Desert Island Discs Blog Tag

Desert island Discs Blog tag (2)

What a fun tag! Thank you so much to Nel@Reactionary Tales for the tag! Nel is just a super awesome person, and she has the best blog! She writes about a little bit of everything, but I really love how she cares so much for nature and endangered animals and spotlights them on her blog! Seriously, please check her site out and follow her!!

The Rules:

  • Link back to BookBum’s original post, so she can see all your answers! (Remember to do this via pingback, she won’t get a notification if not!)
  • Thank the person who tagged you… show some love!
  • Come up with your answers
  • Then tag others to keep the tag going!

The Premise:

You are cast away onto a remote desert island:

  • You can bring 5 albums- what are they?
  • You can bring one book- which is it? You are provided with a Bible/ other religious text if you want it, as well as the Complete Works of Shakespeare. No series!
  • You can have one luxury item (it had to be inanimate and can’t help you escape the island)- what is it?

My 5 Albums:

This was really hard because I like to listen to playlists or if I am listening to one artist throw all their stuff on my iPod and just shuffle it. I really had to think about this one…

Number 1 and 2: Okay, here is my guilty confession: I’ve been madly in love with Jon Bon Jovi since I first heard the Living on a Prayer tape in 1986. I was only 9, but I was 100% sure I had met my future husband. My love affair/crush has never ended. I even had a crazy incident shortly after turning 21 where I proclaimed over and over at the top of my lungs to a group of friends and strangers that JBJ was my husband and would father my unborn children until my actual husband made me leave where we were…it was awfully embarrassing in hindsight, I tell you.

Okay, moving along… since falling in love with my second husband, there has not been a Bon Jovi album/cd/download that I haven’t bought, and I have been to every single concert where they’ve come to either my town or a town nearby since the early 90’s, most often seated right in the pit to make sure we can gaze soulfully in each other’s eyes when he sings love ballads. There is no way that I could be on a deserted island without taking one or two of their albums since that would just be traumatic!

My two picks:

These Days (1995) since it is the most unique of all their albums. It doesn’t sound like anything they have done before or since, and it is considered their best album artistically. It probably has some of my favorite songs on it with “Hey God”, “My Guitar Lies Bleeding In My Arms”, and “Something for the Pain”, and I could listen to this album happily and nothing else for the rest of my life.

Then I must have a greatest hits album so I can listen to “This is My Life”, “Living on a Prayer”, the epic”Wanted Dead or Alive” and all the others since those songs will make me feel most connected to home. So, I would pick Bon Jovi Greatest Hits: The Ultimate Collection (2010) 2 CDs.

 

Number 3:   I couldn’t go on a deserted island without hearing Chris Cornell anymore but it was such a debate on which album. I finally settled on the album Temple of the Dog  (1991) since he wrote all of the lyrics on the album and composed most of the music, so this one is pretty special. Plus, what other album do you get to hear Cornell’s sweet lead vocals and have Eddie Vedder sing backing vocals on a few of the tracks? Pure magic! I could listen to “Say Hello 2 Heaven” on repeat if I had to for a long, long time.

dog

Number 4:  My next pick would be The Rolling Stones since I like to turn them up really loud and just drown out everything, especially if I am in a bad mood. My pick: Sticky Fingers (1971). I think its the best of the Stones and showcases everything about them that makes them one of the best rock bands in history. Listening to “Moonlight Mile”, “Brown Sugar”, and “Wild Horses” just makes my mood so much better.

stickyfingers

 

Number 5:  Since my first four picks are all rock, I need to bring something that I can dance and sing too whenever the mood strikes. I’m a huge fan of musicals, and my favorite musical score is Wicked. So I have to bring the soundtrack! Then I can be the Elphaba who I always believed I could be and sing as loudly as I want; maybe I can even use flowers or leaves to paint myself green to get into the spirit of my island singing debut when I sing “Defying Gravity” for the island wildlife.

wicked

My One Book:

This one made me sad, but I am glad that I have the Bible because I have a feeling that I will need it being on a deserted island after awhile. And The Complete Works of Shakespeare is always fun to read (don’t judge me, I’m a British Lit teacher). So after I thought about it more, I was inspired by Shakespeare and my reading/lit roots. There is no way that I could go without reading what I love so I would bring with me Norton’s Anthology of English Literature. It’s not a series, but it’s huge! So I would have so much to read since it covers literature from the time of Beowulf to twentieth-century English literature and Volume 1 is almost 4,000 pages!

norton

My One Luxury Item:

My hubby and my three kids are my whole world, so I have no idea what I would do without them when on a deserted island, so my luxury item would have to be a picture of the four of them to comfort me as I held the picture close at night. I’ve not been away from my husband in 20 years, so I have no idea how I would manage being away from him on an island, so I would have to be able to see his face somehow and my kid’s faces too. I wouldn’t need anything but their faces to to hold onto until I was hopefully rescued.

Tags:

Since I’m still sick and feel terrible, I’m being super lazy and not tagging anyone. Sorry guys! Anyone who wants to do the tag is tagged!!! I really hope that you want to participate because I would love to see your answers and this was so much fun 🙂 Just remember to pingback to me, so I can see your answers!!

 

Desert island sig (2)

 

 

24 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs Blog Tag

  1. Thanks for doing the tag! I love your rock choices, I’ve seen so many current chart music albums, its nice to see some different stuff – and The Rolling Stones are always a good choice!! Great choice on the book too, that would keep you going forever 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! It was fun!! Ha! I can only think of a couple since from the current charts since everyone in my house listens to classic rock, hard rock, alternative, grunge, or metal. I’ll occasionally listen to something new but not often. Oh, yeah that book would hopefully last until I was rescued!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad I could change things up, lol! My two oldest kids are teenagers and they can’t stand current music, which is funny. My 7 yr old likes anything but will ask her brother to play Metallica, lol. Not very girly which is so funny since she is such a girly girl! She refuses to wear pants, etc and has hair to her waist she won’t let me cut. She’s a princess headbanger. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. She actually is, lol! My son thinks she’ll grow up and be like Taylor Momsen, the lead singer of the rock band The Pretty Reckless. She’s all blonde and pretty but an awesome rocker…I’d be fine with that!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hooray! Thanks for taking time to do the tag. You have awesome choices even your book choice. 4000 pages?? Wow! Happy 4th of July. Hope you don’t have to stay in bed the entire day. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I worked on the tag a little each day last week until it was done, lol. The book is just an enormous anthology…so it’s broken into 3 books just for volume 1! I think volume 2 has a little over 3000 pages! Happy 4th of July to you too! 🎆🎇 No, I’m allowed to walk a bit, so I’m going to sit outside, maybe, it’s 103 today with the humidity, so I’ll probably only do that for a few minutes!! 🌡🌞

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I will!! I’m not even letting them let the dogs out except long enough to do what they need to do and run back in!! Ugh, too hit and dangerous! The kids don’t care but they are in the pool, lol!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I got your message late!! I’ve just not had my phone really since my sister in law came over today then apparently I napped from 7 to 10 and missed the fireworks 😕 I’m feeling better than I was but still nauseous and want to sleep all The time, but I think that’s exhaustion catching up with me on top of being sick and having The surgery too. My body is just glad I’m finally taking a break!! The nurse called me yesterday to follow-up and said that was normal and eat very bland for a few more days…ick. And my Dr called in some medicine for my stomach which has helped!

      Definitely Bon Jovi!! I have great concert pics 2 rows away and I know he is just smiling at me ❤❤❤😉 You should do the tag if you have time!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww…sorry you missed the fireworks, but I’m sure you needed the sleep more! Being nauseous isn’t good, but I’m glad the medicine is helping.

    The best thing for you right now is to sleep when your body tells you to. I’m so glad you are feeling better! Hugs!

    You lucky girl!..He’s singing I’ll be There for You and looking at you smiling 😉 Omg I’d love to see him in concert!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, it was ok. Our town did them the night before so I could see them from our backyard, but it was raining a bit so that spoiled it some. Last night’s were from the city beside us. They do a good show too, and the sky was clear, but I was happy to be asleep!

      No, I hate being nauseous. It’s a horrible feeling. But it’s not as bad today. I was able to eat a muffin and drink a cuppa tea.

      I’m definitely going to take advantage of the sleep! I feel like I haven’t slept in eons, and I haven’t!! Hugs back!! 😊

      I think he was singing Bed of Roses, lol. My husband was about to die because I was squealing like a school girl, lol. It’s a great pic…❤❤❤ He’s fantastic in concert!!

      Like

  4. Those answers are up my alley though I would measure short when it came to JBJ lovin’. But one of my best childhood friends could possibly give you stiff competition. We used to know the lyrics by heart and sing along. I think Eddie Vedder is unparalleled – that voice! The luxury item was the sweetest answer. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!! I’m glad you enjoyed them. I still walk around the house singing all the songs, lol. It’s funny how many friends I have who love JBJ. Funny, I like Eddie Vedder a lot but can only listen to him in bursts. I’m not sure why. I feel that way about Chris Cornell’s voice and surely lost it when he died. I was a wreck for days. Aww, thanks. My family gives me strength, so I would need to see them every day if left alone on an island!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not sure I have heard Chris Cornell. I shall give him a listen. I felt that way about Leonard Cohen. For the longest time, I planned to attend his concert – every time he came to London – but I kept pushing it into the unforeseen future and now he is just gone. Everything is transient including us.

        Before I carry on with such cheery talk on a lovely and bright weekend, I shall go and get cracking with sorting out my jumbled apartment. You have a lovely day xx

        Like

      2. Yes, Leonard Cohen was brilliant! He would have been a pleasure to see in concert. I’m sorry you missed the opportunity. Chris Cornell was the lead singer of Soundgarden and Audioslave if you’ve heard of either.

        Indeed, we are all transient.

        That sounds necessary!! Enjoy the rest of your day! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I hope you do! Soundgarden is very similar to Pearl Jam, Nirvana, etc and came out around that same time, but I do think they are better (and so do many of the critics). And thank you for the compliment!! xx

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

