Tag: I Messed Up Book Tag

book tag

Thank you so much Zuky the Book Bum for tagging me in this tag! It was a lot of fun even if I had to really think about my answers for some of these 🙂 Thinking is always a good brain activity  😉

A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently:

giphy7

Seriously, I did not imagine my beloved Jack Reacher looking like this since he is a man who is physically described by author Lee Child as being 6 ft 5 and around 230 or more pounds, so that looks nothing like 5 ft 7 inch Tom Cruise. Wait while I stop laughing a minute. Hold on, I’m still laughing….hehe! My God, I have to stop before I pull something!!

Still, to give credit where it is due, Cruise did do an excellent job in the movies. He just looks nothing like I imagined Reacher based on the book’s descriptions, so that was disappointing, to say the least.

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong:

Too many! Can we just have some normal names please and get on with the story??But I would say the award goes to 80% of the characters in George R. R. Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice series. Seriously?! At least we have a Jamie, a Rob, and a Jon amongst the crazy names like Daenerys. I mean really? He just might write quicker if he wasn’t busy thinking of outrageous names…I’m kidding everyone. Really though….

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure:

 

Oh, I love the love triangle even if it is overused…here’s looking at you Stephanie Plum, Joe, and Ranger! And you Sookie Stackhouse, Bill, and Eric…(as I shout lustfully for Team Ranger and Team Eric respectively)!!

A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about:

giphy6

The tormented, brooding rebel like Heathcliff in Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights, which is another of my top reads. I love Heathcliff, but the surliness and brooding gets to me when reading about it, and I love seeing it play out on screen because it is more passionate. Or maybe Tom Hardy just does the cliche better on screen than anyone else. Regardless, this is one cliche that I prefer onscreen.

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book:

Hmm, I honestly can’t think of anything, but I know that there are some! But I’m running on only 3 hours of sleep today, so I just can’t think straight about this one! Sorry! It will hit me later, and I will have an “ah hah” moment!!

Have you ever not read or completed a required-reading book for school?

I have to admit with all honesty no, never. First of all, when I was in school, my mother would have absolutely killed me if I skipped assignments, and I was more afraid of her wrath than the pain of reading a boring book. So it just became a habit to push myself to read whatever comes my way whether it is a school assignment or a for pleasure book! I can’t even not DNF a book because even if I’m borderline hating it I’m hoping with all my heart that something will happen that will redeem the damn thing before it ends…in the last few chapters…even in the last sentence! Ugh, I need someone to intercede and make me start a DNF pile!!

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in? 

This I have done!! I can’t stand stupidity in characters or plots that make me roll my eyes. Instead of DNFing a book, I will try to rush through the parts that I can’t stand instead. The book that I most recently did this with was The Goddesses by Swan Huntley just this week. I still need to write a review for it that I want to post the day before its publication day of 7/25, but I don’t even know where to begin as I’m still lost in the crazy of it all. I’m not even sure what it was I even read…just wow! (Can you tell that I did NOT love this book??) Going to have to wait for a clearer head to get my jumbled thought about this one in order that’s for sure!!

goddesses

Have you ever canceled social plans to read a book?

No…maybe…I don’t think so!! Maybe way back when I was an undergrad but that was almost 20 years ago! Ok, so let’s go with maybe since I’m getting senile now that I’m 40. But now, no even though there are times I would seriously love to but since my husband doesn’t read, he would be question that since he likes to hang out with people.  My excuse would have to be that I was really feeling bad, which since that is the truth most of the time I can get away with but try not to in case it just makes people annoyed with me.

I tag the following but as always, don’t feel obligated to do it!! Just know that I was thinking of you 🙂 

Nel @Reactionary Tales

Linda @Everyone Else Has the Best Titles

Mischenko @Read, Rant, and Rock and Roll

Ysabel@Shelf of a Bookworm

Danielle@The Introverted Book Nerd

Luna@Bookish Luna

Jay@ This-Is-My-Truth-Now   (I finally have a chance to tag you in something after all the times you’ve tagged me, yay!! 😉 )

Enjoy the tag everyone! And if I didn’t tag you and you want to join in, please feel free to go ahead! Please just pingback to me so I can see your answers!!! 🙂

signature (1)

 

72 thoughts on “Tag: I Messed Up Book Tag

    1. Ha!! That’s true! I was right, and they apparently couldn’t read the book description, lol. Although I read that Lee Child actually wanted Cruise to play Reacher, so I guess if the author was ok with it then….still that’s a 10 inches difference in height and probably 80 lbs, lol. Need someone the size of the Rock but not the Rock…hmm!

      Like

  1. ERM HOW DID I NOT KNOW TOM HARDY PLAYS HEATHCLIFF???? I MIGHT ACTUALLY ENJOY WUTHERING HEIGHTS WITH HIM IN IT!!
    I’ve never read a Reacher book, kinda not my thing, but I heard a lot of people were disappointed by Cruise playing the role! My boyfriend even said it was all wrong and he usually never has an opinion on anything move/celeb related lol! Great answers! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s a very good Heathcliff!! Probably one of the best. It’s was a 2009 (?) 2 part miniseries but I think it’s on Amazon.
      A lot of people thought it was crazy Cruise was playing Reacher, lol. It was just bizarre casting. That’s funny your boyfriend even said anything, lol! Thanks again for the tag 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I could be so wrong! I saw it on Masterpiece not long after it aired and I swear I remember putting it in my to watch list on Prime last year but never got around to it again. Of course what they have changes too from time to time…I hope you find it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess we feel the same about The Goddesses…lol….What did I just read? and then that ending ? I think she was tired of writing and just said…ok, I’m done now!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bahaha. I hate love triangles. Like can’t stand them but I’m with you on True Blood. Team Eric all the way. Skcarsgard is too damn hot not to be on his team. I also agree with your GoT names. I mean it’s not even just the names, their titles too are sometimes ridiculously intricate. You know there’s a name generator that some authors use? I learned this last night. They can keep repeating it over and over again until they get a name that sounds good in their head, haha. Thank you for tagging me! I’ll have to think on these for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love them but if they go on to long, I’m like okay enough!! Oh yes, Skarsgard is a God. I watched Tarzan several times just to watch him run around the jungle in barely anything. I did know they have a name generator. I imagine Martin using it for GoT over and over until he gets the most the ridiculous names ever. He’s just sitting there playing with the name generator not writing…although I can see him making them up like Tolkein did before name generators existed. And you are welcome! Have fun with it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooh girl! Do not get me started on Tarzan! I drooled so hard in that movie. He is one gorgeous piece of man!
        Yes, I imagine George Martin is doing that as well. I heard he has another TV show in the works or something like that. Do you watch the show?

        Like

      2. He’s just perfect. I had to buy the complete series of True Blood just to rewatch him, lol. ❤❤❤

        I hadn’t heard that about a new tv show. I do watch GoT although I’m bad and dvr it so I can fast forward through the parts of the characters I don’t care anything about lol. There’s just so many and some of them I don’t care at all what happens too!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes! I enjoyed Eric and Lafayette the most on True Blood.
        I hope you’re tuning in this Sunday??? This season premiere has to be epic I hope, haha. After waiting a year and a half, it better be! Which characters do you not care about the most?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, they were definitely two of my favorites! I used to really like Sookie and then she started to piss me off. I liked Pam a lot too since I loved her sense of humor!

        If I don’t watch it, I’ll either DVR it or watch it On Demand. I’ll sometimes just do that and binge watch the season all at once especially if my kids won’t go to bed! My oldest watches it anyway, so I don’t care about him being up but I can’t watch it with a 7 yr old around, and I am SO lax with bedtime in the summer that I don’t even care when she goes to bed as long as it’s by midnight! The longer she is up the later she sleeps in, which works for me since I have insomnia from hell with my fibromyalgia and most nights don’t fall asleep before 3 so if she was waking up at 7 or 8, I’d be screwed!

        Ha, it’s easier to tell you who I do like than who I don’t since that is long list! I mainly watch the show for Jon Snow anymore, lol!! So I like Jon, Arya, Sansa, Tyrion, Daenerys, the Hound, Brienne, oddly I like Jaime although I despise Cersei and the sooner someone kills her the happier I will be….

        Like

      5. Yeah cercie is one bad bitch. The B word is 1000x appropriate in her case. I like all the ones you like except Sansa. She is so annoying to me.
        Loved Pam! It’s sad that Nelsan Ellis died recently 😞. I need to binge TB again from the beginning

        Like

      6. Oh, she is an awful bitch! Sansa is annoying, true, lol. I think I like her because she is one of the few Starks left and god forbid anything else to happen to them or her; damn, she has gone through enough after that awful rape. I almost stopped watching after that. That episode did me in for awhile.

        Oh, I know! I was shocked Saturday when my hubby was like who is Nelson Ellis, he just died?? I was like wtf??? Then I cried, and he’s like whoa!! It was ugly cause I was sobbing and then I was laughing about the AIDS Burger scene because that was like the best damn scene on TB except Eric naked that is!!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Aids burger yes!!!! So iconic!! I cried to. That’s true about Sansa. She’s like the ditz to me but it seems like she’s coming up in the world finally if season 6 end was any indication.ivuess we’ll see soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Yes!! That is like one of the best moments in TV!

        She is a ditz, but I hate to see any woman treated like she was. I’m definitely hoping she starts to get treated better and she matures a bit. I think so. It can’t get any worse really unless she dies, and it’s GoT, so anything is possible…

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I love talking to you so much! Thanks for responding to all the comments. I can’t wait til your next post and the one after and the one after that… hehe 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Aww, thanks!! 🙂 I love talking to you too!! Sorry if it takes me forever to answer you sometimes…I felt bad earlier when I left you waiting for hours and hours, lol!! I had to take Kayley for her 7 year check up at the pediatrician and turn off my phone and that felt like it took forever, but it really wasn’t. It was the going to get a Frosty’s at Wendy’s afterward because it was 96 degrees outside that took long and then stopping at Target well, just because…hahaha! Oh, no! I don’t have anything scheduled until a book review on Monday (finally catching up on them)!!! But I’m glad someone looks forward to my posts 🙂

        Like

      11. 😁 haha I don’t mind. You’re a mom. Life is always an adventure so no need to apologize. I love frostys! Yum!! 96 degrees is gross though!

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Thanks!! I always wonder if people are like wth did she go, lol!! Being a mom is definitely an adventure but my favorite one!! It’s especially fun when your kids are 10 and12 yrs apart, lol. I thought I was going to melt and that was 96 degrees with over 70% humidity…ugh! NC summers are brutal from now until mid Sept. It gets worse in August. So lots of Frostys!! They’re so good!! 😍❤😂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad we’re getting senile together at ~40. Phew! Thanks so much for tagging me. I’m glad you got me on a new one too! Someone else tagged me within minutes of you tagging me for the same one, but it’s still new to me! I’ll work on it this weekend. Looks like fun. 🙂 I get things wrong all the time… hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank God I’m not alone!! I’m glad I could finally tag you, lol. Either you had tagged me, or it was one you’d already done! 😀 You were being thought of last night…awesome!! At least it’s not a tag you have to answer 20 questions that you were tagged in 2x! This one is fun and relatively easy. Oh, I do too! Getting things wrong is part of life 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great answers! I had the EXACT same thoughts when I first saw Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher haha. He doesn’t fit the description at all even though he did a good job with the movie otherwise. And I agree the A Song Of Ice And Fire names definitely slow you down… Especially since there are so many characters in the first place. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! He so doesn’t fit the description, lol. I was pleasantly surprised though at how well he played the part. I’m hoping they make a 3rd one. Exactly!! I’m not sure what Martin is thinking, lol. It’s crazy. But he’s eccentric so….😂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed it to a point, but the last 20-25% was so utterly bizarre, I know I keep using that word, that I felt I was in some crazy dream.

      I’m going to try and write my review tomorrow to post later next week or the day it publishes…or I may just write a mini review on it like I have been doing books that I don’t particularly love along with 2 other books I have waiting for mini reviews and call it a day, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s one of my favorite series! I wait for it every year just because I know it will be a quick read but make me laugh and laugh!! Especially if Grandma is involved, lol!! I like Joe too and get torn between him and Ranger. I’m just afraid if she chooses Joe she’ll give up what she does and become a Burg housewife and mom. I’d hate to see Stephanie stop having adventures,lol. Both men are so fine though! ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Too true!! She’s so hysterical! I love her. Every time I read one of the books, I’m like oh…being a bounty hunter sounds awesome! Then I think about all her blown up cars and apartments and change my mind, lol. Pretty sure I’m just hoping to work with a Morelli or Ranger in my lifetime, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right! That would be me because crazy, random stuff happens to me all the time, and everyone is always like only this stuff could ever happen to you….lol! We’ve decided if it’s going to happen, it will be to me, lol. I can’t wait for the next book! But I almost wish she’d definitely pick her guy. I feel like the suspense has gone on long enough. I think she’s chosen Morelli, but I also think she could keep wavering, lol. Until she says I do, I’m going to think she’ll go either way! Those two guys are too tempting ❤❤

        Like

    1. Thanks for nominating me 😊I was just nominated for it by someone else a week ago and still need to do it, lol. I’m so behind on tags and awards and book reviews since I was on a 2 week hiatus from my blog for medical reasons and before that on vacation! I’ll try to get to it as soon as I can 😊 I’m behind on book reviews too, lol. I’m playing catch up right now, which is never fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I just published this tag. This is my first time attempting to send a pingback. I’m hoping I did it right. Please let me know if the pingback worked. 🙂
    Thank you for the tag 🙂

    Like

  7. Ha! I also don’t DNF. I don’t know why! It’s just not in me, somehow? I think you’ll understand 😀
    And the names, the names! So true. Why do they always have to make such complicated names? Then again… 50% of my followers can never spell my name either, so maybe it’s not completely messed up if an author comes up with a rarer name xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Someone who understands the not DNFing,lol. I just feel guilty I guess. 😊 I don’t mind rare first names just ridiculous ones, lol. You’re name is lovely ❤

      Like

      1. Aw, thanks 🙂 actually, I think I don’t DNF because I believe in giving last chances to the very end 😀 I used to DNF, but then I read a book which only got good after maybe two thirds, and then it got SO good it was the best book of the year. So that taught me a lesson 🙂

        Like

      2. You’re welcome! Well that is the reason I don’t DNF. I hope the book will redeem itself even in the last chapter, lol. So if I DNF I’d feel horribly guilty by not giving it a chance 😊 Everyone says DNF by 40% but idk. It could get good at 60%. You never know! And your story is exactly what I mean!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. A word/phrase I learned because of its use in a book: From The Widow, I learned Folie a Deux which means “shared psychosis.” And I didn’t even enjoy it. Ha!

    Also, I do not enjoy Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher or, really, anybody… BUT, I do enjoy your blog! And I’m looking forward to missing a concert next week so I can stay home and read. (My son and husband are going–and I’m happy about it–I will have a date with a juicy novel while they hit the mosh pit.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, I know that one from a cognitive psych class I took almost 2 decades ago. Very interesting disorder. I hate when you don’t enjoy a book!
      I don’t think I’ve enjoyed Tom Cruise in anything since Top Gun when I was 9 or 10, lol. I was obsessed then. Now he’s just annoying to me most of the time. I haven’t watched him in anything but Reacher in decades.

      Enjoy your juicy novel! And thank you for your kind words about my blog 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Love triangles?! HAHA I have such a love hate relationship with them! Sometimes they are great and then sometimes they make me want to chuck the book across the room and go scream in a pillow. I don’t think there is any in-between!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, that’s true! Some are so stupid. I don’t read that many books with them in it to be honest, which could be why I picked it. I mainly read thrillers and suspense so not a lot going on there with love triangles, lol. I wanted to scream with the Bella, Edward, and Jacob triangle in Twilight….

      Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

