Goodreads Monday: The Child by Fiona Barton

 

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page TurnersIf you want to participate, simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Make sure you check out Lauren’s Page Turners and link back to her blog and add your own links!

The book that I am showcasing this week is one that is fairly new to my TBR, but I’m very excited about it since I have seen such rave reviews for the past couple of months. I’m even more excited now that I broke down, and bought a copy!

thechild
The Child by Fiona Barton Published June 27, 2017

Goodreads Synopsis: 

As an old house is demolished in a gentrifying section of London, a workman discovers a tiny skeleton, buried for years. For journalist Kate Waters, it’s a story that deserves attention. She cobbles together a piece for her newspaper, but at a loss for answers, she can only pose a question: Who is the Building Site Baby?

As Kate investigates, she unearths connections to a crime that rocked the city decades earlier: A newborn baby was stolen from the maternity ward in a local hospital and was never found. Her heartbroken parents were left devastated by the loss.

But there is more to the story, and Kate is drawn—house by house—into the pasts of the people who once lived in this neighborhood that has given up its greatest mystery. And she soon finds herself the keeper of unexpected secrets that erupt in the lives of three women—and torn between what she can and cannot tell…

My Thoughts:

My intention this year was to try to read the books that had been on my TBR the longest first (or delete them), and I did a great job of that through March but not so great since then! Should I read this now, or wait a little longer? It can certainly wait with the other hundreds of books that I have waiting to be read…but…it sounds so tantalizingly good! Has anyone read The Child? If you have, is it worth reading now or is can it sit on my TBR shelf just a little while longer? It only makes it harder because when I open my Kindle it’s staring at me!!Happy Monday!!

Happy Monday!!

 

13 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: The Child by Fiona Barton

  1. I haven’t read this one yet but it’s on my list too. It sounds good! I really try to stick to my schedule of reads that I have planned. But now and then, I think it’s good just to read a book that you want to read when you want to read it. I did that last week and I’m happy I did. Tried not to think of reviewing it as I was reading it (which is hard) but it was nice. Not sure if all that made sense lol…

    Anyhow…Great choice! I hope you enjoy it!
    Happy Reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really does sound good!! I hope we both enjoy it 😊

      What you said does make sense! I think sometimes you just need to read a book for fun or on a whim. I already know I probably won’t review every book I read just because of time once I go back to teaching in August and taking classes. Those two things are exhausting enough!

      Happy Reading!! ❤

      Like

    1. Ah, I haven’t read that one yet, but I want to! They both sound good! I’ve decided to read whatever I want when I want to unless it’s ARCs that are scheduled reads, which I only pick ones I want to read on NetGalley anyway 🙂 ! I’m trying to live as stress-free and happy as possible from now on, per doctor’s orders, so I think that should apply to books too, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

