Throwback Thursday Book Pick!

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

This week my Throwback Thursday pick is a book that I read around Christmas time last year, and it just touched my heart so deeply. I think I probably cried throughout most of the book unless I was laughing.

lily

Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

Published June 7th 2016 by Simon & Schuster

5 Stars

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Ted—a gay, single, struggling writer is stuck: unable to open himself up to intimacy except through the steadfast companionship of Lily, his elderly dachshund. When Lily’s health is compromised, Ted vows to save her by any means necessary. By turns hilarious and poignant, an adventure with spins into magic realism and beautifully evoked truths of loss and longing, Lily and the Octopus reminds us how it feels to love fiercely, how difficult it can be to let go, and how the fight for those we love is the greatest fight of all.

My Thoughts:

This was just a wonderful but quirky and imaginative story about a man named Ted Flask who unconditionally loves his 12-year-old dachshund, Lily, and that love is returned by Lily just as unconditionally. In fact, Ted loves no one as much as he does Lily and that is at times very sad and poignant, especially when Ted discovers that Lily has what he calls an octopus on her head, which is, in fact, an inoperable tumor. Some readers might think it is a bit much how Ted talks out loud to both Lily and the octopus, and Lily “talks” to Ted but that didn’t bother me at all since I talk to both my dogs and my cat all the time and although I don’t imagine they are actually talking back to me (come on, I’m not crazy), I at least like to think I know what they are trying to tell me (maybe, not the cat since she is superior and a bit wild).

But I do know if I were Ted, I’d feel the same way towards the octopus, and I would want to talk and scream and get angry at it so nastily  growing on my either of my dog’s heads and tell it to get off, leave them alone, and at least to attack me because I’m bigger, younger, and can handle it.

And, that is exactly how Ted feels in the book! He’s had Lily since she was the tiny runt of her litter, so he wants to fight the tumor, wrestle the octopus, and take away all of Lily’s pain because his love for her is simply beautiful. Ted has devoted his life to Lily, and she, like all dogs, has returned it a million times over without ever asking anything in return. At its heart, this is a story of a wonderful relationship, a friendship built out of pure, honest love. For anyone who loves or has loved a dog, this is a beautiful heart-wrenching story that will surely make you cry. You will laugh too because it is very often silly and ridiculous, but you will be thankful for the love you’ve shared with a beloved animal. I highly recommend this to anyone who can surrender their imagination to the fantasy in the book, enjoy the quirks, and let their heart open to the love and friendship between two best friends. But, bring lots of tissues because you’ll need them.

 

16 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Book Pick!

  1. What a great pick Stephanie, I absolutely loved this book…it made my top 10 reads list last year! To me, Ted was completely normal, I talk to my dog and cat everyday as well and my cat also feels he’s superior although he very much thinks he’s a dog so he’ll listen to my talk if it involves the word treat😂 I loved Lily because not only did it leave me a sobbing mess but I laughed at so many parts…Ted and his scenes with Jenny were so witty. I could go on but this book will be a re-read for me for sure!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Renee ! I had this book for about 6 months before I read it because I knew how it would end, and I didn’t want to cry. But it was so worth reading!! I too was a sobbing mess but laughed at so many crazy parts. I did love Ted and his sister!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who talks to their pets! I’m not sure what my cat thinks she is, but she loves to be sassy and talk back! This is definitely on of my favorite books!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dee!! It’s a favorite! If you can deal with the quirky for awhile it’s a wonderful story about unconditional love. I do hope you read it and enjoy it 😀

      Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

