Tag: THE ‘HOW I CHOOSE MY BOOKS’ TAG

 

Bookstag

Thanks to the always very funny Orangutan Librarian for tagging me in The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag! You really need to go check out her site if you haven’t yet since she has a great variety of content, and she will give you a good laugh too!!

  1. Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book? queenI love all things Camelot, and this is one of my favorite books about Guinevere! I think that I have read it 5 or 6 times over the years
  2. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place? manhuntingI’m typically not a chick-lit person, and I had never read anything by Jennifer Crusie. So I really didn’t know what to expect when I randomly picked this up one day from a box of free books at a neighborhood yard sale. I figured wth, and I was pleasantly surprised at Crusie’s hysterical, goofy sense of humor. Of course, I ended up reading all her books, lol!
  3. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book? virginblueI had read Girl With a Pearl Earring by Chevalier and loved it, so I wanted to read this one too!
  4. .Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?oneMy sister-in-law recommended that I read the Stephanie Plum series one day when we were at the library together. I was in a reading slump and couldn’t find anything. I loved book 1 so much that I ended up reading the first 8 books in a week! I don’t think I have ever laughed so much in my life!! Hysterical!! I had to stop reading them in public because people thought I was insane.
  5. Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs. Did it live up to the hype? 

 

finalgirls

I read this book because of all the excellent reviews on other book blogs, and I loved it! In my opinion in lived up to the hype and more although I know there are mixed reviews!

  1. Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

damaged

I love all of Scottoline’s legal suspense, well all her books actually, and this is the latest one in the series, but the next one comes out next month!! I’ve been reading her books since she published her first one in the early 90’s, so she’s a fave!

  1. What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

trueblood

There are several, but I’ll go with Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire series since it is one of my favorite series ever! I watched the first season of True Blood on HBO before I realized it was based on a book…duh! Then I went and bought all the books that were published at the time, and I read them and reread them several times….I was a little addicted and still am!

  1. Think of your all-time favorite book/s. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

Wow, that would be a lot of books to list, so I will just go with my top five:

  • Gone With the Wind: It was summer vacation when I was 12 when I read GWTW. I had just watched the movie with my mother, and I immediately wanted to watch the book. I had such a girl crush on Scarlett after watching the movie and a huge crush on Rhett, and oh how I wanted Scarlett’s dresses!! Thank god my mother had her copy of the book from when she was a teenager! I devoured it in three days and then I read it again. I spent that entire summer wanting to be Scarlett. Wow, I remember it now, and I don’t think that I have ever been so obsessed with a book character like I was back then..

GoneWTW

  • The Complete Sherlock Holmes: I had mono when I was in 6th grade, so I was out of school sick for a month. I read a lot! And I ran out of things to read that were interesting, so my granddaddy gave me his huge copy of this to read because he said I would not be bored anymore! And he was right! I fell in love with Sherlock and all his eccentric ways, his brilliance, logic….oh, just everything! And Watson too! This truly cemented my love of mysteries and suspense.

holmes

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë: My mother gave me this book when I was about 13, and I feel in love with Brontë’s descriptive writing. This book was my foray into truly great British literature and fueled my desire to not only pursue a degree in literature but to concentrate in British literature. I love the darkness in Brontë’s writing and how emotional, captivating, and innately passionately she writes. It’s damn excellent writing.

jane_eyre

  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley: My granddaddy also gave me this one to read probably when I was 11. He was a great lover of literature and also an English teacher for the local high school until he developed Alzheimer’s disease in his late 60’s. I was fascinated by Frankenstein’s monster and this masterpiece of Gothic horror. It made such an indelible impression that Gothic horror still transfixes me today and is one of my favorite genres to analyze, lecture, and still learn about.

Frank

  • Middlemarch by George Elliot: I read this in high school, probably when I was 16 or 17, at the recommendation of the most wonderful English teacher in the world, Ms. Baker. Elliot is pure genius. His insight into his characters and their actions is pure brilliance! It is 800 pages of perfection in every word.

eliot

Okay, so all my favorite books that I listed are by British authors except for Gone With the Wind…what a shock! If I had listed more of my faves, there would have been lots of American writers, but I can’t keep going on and on and on….so let’s start tagging people so we can see how they choose books!! And if I don’t tag you and you want to do this, please do!! It was a lot of fun, but please make sure to pingback your answers to me, so I can see them! 🙂 Oh, and if you have fun stories about books you’ve chosen or your favorite books, tell me about it in comments below!!

I’m Tagging the Following:

Destiny @ Howling Libraries

Noriko@Diary of a Bookfiend

The Living Book Tree

Birdie Bookworm

Be Exactly Who You Want To Be

Jo-Ann@ Inspiration Pie

As always, don’t feel like you have to do the tag!! Just know I was thinking of you 🙂

signature (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

72 thoughts on “Tag: THE ‘HOW I CHOOSE MY BOOKS’ TAG

  1. That is a great list, Stephanie. Chevalier is such a talented writer. It is difficult not to fall in love for her brand of historical fiction. Oh for Scarlett’s dresses! It is so difficult to narrow down your list of authors and books. It is like asking one to choose between brownies, cupcakes and macarons. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It was a hard list to make, and you made the perfect comparison since I adore brownies, cupcakes, and macarons! Chevalier is wonderful! I was drawn to her because Johannes Vermeer is one of my favorite artists, so I wanted to see how she characterized him since so little is known about him historically. I loved the story and her style of writing! Oh, I would die for one of Scarlett’s dresses! Either the barbecue dress or the red one she wears to Ashley’s birthday party! Of course, I love the one she makes out of the curtains too! Sigh…they’re all gorgeous. Who am I kidding?? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome!! You were the 1st person I thought of to tag because I know you like tags!! And it was fun!! Although I over think them so much…takes me forever to write them. Then I never know who to tag, lol 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1000x yes to Jennifer Cruise! Welcome to Temptation was the first book I read by her and then, like you, proceeded to read the rest! I was also the same way with True Blood and I adore Jane Eyre. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a fun tag to do! That’s really hard to answer. I think I love them equally. I’ve only seen the movie once or twice but read the book over 20 times. The movie is gorgeous and so is the acting but the book is a literary masterpiece.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the tag! I was totally running low. 🙂
    I actually started watching True Blood first too. And then I bought the box set of the Sookie Stackhouse books and binge read them. I never finished the books, but only because I wasn’t happy with where Eric was ending up. He was my favorite in the books (and in the show).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome!! Glad I could give you one to do! 😊

      Eric is my favorite in the books and movies too. I agree with you that I disliked where the character was going! I read them to see how she finished the series, but I wasn’t thrilled with it. I think she should have finished it several books earlier.

      Like

      1. Yes, I was upset too! And I was just so disappointed in how she ended it all. I didn’t like how Sookie ended. It was just ugh! I wanted her to rewrite the last couple of books. I think I didn’t even buy the last 2 books but checked them out of the library…

        Oh, I was so sad about that when I heard on Saturday!! I was shocked. He was a truly great actor and brought so much life to the show! He will be missed. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww…you’re a sweetie to think of that! I just checked and it’s at my library 🙂 I’m golden! I have 4 books out now, reading them and I also have a copy for review that I told the author I will be starting this week. So it might have to wait until August. I’ll let you know when I start it!

        Like

      2. Yeah!! I’m glad they had it! I’ve got so many books to read..review, library, new bought books, lol. I hope I get them all read soon!! Definitely let me know what you think!

        Liked by 2 people

      3. It was a shocker…I didn’t expect it at all! There were so many what ifs in that one situation and so many storylines led to that one defining moment. It was really well done.

        Another thing I liked about the story was how Moriarty would tell you the ‘and ifs’. ‘And if she had been waiting on the corner when her mother picked her up…’ and you see how her life could have been. Really drew you into the characters.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know!! It’s funny though because I think life is like that. A lot of little moments that led big moments. Moriarity is really good at developing her characters and drawing you into their lives. I’ve enjoyed all her books!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I watched it with my almost 19 yr old but really he watches Games of Thrones. There’s not a lot of nudity but some (and a quick penis scene) but lots of domestic violence scenes that had me in tears. I doubt I’d watch it with my 16 yr old not because it’s too risque just the violence even though he sees more violence playing video games….

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I love both Bronte sisters too! They are both such excellent writers of both plot and characters. And yes, their stories are so atmospheric. As much as I love Jane Austen’s writing, I feel there is more passion in the Bronte sisters works. Definitely unforgettable writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww thank you so much for the shoutout!! And I love the sound of One for the Money!! I still need to read Gone With the Wind- I absolutely loved the movie. Jane Eyre, Frankenstein and Middlemarch are all amazing! 😀 Loved your answers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’e welcome of course! I love your blog; it always makes me smile or laugh..it;s great!! If you loved GWTW movie, you should like the book. They stayed pretty true to it; they had to cut some things out since the book is so long, which is funny since the movie is still so long, hahaha. They are both wonderful in different ways. I’m glad you liked my answers! I love those books 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know right! I’d much rather read than write the reviews, lol. I’m just going to mini review some of them like I started doing I guess the end of May with books I was behind on and then with books that sucked, lol. I’m just too backlogged and now only posting 3 days a week because of my schedule that I just don’t have time to do a full review of every book I read. Though I’m not sure if I can get away with a mini review of an ARC book….ugh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I definitely does when you read a lot!! I was reading and posting a book review every day in May when I started my blog but wow, that got crazy and intense!!! Then I went on my 2 week hiatus from my blog after my surgery and things went crazy! But my idea of a mini review is still long, lol. Must be because I’m a teacher, lol. I write everything long, hahaha!!

        Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

