Throwback Thursday Book Pick! July 13, 2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as share books that you want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

My pick this week is a book that I read almost 2 years by Kristin Hannah, and I really need to read more books by her since I have really enjoyed all three books that I’ve read by her!

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

Published February 5, 2008 by St. Martin’s Press

4 Stars

fireflylane

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of On Mystic Lake comes a powerful novel of love, loss, and the magic of friendship. . . .

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the “coolest girl in the world” moves in across the street and wants to be her friend. Tully Hart seems to have it all—beauty, brains, ambition. On the surface they are as opposite as two people can be: Kate, doomed to be forever uncool, with a loving family who mortifies her at every turn. Tully, steeped in glamour and mystery, but with a secret that is destroying her. They make a pact to be best friends forever; by summer’s end they’ve become TullyandKate. Inseparable.

So begins Kristin Hannah’s magnificent new novel. Spanning more than three decades and playing out across the ever-changing face of the Pacific Northwest, Firefly Lane is the poignant, powerful story of two women and the friendship that becomes the bulkhead of their lives.

My Thoughts:

This was my second Kristin Hannah book, and she did not disappoint. I love stories about friendships, and this was such a beautiful look into the lifelong friendship of Kate and Tully. Hannah is a good story teller, and she made me feel like I was part of TullyandKate and really became immersed in their lives.

This is not only a story of friendship but a coming of age story as each girl reaches puberty and adulthood and realizes that although they are forever connected that they have very different dreams. And while they will both achieve their dreams, one woman will achieve everything she wanted but be haunted by loneliness and the other women will have the loving family she always wants but completely loses herself and her own desires devoting herself as a mother and wife.

The beauty of the story is how Tully and Kate’s friendship doesn’t break under anger, hurt, and resentments that happen over a thirty year period. It’s about a friendship that will stand the test of time, even betrayal and secrets, a friendship that will last through everything. It’s a tearjerking read that is both hopeful and poignant. I highly recommend it!!

signature (1)

 

 

23 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Book Pick! July 13, 2017

    1. Wow, Renee!! I/m so very sorry to just be answering you on this! Somehow your comment was in my Spam along with a bunch more! I’m glad I was going through them just now!! But yes, this book is one of my favorites! I think I cried throughout it as well. It reminded me so much of the movie Beaches, which I love!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so good! It’s another tear jerker like The Nightingale but of course for totally different reasons! There’s a sequel to it called Fly Away which I have and need to read but Flirefly Lane tore me up so much that I just haven’t yet ❤❤❤ I love and hate it when a book makes you feel that way!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So, I guess I should have looked before tagging you, but I nominated you for the Liebster award. I didn’t realize you had been nominated before! Well, you’ve been nominated again! Guess that should be a compliment to you! Here it is if you’d like to check it out! Liebster Award

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, this is the 2nd time this week that I’ve been nominated, the 3rd time since last week and my 5th time since May 😁 I guess the Liebstar likes me…haha. I was going to nominate you when I did mine but someone got to you 1st, lol. Oh well. I’m not sure how many times you can be awarded those….Thank you though!! I appreciate you thinking of me! I’ll just add your nomination with my other 2 and then answer all 33 questions in one post, whew!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, you’re sweet, and that’s so nice to say! 😊

        My blogs new since the beginning of May, so I think that has a lot of to do with all the nominations more than anything since it’s supposed to go to new bloggers, lol. I think we can say after this that I’m probably good, 😀 And no worries not looking! I finally made an Award/Tag page because even though I like doing tags and tagging people the hardest part for me is knowing who to tag or nominate. So I’ve stuck everything I’ve done on that page (but I still have 3 tags I need to do, 3 Liebsters and 1 Sunshine Award) so it will hopefully help other bloggers see what I’ve done. I saw that on several other bloggers sites and thought it was a great idea! But I’ll spend like an hour or more sometimes hunting down people to tag…ugh! Because some bloggers don’t do awards or tags, and that is hard to know too unless it’s on their blog, so I usually don’t tag anyone unless I see they actually do them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d say your blog is doing well for being only 2 months old! And yes, finding people to tag is hard for me too. I haven’t built up many friendships yet so finding 11 people proved to be challenging for me.

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

