Throwback Thursday Pick! July 6, 2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

This week I’m sharing the book that has been on my TBR list the longest: since Jan 2012. My local library doesn’t carry it, none of the 22 locations in the county, which is one reason why I have yet to read it! I did request it once as an interlibrary loan and received it, but it was only a 1 week check out, and I never got to it…why, I can’t remember now!

Here is my choice for the week:

o'juliet

O’ Juliet by Robin Maxwell Published December 23, 2009

Goodreads Synopsis:

Before Juliet Capelletti lie two futures: a traditionally loveless marriage to her father’s business partner, or the fulfillment of her poetic dreams, inspired by the great Dante. Unlike her beloved friend Lucrezia, who looks forward to her arranged marriage into the Medici dynasty, Juliet has a wild, romantic imagination that takes flight in the privacy of her bedchamber and on her garden balcony.

Her life and destiny are forever changed when Juliet meets Romeo Monticecco, a soulful young man seeking peace between their warring families. A dreamer himself, Romeo is unstoppable, once he determines to capture the heart of the remarkable woman foretold in his stars.

My Thoughts:

Historical fiction is my 2nd favorite genre, and it honestly used to be my favorite until I really got into suspense and psychological thrillers. I love history of all kinds and when I majored in English Literature, I also minored for a degree in history. For me, O’Juliet is a great mix of historical fiction and literature since it tells of the great Medici dynasty in Florance, which I think is one of the most interesting and exciting periods in history since it was the beginning of the Italian Renaisannace and the story is the retelling of my beloved Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet! I’m trying to read as many books as I can off my TBR, so I think I need to get my hands on it somehow and make this one a priority! I did check Amazon, and they have it for less than $6, so I just might buy it since I love all of Robin Maxwell’s historical fiction, so I don’t doubt that I will love it! I just feel terrible that it’s been on my TBR for over 5 years! 😦

What book is the oldest one on your TBR list? It’s so hard to read them when you keep putting more books on there all the time!

19 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Pick! July 6, 2017

    1. Thanks!! I have loved all her books, which have mostly been about women of the Tudor court, but I’m sure this one will be good! I’m just going to buy it I think 😀

      Like

  1. I just went to check my Goodreads and the oldest book in my TBR is Assassin’s Study by Maria V. Snyder. The problem child is everytime I go to find a new book, I end up picking a recommended book instead of one off my TBR, haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The classics are always great reads!! My mom was very strict about what I could read when I was a teenager, so I mainly read the classics since that is pretty much all she reads unless it is a memoir or autobiography (unless I snuck another book by her), so I can’t think of many that I haven’t read since I have always been such a voracious reader. At the time, I used to get jealous of a lot of the books my friends were reading but in a way, I’m thankful now since I don’t think I would have majored in English Lit or wanted to teach English lit if I didn’t love the classics the way I do, and I have my mom to thank for that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well yes, the classics kind of prime you up for English Lit. Without them where would our reference points be? When I read modern writers now and see the references to the classics, it is good to nod knowingly and not feel at sea. It is an excellent thing that you imbibed the habit from your mother.

        One of my English Lit. professors was quite the influence during my graduation years. I was inspired by that passion he clearly had for the subject. Of course when he learnt that I was off to study journalism instead of pursuing a masters in English Lit., he was declared that it was all a waste.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They certainly do. Or you hate them, I guess if forced to read them and only them. Thankfully, I went the route where I loved them. Although I do think that know that I have read most of them and have taught them for 15 years and will keep teaching them until I retire that I rebel in a way by indulging my love of thrillers and suspense. That was cultivated when I read Poe and Hawthorne and sat down when I had mono in 6th grade and read all the Sherlock Holmes stories. I still could read Sherlock every day and be thrilled!

        I seriously considered journalism, but I get such writers block that I knew I would never meet a deadline! I don’t think it is a waste at all since you are still drawing from the background of great prose and excellent writing. It’s all creative thinking and only helps illuminate that process

        So many people say English lit degrees are impractical anyway. Tell that to the schools who need teachers! And I’m finishing my doctorate degree now, better late than never, but it is more for me than anything since it really won’t change mt job since I’m already a senior professor and tenured. I could apply at a different college/university once I complete my degree but it almost seems a hassle, lol. And honestly, I enjoy going back to school and taking all the classes that weren’t offered for the Master’s degree, which is something only a person who loves literature would appreciate!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh Stephanie, you said it. I know people who have studied English Lit. and consider it a waste. They opine that it armed them with nothing, making me roll my eyes and say bah (silently)! My life is rich with the love that these studies brought into my life, the sensitivity, the appreciation for things which others would not look twice at, …you know what I am talking about. We have been fortunate.

        My professor wanted me to follow in his footsteps and become a professor too in time. But the thing is I do not know if I would be good at teaching and I happened to have got into the best institute in Delhi – which seemed such a fluke and yet changed my life. Journalism also opened my eyes, you know. It took me places I never dreamt of going.

        I am a big fan of thrillers too. Nordic Noir gets me without fail. I acquired a beautiful bound edition of Sherlock Holmes a few years ago. I still re-read it from time to time and find myself hooked. Agatha Christie does it too for me without fail, always.

        You are a senior professor? That is impressive. Must be so fulfilling to teach students what you feel passionate about. Few people in this world find that one thing that gets them going when it comes to choosing a career. I say you have cracked it xx

        Like

      4. You are so wise and understanding as to what I meant! Those who think studying English Literature a waste have no great love of literature I believe. It’s truly enriching and eye opening to the world, in my humble opinion.

        It sounds as if you found your niche in the world. Teaching is not for everyone, and there are days I even wonder why I’m doing it!

        Thrillers are just so exciting! I would love your edition of Sherlock Holmes! Wonderful! Agatha Christie is a gem.

        Oh my professor status comes from longevity in my position as much as performance, etc. I’ve been teaching 15 years and after 12 years you are eligible for senior professor. I’ve been very lucky indeed!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That is a long stint as a professor. I would like to sit in a class and listen in on lectures now. It has been aeons.

        Some people are gifted at imparting their knowledge to the world. You clearly have it and it is a wonderful thing to think that you are tempering impressionable minds. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      6. It really is now that I think about it, lol! I started immediately after earning my MA degree at 24 and now I am 40. Sometimes it feel like forever and some days it feels like I just started 🙂 I think it all depends on the students and their drive to learn…whether they are taking the class just to get the credits to graduate or because the have a great love of literature! That makes such a difference in whether you enjoy teaching.

        Thank you so much for your kind words. It has been my greatest pleasure to teach others what I love and see the joy on the faces of those students who love to learn and connect with the material. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

