Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island

toptentuesday

Happy Fourth to all my American friends! I hope you have a wonderful day planned to celebrate!! To everyone else, Happy Tuesday, and I hope you also have a wonderful day!! 🙂

Well, the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish who host the weekly Top Ten Tuesday event are currently taking a little break from Top Ten Tuesday until mid-August, so there are no official Top Ten lists at the moment, but Top Ten Tuesday is still going on unofficially! Yay!

This week my theme is going to go along with the tag that I’m also going to post today (hopefully, shortly after this if WordPress’s scheduler doesn’t fail me!): The Top Ten Book Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island! Fun stuff, right!!

I had to really think about this one since I’m not an outdoorsy person at all and would definitely die if left all alone on a deserted island. I don’t even know how to start a fire, much less catch fish (which I really dislike eating anyway, so I hope there is something else to eat on this island), so already I’m without any way to cook or something to eat unless I can open a coconut. Basically, I’m already dead by myself! And as much as I’m an introvert, I would go batty with just my own company after awhile.

Here is my pick of characters who would not only keep me alive but would also be intelligent and interesting, and there is a bit of eye candy thrown in since I must have something fun to occupy me if I’m going to be cast away on a deserted island for a long time…

Number 1

deathlyhallows

Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: This was a no-brainer since she’s one of the smartest characters I can think of. She probably knows everything there is about almost anything, so she would easily be able to figure out what on the island was edible, would make a good shelter, and she is a wizard!! She could use all the spells she knows to do just about anything that needs to be done. Maybe, she can even get me off the island! Plus, she’s already survived a year in the woods, so she has already proven she has excellent survival instincts!

Number 2

deadtoworld

Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris: I need some serious, serious eye candy if I’m going to be on a deserted island, so Eric is my main man.Yes, I know he is a vampire and can’t be out in the sunlight, but I figure that a genius wizard like Hermione can either whip up a spell that protects the island from the infiltration of the sun’s rays so he is able to go out in the sun (like the sparkly vampires in Twilight) or Hermione can design him some extra special shelter for during the daytime that would protect him from the sun. After all, in the books, the vampires are just fine sleeping underground in graveyards and such, so I would think a nice hole in the ground on an island would suffice. Plus, Eric is an excellent killer, so he could hunt down animals, etc for meals and protect us from any lurking danger. He’s very intelligent too, so I would have someone to talk to about a wide variety of things. And he can fly, so he could always just fly me off the island to somewhere alone…I meant home 🙂

Number 3 and 4

voyager)

Jamie Fraser and Claire Fraser from the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon: This is a two for one since the couple is especially resourceful separately but more so when together. Jamie is a very resourceful Scottish Highlander (and yes, more eye candy…and yes, I’m entitled if I’m stuck on an island since I hate to eat fish and being outdoors). He can cook, sew, build a house, fight, and organize men, so he is a multitasker. I see Jamie as the leader of my merry band of survivalists. He’s not afraid of anything, so that is good since you never know what things could be creeping around on this island.  Claire is just as resourceful as her husband Jamie.She’s not only a 20th-century doctor but an 18th-century healer, so she would be very useful on a deserted island in case anyone got hurt since she would likely be able to use the island plants as medicine. She’s also proven that she is great at surviving anything that comes her way, so I would want her by my side. And both Jamie and Claire are highly intelligent, and I need intelligent people around me if I’m going to be stuck somewhere indefinitely. I really don’t want to talk to plants or trees.

Number 5

plum

Lulu from the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich: Lulu might seem like a very odd choice but if I’m going to be stuck somewhere for who knows how long, then I’m going to need someone to be the comedic relief, and I really can’t think of a book character who makes me laugh more than Lulu. She is like laugh so hard things shoot out your nose funny…yes, I’m not joking about that. I’m really hoping she would be able to find donuts on the island because I can’t survive long without donuts, or she can get Hermione to whip some up with magic and the two of us can eat them together since she is the ultimate donut eating partner. Lulu can defend herself although she might cause some damage too, so she”ll likely need supervising. But the laughs would be worth it.

Number 6

rhage

Rhage from the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R. Ward: What? Yes, I do believe I have brought another vampire to my island. Oh, and more eye candy at that. I figure the more eye candy the merrier. And if you haven’t realized it, I have a thing for vampires, especially the members of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. I would bring them all but that would make for one crowded island. And Rhage is my favorite Brother; plus, who knows when we might need him to unleash his inner beast to fight off any evil that could be lurking on the island. This could be some godawful island with mutant dinosaurs or overgrown apes. One never knows…. Plus, if all other attempts to get me off the island fail, he can just dematerialise me off!

Number 7

crusoe

Robinson Crusoe from the novel Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe: Crusoe is not a grand adventurer, but he is more than resourceful and has considerable survival instincts. After all, he survives on an island for 28 years!! I think he more than any of my choices can show us how to survive. He’ll be able to show us where to set up camp that will provide the best shelter and let us see the sea in case anyone is coming to save us, know where to find drinking water, and show us how to plant and harvest any crops from the island that we can eat in case Hermione’s attempts to magically whip up food fail somehow.

Number 8

GOT

Arya Stark from A Song of Fire and Ice series by George R. R. Martin: Arya is a badass, so she is someone who I would want with me in a survival situation. She has proven that she can survive in the worst situations possible.Plus, she is an outstanding fighter, which might be needed depending on what might happen. And she’s pretty funny at times too (not in a hysterical way) but more a sarcastic funny way that still makes you laugh, so that would liven things up too. And I’m sure she has some great stories to tell, gruesome or otherwise, that would liven up the long evenings by the campfires.

Number 9

TLOTR

Samwise Gamgee from the Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien: Sam is one of my favorite characters in the LOTR series. He is a sweet soul who certainly knows how to survive. Since he is a gardener, he would be perfect to have around to grow whatever can be grown on the island, and he is a very good cook, which is a good thing since I’m hoping he can do something to make the fish on the island taste a lot more palatable so that I will actually enjoy it. I know that I will probably have to eat it, but I would like to be able to stomach it too. Sam also developed a love of stories and poetries from Bilbo Baggins, so I hope that he will be able to entertain us all with the same stories of elves, travels, and adventure passed down to him as well as his own tales of adventures.

 

Number 10

bluedolphin

Karana from The Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell: Just like Robinson Crusoe, Karana is another who successfully survived on an island by herself for many years…18 to be exact! So she has a lot to teach if you happen to become cast away on an island! She can show how to make spears, use the sun and rocks to dry out fish and other meat to have dried meat, show where the best place on the island is to set up shelter (especially important with 10 people and 2 of them vampires!), and the best places to fish. She is as handy as having Crusoe, but I think she might just be a little more adventurous and fun to be around!

giphy1

So who would you want with you on a deserted island?? Tell me in the comments below 🙂

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island

  1. What a brilliant post!😂 I’d definitely have Lyra Belaqua from His Dark Materials series, I’d have Richard and Kahlan from the Sword of Truth Series, obviously Dumbledore, I laughed at your choice of Eric’s Northman- brilliant, I’m stealing that one, maybe Pi and Richard (even though he’s a tiger) from the Life of Pi, Skullduggery Pleasant from the series of the same name , and finally from the future best selling, semi autobiographical masterpiece that I’m sure to publish, my husband and my son! 😂
    Thanks for this, made me smile! 🌺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks!! I had such a blast doing It! 😀 Lyra would be a good choice! I can see her being excellent at surviving. I did think of Dumbledore but I was afraid he would be too serious and ruin the island fun. I also thought of Pi. He’s a really good choice. I’m so glad you like my Eric Northman choice!! I’d take him anywhere I was deserted ❤❤❤ That’s a fantastic idea to bring your family! Glad I could make you smile 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It doesn’t look like your island is going to be very deserted but I approve of your eye candy choices 😍 I would however switch someone out for Katniss from the Hunger Games. She seems to be good at finding food and water.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, lol. It’s going to be slightly populated. The eye candy is great, right?? ❤❤❤ I did think about Katniss but since I’m probably the only person left who hasn’t read the books or seen the movies, I figured I better stick with characters I know.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I seriously love your choices!! So much eye candy!! I would have Curran from the Kate Daniels series. He seems VERY resourceful and he’s hot. I’d also have Cookie from the Charley Davidson series cause she’s the ultimate best friend and we could laugh about our situation and maybe come up with clever ways of getting out of it. I think I would also have Sicarius from The Emperor’s Edge books cause he’s an assassin by trade and really good at navigating vast amounts of wild land. And he’s also hot hahaha. I love this so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eye candy is a must for any island cast away situation!! Yes, lol, you’ve got some good choices too for survival and for the hotness factor! Having a best friend is important to, which is why I picked Lulu. She’s hysterical and a good friend, but so is Hermione. I think you have a great group of island survivalist 🌴🏝😊 This was such a fun list to make; I was cracking up when I wrote it!! 😂❤

      Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

