like when one pain disappears a new one pops up. That causes lots of anxiety for me since I never know what is going to hurt next or how much.

        Sorry you have been in so much pain and not sleeping 😦 I know how the anxiety can be so terrible. I'm sure all that is causing your pain and lack of sleep. We need to start a club..

        I hope you're making progress on your novel 🙂 And hanging out with Ethan is good! They start school late there! When do they get out for summer?

        It will be a hectic time, and I'm not looking forward to it. But, it has to be done. Then I will have a calmish period with teaching before another essay is due the end of Oct. LOL! Yes, I'm definitely not at my best then! He's a great cook. He has to be since I hate to cook no matter what week it is hahaha. 😉

        Like

    1. Thank you! Isn’t it such a great book! I love Patterson’s romantic reads; they are a lot like Nicholas Sparks books. Tough past few days with my fibro and a bad migraine, but it’s been rainy and blah! Both seem to respond to the weather 😦 Going to do all I need to do today now that I’m back home from hubby having his tooth pulled and see if I can just chill tonight. Some things can wait until tomorrow..I have to keep reminding myself health is a priority!! Hope you are well too!! ❤ And maybe I can get time to answer your email, lol!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I read it around 2006. I need to reread it again. I just remember being stuck and I couldn’t put it down. Very emotional. I was telling everyone about that book.

        Darn on the fibro! I hope it simmers down over the weekend and you get some chill time in. 🙂 Will be thinking of you. Hope hub is feeling okay after the tooth too! Rest up and chat later. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes! So good! I remember passing it to friends. ❤

        Thanks! It’s some better today but it’s still annoying. Like a toothache. I’m going to try and relax now 😊 I need it! Talk to you later! Take care!! ❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my friend!! It’s so good! Such a tearjerker but worth every minute of the emotions ❤❤ I still remember how it made me feel 😭 I think you would enjoy it, and I hope you do if you read it!

      Like

    1. Me too! Thanks!! I’m trying to post reviews, etc and visit all my favorite blogs when I can! It seems like 1-2x a week for posting is all I can manage and probably will be all I can manage unless it’s a week with a break or until the holidays 😦 I actually thought I wouldn’t be back from my blog hiatus until mid-September, but I missed my blog and everyone so much ❤ ❤ School is a lot of work this semester, so much more than it has been previously since I graduate in May, woohoo! My 300+ page thesis is due in April, so I'm spending time that I’m not doing my assignments doing research for it, which I really am enjoying, but it is a lot of work! Soon I will have to start the writing, which I dread since I live with writer's block even when doing book reviews hahaha.

      I'm glad to be back teaching this semester although it is a lot! I have 164 students since some dropped the first week after reading my syllabus and seeing what was required. It's a balancing act, and I have only been at it 2 full weeks hahaha!! It will go from "easy" weeks to very tough, but I will do what I have to do!

      I was so glad to hear you survived Harvey!! How awful!! My prayers are with Texas. I hope you are well!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Holly!! I don’t know about ease, but I’m not one to give up. So I will make it work even if it runs me to the ground. When I have my PhD degree in hand in May, you will hear me squeal all the way from NC to TX, LOL!!

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

