Let’s Chit-Chat… A Weekly Recap: June 19-25, 2017

Happy Sunday All!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend! Can I just tell all of you that even though I have had a mostly fantastic 2-week vacation, that I am more than just a little excited that I am headed home to North Carolina today! As you’re  reading this, I’m probably on my way home or (happy dance) even reached my home sweet home!! Relaxing at the beach when you end up with a houseful of guests, although thank you, Lord, that my dad and step-mom were there to help out, is not all that relaxing! Especially, when you get sick and are told by the Urgent Care doctor to rest until you are completely better.

***FYI, this is going to be a longer recap than usual so grab a snack, maybe a cold drink, and get ready.***

So, I was the lucky one to get pneumonia while on vacation! I know, right? Who gets pneumonia while sitting on the beach with their toes buried in the sand just trying to read and relax! Wait, let’s be honest…and running around like a wild person planning parties, and not sleeping more than 3 hours a night for well over 6 months, but that’s another story!

It all started because my poor daughter had a fever, bronchitis and an ear infection about a week and a half before we left for vacation and was finishing her antibiotics our first few days there, so I caught the lovely germs apparently before we even left North Carolina since I was taking care of her, holding her, cuddling her, and doing all the mommy things you do when your baby is sick. No bronchitis for me but lovely pneumonia and lots of lovely meds to take until I’m 100% better. Wow when I get sick, I get very sick!

Which means, sadly, that next week I’m taking a semi-hiatus from my blog so I can rest like I’m supposed to in my own comfy bed and recoup! I definitely don’t want this to worsen since pneumonia can have serious complications, especially since I’m scheduled for an inpatient surgery on the 30th that will be canceled if I’m not better by then because of the risk of anesthesia complications. I don’t want that since I like breathing and living!!

But, I have some posts already written and scheduled for Mon through Thurs so there will be blog activity! Yay!! And, I will be around to comment since I just discovered the WordPress app on my phone this week…why did no one tell me this existed?? And, I  have fallen in love with it! It will be by my side at all times unless I’m asleep, which I hope to be quite a bit! I love all of you lovelies, so I can’t go an entire week or so without talking to you, and I will be commenting on my blog and your blogs as much as I can without overdoing it!!

Unfortunately, though, I haven’t had a chance to write any book reviews for next week, so I will have more than a few reviews waiting for me when I feel better! On a positive note maybe I can catch up on my pile of reading that is a mile high for both pleasure and work (icky back to school syllabus planning)!

Okay, well enough of my moaning and groaning about having to take a hiatus, the length of it will also really depend on how I feel after my surgery on Friday, but I will make a full report in my Recap next Sunday, or you can feel free to ask me in the comments or DM me on Twitter if we are following each other! If not, please feel free to follow me, and I will follow you back 🙂 And I’m on Goodreads as well! Or feel free to use the Contact page to get in touch with me!

This Week Off The Blog:

Well, up until I got sick, it was more sitting on the beach with the really gorgeous weather! That really is heavenly after you’ve spent the past almost 34 weeks, not counting holiday breaks and a 5 day spring break of course, in college both teaching and as a student! I have to admit that my mind and body is just exhausted by burning the candle at both ends so just doing nothing and letting the wind blow over me, feeling the sun on my face and hearing the gentle lull of the waves reduced so much stress. Nature’s stress reducer is perfect! 🏖☀

It was also a joy to watch my daughter have so much fun in the ocean! She really had no fear this year, and we had to physically keep her from going out too far! That was a bit scary! And, just 2 years ago, she wouldn’t even put her toes in…I’m sharing a couple of pics of her playing in the waves because they make me happy 🙂 If you can’t tell, I adore this girl!

 

My Sweet Girl Playing in the Ocean and Getting Ready to Jump in the “Big” One

Last week I shared the picture of my lovely hammock, which is my favorite reading spot here at the beach house. Beside the hammock is a pond that has been there as long as I can remember, and there have always been alligator sightings in the area although I’ve never actually seen one but only lots of small turtles and small fish in the pond. However, this week we all got shocked, well I got shocked more than anyone when I was semi-reading and semi-dozing in the hammock, and my daughter runs up to me and calmly says “mom, there’s an alligator swimming in the pond.” I just made a sound like “uh-huh, sweetie” and went back to my semi-conscious state. She repeated this a couple more times, but I told her it was a mama turtle and maybe she should go get some veggies or fruit to toss in and feed it. It’s a good thing my kid is smarter than me and told her brother what she saw before trying to “feed the turtle” since yes, there was an alligator in the pond, and he or she was having a nice swim about 3 or 4 feet from my legs the whole time!!! No joke, I heard the Jaws theme music in my head for the rest of the day…yes, wrong animal, but I still saw myself being bitten in half or something while I was reading my Lizzie Borden book!! That’s it…I’ll blame my hysteria on her and her crazed and bloody axe!

Well, thank God the alligator was never interested enough in leaving the water, so we’re guessing it was happily eating whatever was in the pond! It’s only a small gator..about 4 or 5 feet, but wow, I got scared when I realized I had been out there for a couple of hours with it keeping me company!! Ha! And, you can bet I felt like the mother of the year too after I had tried to get my daughter to feed it (or maybe vice versa)! Ugh!! Needless to say, the hammock was off limits the rest of the week, and we just left it alone for the week, especially since it wasn’t bothering us and there is a law in SC not to “harass” alligators. Not sure what harassing an alligator entails, but I’m happy to never know! But, here is the alligator, taken by my phone as close as I dared to get, for your viewing pleasure:

 

 

The…My?…Gator!

Besides getting sick, that was my exciting week! I could have just have done with the meeting the gator and skipped the sick part!

This Week on the Blog:

Wow! Thank all of you so much! This has been an amazing, fantastic week on the blog! Since Monday, I have had over 60 new followers, so I want to thank every single one of you for following me this week! My heart is so thankful and overwhelmed with gratitude to all of you wonderful people! I know that I have said this before, but I absolutely love getting to know all of you in the blogging community and that just keeps inspiring to keep blogging!

Once again, I didn’t get to one full book review that I had planned to write this week or a mini review post of two books. The full review is for The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green, which I really enjoyed, so that was a little disappointing that I didn’t get to write it yet! But, I will get to it when I’m feeling better.  Thank all of you for understanding that right now my health has to be my priority! 😊

This week has still been busy though! I wrote two book reviews, was tagged in the really fun and popular “Soul Ripping Romance Tag”, and had three award nominations! Thank you again Norin@Diary of a Bookfiend for the Liebster Award nomination! And thank you both Nel @ Reactionary Tales and Jay@ThisisMyTruthNow for the Unique Blogger Award!! Lastly, I want to thank Jay@ThisisMyTruthNow and JoAnn@InspirationPie for the Sunshine Blogger Award!! All of you are so very kind and thoughtful for thinking of me when choosing your award nominees!!

And as usual for my weekly posts, I participated in the Goodreads Monday meme hosted by Laurens Page Turners, the Top Ten Tuesday event hosted by The Broke and Bookish, WWW Wednesday hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words, and the Throwback Thursday meme hosted by Renee @Its Book Talk!  And, I do have my posts for all of these memes scheduled for the upcoming week, so make sure to keep an eye out each day for my posts!

Here are the links to all my posts from this past week:

Goodreads Monday: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Book Review: One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Top Ten Tuesday: The Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

Soul Ripping Romance Tag

WWW Wednesday! June 21, 2017

Liebster Award Nomination!

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Throwback Thursday Book Pick!

Unique Blogger Award!

Sunshine Blogger Award #2

My Books Hauls for the Week: 

This week I went a little wild with my books. After doing my Top Ten Tuesday Post about The Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t, I broke down and bought a couple of series that I listed on the top 10 and some other books too! I was a bit bored the day I was diagnosed with pneumonia and basically was sent to my room to rest and not pass around my germs, so I requested 2 books from Edelweiss and 1 from NetGalley and was approved for them.

My Edelweiss Approvals for the Week:

hello

Hello Sunshine by Laura Dave Expected Publication July 11, 2017

finalgirls

Final Girls by Riley Sager Expected Publcation July 11, 2017

My NetGalley Approval for the Week:

marriage

The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain Expected Publication October 3, 2017

These are the Books That I Bought Myself this Week:

 

All three books in A Court of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas

 

The last 3 books in the Detective Erika Foster Series by Robert Bryndza since I already have book 1

magpie

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

midnight

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew J. Sullivan

Guess I have a lot to read, huh? 📚❤Thankfully, they are all ebooks, so no one knows that I have new books except me and now you!  😀

Thank you so much, everyone, for dropping by on this beautiful Sunday! I would love to chat with you in the comments below, so please leave me some messages! That’s it for my weekly recap! I hope all of you enjoy the rest of your weekend! I’ll be chatting with you soon! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Let’s Chit-Chat… A Weekly Recap: June 19-25, 2017

  1. Good luck with your surgery! Will be thinking of you. Your daughter is ridiculously adorable! The alligator not so much, lol. I cant wait to see your review on the ACOTAR series! I have my thoughts and I’ve seen a couple reviews floating around from other bloggers so will be excited to see yours as well! Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Luckily, it’s an in and out thing that shouldn’t take more than a few hours if all goes well 😊Awww, thanks!! She’s my sweetheart! ❤❤ I have to agree about the alligator!! Wow! I admit I didn’t want to move in case it suddenly decided to run after me..a bit of hysteria, lol!

      Yeah, I’m interested in what I think. I’ve read so many differing reviews that I just need to read them for myself and see what the hype is and what I think!

      Thanks, have a great week too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you feel better soon! I’ve had pneumonia once as an adult, and it was not fun. Now I get a pneumonia shot every few years. (Probably because I’m getting old! LOL).

    I am loving The Sunshine Sisters…almost finished. And I downloaded The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo…and I’m excited about it.

    Wanting to get a copy of the new Diane Chamberlain.

    Good luck with the surgery…and thanks for sharing your week. Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, it’s definitely not fun!! This is my 3rd time with it so, maybe I should look into pneumonia shots! I’ve got really bad allergies (just stopped allergy shots last year) and a history of asthma, so I get respiratory and sinus things super easy! I need to look into the pneumonia shot and see if there’s an age requirement for it.
      Isn’t The Sunshine Sisters wonderful?? The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo might be the best book I’ve read so far this year! I hope you enjoy it!
      Thank you for the good wishes! Trying to have positive thoughts!
      Thanks for sharing your Weekly Updates!! Have a great Sunday!

      Like

  3. Omg. I’m not coming to visit you anymore. Gators? I had a “pet one” as a kid in Florida. That’s enough for me. It chased German Shepard and me out of the canals I. Our backyard all the time. My dad just laughed about it. I guess it was small too. But I’m glad you are north ok. Good luck with surgery. Feel better. Sorry didn’t mention the WordPress app. And please come back when you feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! This is the 1st time during my yearly vacations my entire life that we’ve seen an alligator although my dad said they’d see an occasional one when he was a boy. I think you’re safe for a visit 😉 A pet one that chases you sounds fantastic!! I’d have never left the house. I swear this one just swam around and acted like it had been tamed. If someone…not me…had to go near the pond it didn’t really even come near the edge. Maybe it was confused on normal behavior or a juvenile. I’m no expert on reptiles! I’m glad everyone is fine too, and my dad called SC Dept of Natural Resources to have it moved even though they didn’t consider it a nuisance problem. We still want it removed with kids and pets being there!
      No worries about the WP app, I was joking!! It is so much easier though to have it since your phone is generally attached to you.

      Thanks so much! I’m glad that I’ll be home in about 45 min 😊 Then I’ll just rest until I go crazy. And thanks for the good wishes for my surgery! I’ll be around commenting this week, so I’ll chat with you this week, I’m sure! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At least it worked out. I’m glad you’re safe and on your way to being relaxed. You must be home by now. I hope to chat, but don’t push it if you need a few down days. We’re all entitled to it.

        Like

      2. Yes, I made it home safely and was immediately sent to bed 😊 I’ve not left it since I got home unless I had to…My stepmom was sweet enough to even do all the dreaded vacation laundry, so that was one less worry…and I would have worried about that! Hubby, my boys, and even nurse daughter seem determined not to let me do anything, so I’ll take the pampering while I can!! I need to learn what a down day is…that’s part of my problem. 😕

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t know that you’re suffering from pneumonia! Make sure you get all the rest you need and get well soon<3 I'll miss you 🙂 And… wow, an alligator?!? I can totally relate to you on having Jaws popping in your head! It must have scared you out of your wits!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Norin!! I only found out Thurs I think? I thought it was a cold to start out with and then hoped it was viral bronchitis. I have a terrible habit of waiting until too late to get myself checked out and then I’m always sicker than I should be! Guess I think I can handle anything…
      I’ll definitely get lots of rest!! Thanks a lot! I’ll still be around to chat! I would miss everyone otherwise!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for all your thoughts! I’m home now and cuddled in my bed, finally, with my dog curled against me and my cat at the foot of the bed! I’ve not been allowed to move since we got back 🙂 My stepmom washed all our clothes before we headed home, so I don’t even have dreaded vacation laundry!! I think hubby and the boys are going to do all they can to make sure that I’m well take care of 🙂 I definitely don’t want to have to change the surgery; I plan on calling them tomorrow so they know what’s going on and see what they want to do! I finish the antibiotic next Sunday, so they may say I’m all clear since I will have been on it long enough to (hopefully) clear the infection! I’ll let you know!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Linda!! I’m definitely going to do all that I can to rest as much as possible! And I think that my husband and 2 teenage sons and going to make me if I try to do too much!! But, I like your idea! Maybe in a couple of weeks when I’m all better, I could take a vacation in the mountains instead!

      Like

  5. I’m so glad you are back home and able to relax, Stephanie. You need a vacation from your vacation! I do hope you get tons of sleep and much needed rest.

    I didn’t know about the alligator, holy crap! Only 4 or 5 feet…imagine!

    I’ve been slow to get around to reading my favourite blogs! I’m following you on Twitter now. Take care! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! Me too!! I’ve been resting in bed since I got home, so I’m behaving! I slept much better last night; there’s nothing like your own bed!

      I know…I said when I’m better I’m taking a vacation to the mountains next month, hahaha! Just myself and little one 😀😉!

      The alligator was a trip! I’m glad it decided the pond was way more interesting than we were…or the dogs! Jeez!! I would have just died if it had come after Onyx. Branna’s never alone because of her hips, etc but he was romping around there all the time for almost 2 weeks!!

      I just saw the Twitter notification!! 😊😊 Yay! Hugs!

      Like

    1. Thanks a lot, Renee! I’m definitely on the mend, thanks! All my resting is doing what it is supposed to do! Pneumonia is no fun for sure! The last time spoke with the triage nurse yesterday they said the surgery would still be a go since I was fever free, my lungs were clear on xray, and I had clear airways to breathe. I’m to check in with them tomorrow, but there has been no change except I feel better, so I’m sure it will happen. Which is good since I’m ready to just get it over with! Thanks for the well wishes! It’s a quick in and out procedure, so I’m hoping for the best! Oh, I have a TBT post scheduled for tomorrow just so you know! I’ve scheduled it for around noon, so I’ll remember to link back to you since I’m “resting” but still have my daughter home on summer vacation to get breakfast, etc for in the mornings unless my older boys are home.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and following! I also enjoyed what I read of your blog earlier…I’m definitely going to stop back by and read more when I’m feeling better!! Thanks for reading through my posts!! All the best to you as well! Have a lovely day! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

