Blogging News: Another Hiatus From My Blog Starting August 5th

Blog Happenings

Hi, All!

Happy Saturday, I hope everyone is enjoying these last days of July! The month certainly flew by faster than I wanted it too since that marks the beginning of back to school month!

I just wanted to let you know of some upcoming blog changes. I will be posting a couple of ARC book reviews this upcoming week that I need to post then I will be leaving for the mountains on Friday the 4th for some much-needed mommy and daughter time for 10 days. Then after our return, I will be returning to work and be starting my own classes that following Wednesday (lucky me on the timing!). So, to give myself time to ease into teaching all 180 of my students, taking my own classes, and balancing those two things with being mommy and wife, I will be on a hiatus starting August 5th for at least 6 weeks but the time frame will all depend on how things go with starting back to work and beginning my semester.

It will be a juggling act for several weeks, and the blog, as much as I love it, will have to take a back seat to my real life and responsibilities. Physically I can’t get too overwhelmed or I could have another fibromyalgia flare-up, which I want to avoid, especially since I’m going to be working from home teaching all my classes online this semester in the hopes that will keep my fibro at a manageable level, so I want to start both semesters off with on a good note 🙂

I will be posting a few reviews for a couple of ARC books that will be published in September and October during the timeframe of my hiatus, but I will be writing them ahead of time and scheduling them through WP, but I will not be posting anything else while on hiatus so if I have been tagged in any awards or tags during July that I haven’t gotten to yet (and I know I still have quite a few to do, which I apologize for!), then I promise to get to them as soon as I return to my blog unless I can get to them this week amidst faculty meetings, finishing  three different course syllabi, finalizing lesson plans, and packing  🙂

I will be around reading what blogs that I can and commenting when I can on your posts as time permits while on my hiatus, so please, don’t forget about me while I’m away!! Also, I will still be on Twitter and Goodreads, so I hope to see all of you there! And I can always be reached via email at any time at readingforlife41@gmail.com since I’m signed into it all day 🙂

Thank you for your understanding, and have a wonderful August! See you in September!! 😘❤

signature (1)

 

 

57 thoughts on “Blogging News: Another Hiatus From My Blog Starting August 5th

    1. I’ll miss you too! But of course, I am going to be reading your blog every day! And I will be posting on my blog once everything settles down if my thesis doesn’t kill me, lol. Even if it is 1x or 2x a week or at the very worst a couple times a month 🙂 I’ve built so much momentum with it in 2 months that I hate to lose it now…but I have to face reality and do what I can do. Or stay awake 24 hrs, lol. But you aren’t getting rid of me yet 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Aww, that’s so kind. But don’t stress. I understand being busy. I enjoy chatting, but priorities are priorities! No reason to get rid of you!!! I enjoy your posts, so I’ll look forward to them when you get the chance. 🙂 No pressure.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was kidding about getting rid of me 😉 Reading everyone’s posts will be a stress reliever between the millions of papers I will be grading and all the other things I will be doing 🙂 Trust me, I will look forward to it reading and chatting when I can. And thank you, I will feel good knowing you..and hopefully, others are looking forward to reading my blog posts when I get back!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. And thank you!! I’m hoping this end journey to my PhD is everything that I have dreamed and worked so hard for 🙂 It will be hard, but it has been and I don’t like easy. So it will be fun and hard all at once 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ll miss you!!! Sounds like you have a great plan in place. 300+ pages; whew! I’m sweating just thinking about it. Good luck and please enjoy that wonderful time with your daughter! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I will miss you too but I will still be reading your blog although I keep getting frustrated at Reader that it only shows up half the time, so I think you haven’t posted that day and then I go look for it a day later and I’ve missed posts, lol! Then the next day it shows up in my Reader lol! I think WP hates me.

      I’m looking forward to the trip! It will be so much fun 🙂 This will be the first time that she will be old enough to remember the trip, so that will make it really special! Yeah, I figured if I didn’t have a plan in place that I would be freaking out going in on the 15th trying to do everything because I would feel like I had to do everything since that’s just me lol! So at least if I take a step back starting next week then there will be no pressure. But once I get settled and now what is expected then I will know what I can do with the blog even if that’s only posting 1x or 2x a week! Better to know what I can do and be prepared…..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Understandable and don’t worry,you aren’t the only one that experiences issues with my blog. It’s you not me! 😂I’ll be seeing you in Twitter for sure since I’m super active there.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL!!I have been told many times it was me!! You are not the only blog though…it’s several, and it seems like every day I am looking for all these blogs, lol!!

        I’m not sure that we follow each other on Twitter..I will have to find you!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I follow you so just look in your followers list. In @ChanelBlairC. It’s my personal Twitter so blog stuff doesn’t show up there but other things and Goodreads reviews do

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this sounds exciting but also taunting!! Enjoy the time with your daughter and good luck with your thesis. I’m looking forward to more of your posts when you are back. I’m pretty new with following your blog but I’ll be still here when you come back. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much!! I appreciate that so much!! ❤ I'm definitely looking forward to our time together…she is only 7, so it's a fun age and extra special time before we all head back to school!! It will be a crazy time, but I think I can do it 🙂 I was really afraid of losing followers since I've only been blogging almost 3 months and have a lot of momentum going. But I hope that they, like you, will stick around 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s fine! You’re adjusting to life back from your vacay! I’m usually off a bit after being gone 😊 People think I’m gone now anyway, lol. But no, I’m trying to get 3 book reviews done by Friday but have no motivation lol. I’ve been in faculty meeting 2 days in a row and that has just been stupidity. But ugh. I’ll get these cranked out. I have a 96% on NetGalley for my reviews that I don’t want to drop😂 I know it’s 80% but I’m an overachiever, lol.

        Like

  3. I will miss you but I hope you have a wonderful time with your daughter! Take care of yourself , conserve that energy. You’ve got a lot going on girl! I wish you all the best and sending you go calming “keep flares away” vibes! Gentle hugs ❤ See you on twitter hopefully!! ❤

    Like

    1. I’ll miss you too! But I’ll be checking the blogs when I can, so make sure you keep recommending books I’ll love 😘 Thanks! I’m looking forward to our time…and I’ll take care! I’ll get lots of rest while we are in the mountains!! I’m sending you the same good calming “keep flares away” vibes! And I didn’t realize your typo the first time, so…lol!! 🤗❤See you on Twitter for sure and Goodreads too!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Renee for both of your wishes! I definitely plan on being back to my blog in Sept even if it’s on posting 1 or 2x a week or at worst a couple times a month! But I’ll definitely be reading all the blogs that I can, so I’m looking forward to all your good book recommendations for when I can squeeze in all my read…I read like crazy during the holidays 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll definitely miss you! Anytime you want to talk about anything at all I’ll be around! I might be slow to answer, but I’ll answer 💕💕 You be well too!! I still want to hear about your cold brew, lol. I’m not going anywhere until next weekend 😀❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll miss you, Stephanie!! But yes, it is important to strike the right balance between family responsibilities, work, and blogging. I understand that 🙂 Don’t worry, I will never forget you! How could I?! Although I will always miss your absence, I know we get to connect on other social media, like Goodreads or Twitter!
    Take much-needed rest, Stephanie! I’m always thinking of you, my dear friend ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re such a good friend!! I will miss you while I’m away! But thank you for understanding what I have to do right now ❤ And yes, we will connect on Twitter and Goodreads and I’ll be around when I can to comment on your blog 😀 I’m so glad we met 💗❤💗

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Spending time in the mountains with your daughter sounds amazing, I hope you guys have a great time! I definitely understand the difficulty in finding time to blog when life starts up again- I recently started a new job and it’s taking all my old blogging time!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ! I hope we have a great time 🙂 She is only 7 so a fun age and I want to give her as much attention before it is time for us all to go back to school. I can imagine how hard it must be to find blogging time when that happens, which is what has me worried. I’ll have 180 students this semester..until they all start dropping out, lol. I usually lose 25 students the 1st week once they read my syllabus and course expectations and realize I’m not playing around, lol. Then I usually lose more mid-term when they are failing…but that is still sooo many essays and assignments to grade, ugh! And with me taking classes it just gets so overwhelming. I have to write my 300+ page PhD dissertation this year, so that is a bit daunting! But I plan on being back in Sept even if it’s only posting 1x a week or a couple times a month 🙂 It will be fun anyway..maybe!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my!! That certainly does not leave a lot of time for blogging, but maybe once you’re in a routine again you’ll be able to squeeze some in! It does sound like your job is very rewarding, though! I really admire you for taking on all of that, and a 300+ page dissertation! That is amazing! What is it on?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is certainly what I am hoping 🙂 I usually teach 5 classes, which is anywhere from 240 to 300 students but am only teaching 2 classes this semester since I’m only teaching online classes this semester, so I’m hoping the 180 students will seem like a HUGE and much more manageable change. It’s rewarding most of the time. This will be my 16th year doing it, so you do get moments of burnout. It’s fabulous most of the time, especially when you get students who love Lit like you do and want to learn. And thank you! Half the time I feel like I have gotten myself in over my head, lol. But it just gets overwhelming with work, school, the kids, and the hubby although they are great at helping me out 🙂 My dissertation has no title yet, but it is basically analyzing and theorizing American and Southern Gothic Literature from the Dark Romantics (Poe, Hawthorne, and Melville) to Henry James, William Faulkner, Flannery O’Conner to women literary Gothics like Sylvia Plath and Toni Morrison and how writers like Stephan King and others today were influenced by these Gothic writers from the past 150 years. It will be a little book 😉 Hopefully, a half way decent one, lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s amazing! I’m so in awe of teachers. I have an English and History bachelor’s and I’ve been asked a hundred times if I want to teach, but I’ve always shied away from it because I’m not good at talking in front of people, so I’m always impressed by people who can. I’ve been asked to teach Sunday School at my church in a few weeks and it’s only a handful of kids and I’ve literally been given a step by step lesson plan, but I’m still nervous!!

        Your dissertation sounds AMAZING, wow!! Connecting the older literature to the writing of more modern authors sounds fascinating, especially since the focus is on stories of a darker nature. Even though it’s a lot of work I hope it’s fun!!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I bet you’d be an excellent teacher!! I’m terrified of public speaking, and I still freak out in front of new students…and they know I’m nervous, lol. It’s gotten better over the years. I used to sit in my car and cry the 1st couple of days of class because I was so scared! I was so glad when online classes started to be a thing and immediately began teaching them, lol. You’ll do fine with the Sunday School kids😊 They are the best age and crowd to work on talking in front of because they don’t judge!

        Thank you!! I had to really find something to write on that would interest me since I have godawful writer’s block, lol. The research will be fun since suspense and gothic writing are my favorite; it will be writing it that will be torture. I have such a hard time getting my words on paper. But I’m going to do my best!! And I do the topic ❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That is very true, kids aren’t nearly as judgmental! Your experience makes me feel better now, because throughout school I never really considered that teachers might actually be nervous- they always seemed so confident! But of course teachers are people like everyone else. As a kid it is hard to see adults that way sometimes. Even as an adult student it can be hard to see teachers that way!

        Getting the ideas down on paper cohesively is always the hardest part!! I have such a hard time organizing my ideas when I write essays, and it never helped that I’m an awful procrastinator and would always leave my papers until the last minute…so much struggle could have been saved if I didn’t save them til midnight the night before they were due, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. No they aren’t! You’ll be ok!

        Lol, no I’m always terrified! And I know a lot of teachers who are. I try not to talk too much the 1st couple of days and let all the students introduce themselves and that helps. I cried in college taking public speaking class before each class before each speech, lol. And I still haven’t picked up my high school diploma because I refused to attend graduation since I was class valedictorian, haha! 😂I was terrified to give the speech and got so sick I was throwing up! I’m not that bad no obviously but I hate people staring at me. I think it’s easier now because they are younger, it’s not a huge crowd, and I’m in charge, lol. Being in charge makes things a little easier!! ❤😁

        I don’t what for the last minute. I’ll start it today if I have the research. I just have such a terrible problem getting thoughts from my brain to paper! Even writing my blog. It takes me an abnormal amount of time to do anything with writing…probably 3 hrs is average to write a book review! I’m a constant editor, which is overly time consuming! And unnecessary. But it’s a bad habit. So frustrating too. I need 3 yrs to write my thesis lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I’m glad you persevered and still teach despite all that!! I totally get not liking people staring at you, though it does make it much easier when you’re in charge and confident in what you’re doing. Did you always want to be a teacher?

        Haha I totally get how difficult it can be to get thoughts on paper!! Sometimes I’ll go to write a post and think “oh this won’t take me that long” and then 4 hours later it’s finally finished, lol. And then I make myself reread it a trillion times to make sure it makes sense. Authors who publish multiple books a year blow my mind.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. My daughter you mean, lol. I was like wait…😂 My mom would ruin it, lol!! She and I are so excited to be getting away ❤❤ Much needed mommy daughter time! Thanks for everything! I’ll still check in after my vacay before school starts on the blogs to say hey!! And I’ll be around on Twitter and Goodreads too ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I totally read the first part of your post too fast, and forgot about our previous conversation. I saw mommy daughter time and got excited! So sorry! The coffee has not kicked in today at all. But, either way, I hope you enjoy your time! Mommy daughter time is awesome!! Sounds like you will be quite busy afterward so I look forward to hearing all about it when you get back to blogging! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

