Award: Awesome Blogger Award # 1 and #2

I know that I have been posting lots of awards this month, but I’m still working my way through the many awards that I have received this month.  I wanted to do the Awesome Blogger Award next since it made me feel so awesome to receive it! I was nominated for my first ever Awesome Blogger Award(s) by my one of my best blogging buddies, Jay at this-is-my-truth-now and Des at Des’ Random’s Thoughts! Thank you, both for the nominations! You have both made me feel wonderful with this award, and I can’t tell you both how thankful that I am 🙂  Please go check out both their blogs! If you have been reading my blog for a while, then it’s no secret that I’m always sending people to Jay’s blog!! But you also need to check out Des’ blog too and hit that follow button 🙂

Processed with Rookie Cam
Processed with Rookie Cam

The award was created by Maggie at Dreaming of Guatemala who stated:

This is an award for the absolutely wonderful writers all across the blogging world. They have beautiful blogs, are kind and lovely, and always find a way to add happiness and laughter to the lives of their readers. That is what truly defines an awesome blogger.

The Rules

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Include the reason behind the award.
3. Include the banner in your post.
4. Tag it under #awesomebloggeraward in the Reader.
5. Answer the questions your nominator gave you.
6. Nominate at least 5 awesome bloggers.
7. Give your nominees 10 new questions to answer.
8. Let your nominees know that they’ve been nominated.

Des’ Questions for me

  1. What is your favorite food? A nice cabernet sauvignon, different types of cheeses, a baguette with fresh butter, some fig tart and some chocolate mousse because you can never have too many desserts! 
  2. TV series or movie adaptation? TV Series because they can do more with the adaptation since a series is longer than a movie
  3.  Where are you from? I’m from the mountains of East Tennessee in a town called Gray that most people have never heard of. The population is a little over 1,000. 
  4.  If you could choose a skill you can master, what would it be? Writing skill without writer’s block and the ability to just write without it being torture at times. I love, love to write, but it can be the most difficult task in the world some days! I’d rather get a root canal when my writer’s block is really bad!! So just to be able to take the words that I can see in my head and write them down without torture would be a great skill to have!
  5.  Any summer plans? My entire family took a 2 week vacation at the beach the beginning of June, but my daughter and I are taking August 5-15 as time by ourselves to stay with my cousin David and his partner near Asheville to relax, chill, and do absolutely nothing before I have to start classes and return to teaching on the 21st, and she starts 2nd grade.  I’m really looking forward to the trip since David is absolutely my most favorite cousin and I adore Bob, plus I really love to visit the gorgeous Asheville area. And this visit is pretty special since it will give my daughter and me some much needed alone time before it is back to real life…..
  6.  You can choose five artists/bands you’ll watch in one music festival, who are they? Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones, Keith Urban, Maroon Five, and Adele
  7.  What’s on top of your bucket list? To finish my Ph.D. next spring without having lost my marbles or driving my family crazy, lol…and graduating with my 4.0 GPA intact after all the hard work that I’ve done. 
  8.  Beach or mountain? The beach. Even if I never get into the water more than a toe, which is 7/10 times, watching the waves relaxes me and the sound and smell of the ocean air rejuvenates me. 
  9.  Least favorite social media platform? It would have to be Instagram and FB since I barely use them. I guess the last time I was on FB was to post pictures of my daughter blowing out her birthday candles in June. I used to be addicted to FB years ago, but now I just don’t care that much. I would probably use Instagram more if I took pictures more. I like Twitter because it’s in real time and there is so much more on there than your friends posting pics of their dinner every night.  
  10.  Aside from reading, what else do you do on your free time? Bake, spend time with family and friends, have an online shopping addiction, swim, do yoga, walk, listen to music, occasionally watch TV, order lots of takeout, and when school starts, I grade the mountains of essays and writings that 180 students produce and do boatloads of homework.

Jay’s Questions for me

  1. Tell us about your next planned vacation. Hahaha, that is ironic you asked that! Please, see question #5 from Des above 🙂
  2. Who is your favorite world leader and why? I’m terrible at following politics, and I’m not even sure who all the world leaders are. But Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau seems admirable from what I have read about him over the past couple of years, especially lately even though that is honestly not a lot. From what I have read, I agree with a lot of his views about healthcare, which I think right now is of monumental importance in the US. I also admire his views on environmental policies and his feminist views. 
  3. Which book character is your dream significant other? Eric Northman from Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire series (True Blood) without a doubt!
  4. What is your normal wake-up time and go-to-sleep time? I don’t have one because I have such severe insomnia due to my fibromyalgia. I am a night owl anyway and like to be alone after everyone is asleep, so I have never gone to bed before 1 am as an adult. If I am having a good pain day, I fall asleep between 1 and 2 am. If I am having a blah pain day it is usually between 3-3:30 am. If the pain is really bad and keeping me awake, I am usually awake until 5-6am. In the summer, I usually sleep until around 10 am since that is how late my daughter sleeps. Once school starts, I will be up around 6 am to get myself prepared for morning classes and get my daughter off to school. 
  5. What fable taught you the most in life? Hmm, the fable that I always remember the most is the Lion and the Mouse. I remember being little and reading it and first thinking that there was nothing a small mouse could do for such a mighty lion. Of course, I was wrong! It really did teach me that everyone deserves mercy and justice no matter who they were. Everyone deserves a second chance.
  6. What’s been the worst movie you’ve seen? Jeez, I am so not a big movie watcher, so this is pretty hard. I’m going with just about anything Sci-Fi that my husband has made me watch repeatedly  I’m not big sci-fi fan and he knows it yet he watches the exact same movie over and over and over and over…well you get the idea so that even if I had an inkling of  ever liking the movie I wouldn’t because he has ruined it by watching it 40x in one week! 
  7. How do you really feel about social media? Not a big fan except for Twitter partially because I use it the most for my blog and partially because it has a lot of useful info just about everything! I think social media is a bit intrusive and can be dangerous at times and unless I choose to share my life with you, then I don’t want you in my business. I guess that doesn’t mean any of you, huh since I tell all of you loads of info!! ❤ ❤ ❤
  8. What does the world need to do more of? People need to stop being so mean and selfish. We are all in this together as one race, the human race, and all of us need to find and show more compassion, empathy, understanding of people who may be different, put aside differences of race, ethnicity, sex, gender because we are all the same no matter what we may look like, show love for one another, exhibit more diversity, show love for one’s self.
  9. If you could stop time every day for 30 minutes, would you do it even if you don’t know what the repercussions might be? No, I wouldn’t want to take the chance that the repercussions would hurt my family or loved ones.
  10. Do you have a secret crush on someone right now? And will you tell me who it is? I have a couple of celebrity crushes, does that count? Jon Bon Jovi will always be my 1st and most endearing celebrity crush. 

My Nominees

As always, there is no pressure to do the awards, especially if you don’t do awards 🙂 Just know that I think you are an Awesome Blogger and deserve the award! 

FNM

Tina @Reading Between the Pages

Nuala Charlie @ Engrossed in a Good Book

Snow White Hates Apples

The Living Book Tree

My Questions

  1. What is something that you’ve always dreamed of doing but never have?
  2. What inspires you to blog?
  3. How do you like to spend a rainy day?
  4. What gift have you received that you will always treasure?
  5. What is the most important thing in your life right now?
  6. What would be a perfect afternoon for you?
  7. What book, movie or TV series have you seen/read recently you would recommend? 
  8. What 5 words best describe you?
  9. As a child, what did you wish to become when you grew up?
  10. What is your favorite holiday? What do you like about it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “Award: Awesome Blogger Award # 1 and #2

  1. Congratulations, Stephanie!! Great answers as always ❤ Your answer to Jay's question #6 cracked me up… it goes to show how much you loathe watching Sci-Fi movies!! It totally cracked me up lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations Stephanie!! We just have to find the right sci-fi movie for you. Enjoy your days with your daughter! I’m sure they will be fantastic 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Nel! I can’t wait for our mommy daughter getaway! I wouldn’t mind the sci-fi so much if I didn’t watch it a million times. He hasn’t done that in forever though, but it’s scarred me for life haha!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks you to every thing you said! ❤I’m really looking forward to getting away. Mama guilt is creeping in that our time together is about to be severely limited. I’m going to make the best of it while we can ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear you! This time of year almost stresses me a little bit. After the 4th, summer goes so fast. I am looking forward to cooler temps and the holidays, always. I still love summer too. 💗 Enjoy your time! Will talk soon. I haven’t forgotten to message you, I’m just so behind and haven’t been well. Catching up soon. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So sorry you’ve been unwell! I hope you are feeling better? Or at getting there? Take care of yourself first! I’m always going to be around whenever you have time to message me 🙂 I know you have not forgotten ❤

        This time of year makes me stressed and guilty. It's just full on and non stop go, go, go once school starts. I'm hoping that teaching all online classes will help some since I will be home all day every day except for a couple hours 2 days a week. I'm going to try and squeeze some classwork in while doing teaching if I can! It's just so hard when they go back to school only seeing them in the evening. And my daughter goes to bed so early…I'm mean mom. I'm searching for balance this semester more than anything 🙂
        And thanks! I'm hoping we have so much fun. She's at such a fun age :). I'll be sporadically posting while we are gone if at all unless I have something scheduled (hahaha) and not at all while getting settled into my school routine…way too much to try and juggle in the beginning! Too many needy students emailing every 5 minutes in the beginning, lol!

        Definitely, take care of yourself!! ❤ Talk to you later 🙂

        Like

  3. Good Morning! Thank you so much for the nice intro… I do enjoy our conversations! And your answers to Des’ first question, what a perfect meal. I seriously wish I could win the lottery… I’d throw a big party somewhere for a long weekend with all my blogging friends, have a perfect location, tons of books, guest authors speaking, pay for everyone’s trips plus money to take care of things while they’re away from home… and just have an awesome time!!!

    Ah, stopping time, see, that might the reason we could go for it, just that once!

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for nominating me, this is my first award ever and I am honoured.
    Loved your answers and good luck on finishing your PhD with your sanity intact, there is so much of jumping through hoops to be done (not that I have ever, or will ever do one)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome! I so enjoy your blog and you are very deserving of the award! May it be the 1st of many 🙂

      Thank you very much on both counts! I’m hoping to have my sanity and my hair too, lol. It’s quite hard indeed. And jumping through hoops will require me to write a 300+ page thesis, which I’m a bit terrified about! I’m not sure what I was thinking! You just might have the right idea of never doing one…I think that almost every hour when in school! Especially when in classes and juggling teaching 180 students at the same time. I think was insane, lol.
      I can’t wait to see your answers for the award 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks Jo-Ann!! You are so sweet!!Right now it’s not too bad because I get to sleep in and nap if I can. It will really hit if it’s bad once school starts and I’m falling asleep at 5 and have to wake up at 6…those days I feel like crying most days! But I don’t know what else to do…so I just do what I do and try my best! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They are not my best days by far. My husband says they are the days that my *itch flip switches, so I try to make them as few as I can, but it’s not in my control. I always make sure to nap on those days, and that helps. I think a part of me is so used to only getting 3 to 4 hrs of sleep as the norm that anything more is just like yay!! And less is like….ugh! I’m REALLY hoping working from home works wonders. I’ll nap if I have to when I can. And if worse comes to worse I will quit at the end of the semester. I will hate to, but I can’t keep pushing. And I know that. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m glad your recognize you have limits but that would be so unfortunate if it came to that.

        Are you able to get any exercise? Walking? I’m looking at my own rehab programs. I was told to get up at the same time every morning and exercise. It does help. Our summer schedule has kinda messed that all up but I will get on track next week.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I am, but it is hard. I should have been recognizing my limits more years ago and I probably wouldn’t be in the mess that I am in now. My dr has been telling me for years to slow down and cut back or even quit and go on disability…lord knows I have a full medical record full of diagnosis to chose from that would qualify! But, no, I am too stubborn and want to work myself into the ground. It would be unfortunate, and I hope it doesn’t since I’m only 40. But health and family first or maybe just teach 1 class. I’m looking at my class roster and almost weeping…I have 180 students, and that is such a nightmare of assignments to grade each week and then essays to grade. My brain hurts just thinking about it. Even online its tiring spending that much time hunched over the pc, typing, etc…it just is physically hard when you have migraines and fibro to do a lot of computer work. And I have a rotator cuff impingement/bicep tendinitis that I refuse to have surgery on because I don’t want to take all that time to recover since it is my right arm and I need it, so I just fight through the pain and go to PT…being on the pc makes in 100x worse ( yes, writing for the blog kills it). Yes, I’m a 40 yr old with a 80 yr old body, and I would love to trade everything in but my brain and head for new parts, lol.

        Anyway, I’m thinking maybe 1 class next semester might be best, especially since I will be knee deep in writing my 300+ page thesis for my doctorate, lol. And that will take 100 yrs to do HAHAHA!

        I do walk when I can. On really good days I can do 3 miles. That what I was doing before this really bad fibro flare up, but that was just brought on by being so sick, being stressed, and the biopsies. I do yoga every day no matter what kind of pain I am even if it is only a few poses..even if it is just the child’s pose to at least stretch something. I tired hot yoga once but thought I was going to die, lol. Me and heat are not a good combo! And on days it is not 110 out there like it has been this week, ugh, I get in the pool and walk laps if I’m not too fatigued or just at least move everything around to keep the blood pumping and muscles going if I feel really bad. My sleep schedule is so awful with the fibro that I don’t have always have a set wake up time, but that will change in 3 weeks!
        I leave for the mountains this upcoming weekend so maybe I can get some gentle walks in there since it will be much cooler! No hiking though, lol. That would be it for me….;)
        Yes, you and Burger can get some good walks in! 🙂 It’s definitely good for you physically and mentally! And sorry to just answer you! I think WP hates me. Or the phone app anyway. It’s not been alerting me or showing me my all of my comments for 2-3 days, and I then find them when I get on my laptop later. It’s bizarre. And it’s not showing me all the blogs that I follow in the Reader, so I keep missing all kinds of posts thinking the person just didn’t post that day! I’m getting rather aggravated about that. I’m going to have to find all the blogs I want to read, that Reader was showing me, and Bookmark them just to be able to read them. Ugh! Very time-consuming! I was getting emails about new posts every day, but I changed my email address in my WP account from my personal email since it was so confusing (and annoying) getting a million blog emails with my bills and other emails every day. But now I’m getting no emails at all, lol. Crazy…..Maybe WP knows I’m about to take a vacay 🙂

        Like

      4. Ohhh..I feel so bad for you! Your body is holding you back from doing what you really want to do, that must be frustrating.

        I’m sure it’s hard to pace yourself with 180 student…yikes. One day at a time, girlfriend.

        Your poor shoulder…have you considered slowing down on your blog? I love posting daily, I love that feedback and sharing, but I am realizing that it is affecting my time elsewhere. A doctor told me this week it is a form of avoidance for my anxiety, because I end up online more than doing other stuff, including socializing, painting, writing. All things I want to do but tend to avoid for some reason.

        It was really upsetting to hear that and it threw me off for days. My blog is getting a momentum, and I’d hate to lose that. But what is best for me in the long run? These are questions I have to ask myself.

        300 pages thesis…oh gawd! That’s a novel or two! What are you doing your thesis on?

        Walking 3 miles is excellent! wow! And yoga is amazing. I should be doing more and my husband will be back to work next week from vacations so I’m planning to get back to my old schedule of walking/yoga/painting/writing.

        I hope you have an amazing time in the mountains! It might be just the thing you need!

        Don’t apologize for not answering right away! You are so sweet but hey, we all have lives and that’s important too. I need to organize how my messages and blog posts come in, too. It’s a bit out of hand! I think I will do that same and change my email address.

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

