WWW Wednesday! June 21, 2017

WWW

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. Here’s how it works; all you need to do is answer the following three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently, I’m reading: 

Still finishing up these two since I got distracted by starting The Marsh King’s Daughter last week instead of this week as planned, and I really didn’t read that much last week!

swimming

Swimming Lessons by Claire  Fuller

see

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

katherine

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir

Last week I finished up the following:

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid 5/5 Stars

The Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne 3/5 Stars

The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green 4/5 Stars

Next week I plan to read the following:

I might still be reading Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen since it is over 600 pages, but I’m going to try to read these as well.

nightlights

The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White

lost

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan

stranger

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena

 

I will finally be back to reality on Monday, so maybe I can get back to my normal reading schedule (and blogging 🙂 )! I thought I would read more while on vacation, but that didn’t happen since a lot has happened while I was away.

Are you reading any good books this week or have you recently finished any? What books do you plan on reading next? Please, share so I can have more ideas for my ever growing TBR pile 🙂 Enjoy your Wednesday!

 

27 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday! June 21, 2017

  1. I just finished reading The Keeper of Lost Things last Sunday and I liked it a lot! I hope you’ll enjoyed it as much as I did 🙂
    I am curious to know your thoughts on Swimming Lessons. I’ll keep my eyes peeled! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, I love Swimming Lessons. It’s delightful. I just need to sit down one day, focus on it, and finish it 😊

      I’m so glad to hear Keeper of Lost Things was good! It really looks good. I’ll have to come read your review!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying to read them in order, but I guess only because I had bought Katherine before Anne Boleyn was released, lol. It is a time investment, but I did find that I read over 100 pages yesterday, so it might take less time than I think 🙂 And Anne B is around 545 pages so not that much difference really I guess. That is the one I am really looking forward too since she is my favorite of the 6 queens 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh me too! I’ve skimmed through it just to look it over, but that’s about all. I enjoyed her first book, so I’m hoping this is better! Thanks for sharing your WWW! I’ll take a look 😊

      Like

    1. No, she was horribly treated after being Henry’s wife for over 20 years. It was emotional and psychological abuse, really and at the end physical to have her live in such poor and wretched conditions. I respect her so much. I do think if she’d quietly and easily agreed to an annulment to their marriage then he would have treated her with respect due her and let her live out her days in a nunnery; the option was presented to her many times. They were both stubborn, and he was insanely cruel. The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory is one of my favorite novels about Katherine. It’s more about her as a younger princess and queen, but it is told in 1st person POV and shifts from her youth to older years as she is going through the horrors with Henry. It really gives insight into why she refused not to step away as England’s queen even though that brought her the suffering it did.

      Like

  2. I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo when it comes in from the library. I’m taking a slight break from the mystery/thriller genre as the last 3 I’ve read I either DNF or didn’t like. I started Trophy Son last night and I’m really liking the writing and story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was anazing!! But I adore Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books, so I could be biased lol. She could write the alphabet and I would read it. This was much more sophisticated and multilayered than her typical fare. It should some maturity that I loved, and she really handles a sensitive topic very gracefully and with finesse. It went on my Top reads of the year list! I really hope you enjoy it! Yeah, after the Marsh King, I’m reading historical fiction and women’s fiction although I do need to finish the See What I Have Done. It’s so far pretty good! I’ve not heard of The Trophy Son; I may have to look that one up!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope A Stranger in the House is good. Her last book was enjoyable, so I’m hoping she’s improved. Karen White is fantastic; I’ve kinda been holding on to this one! I think you will enjoy Swimming Lessons!! Thanks for sharing your WWW!

      Like

    1. I love Karen White’s books! They’re all good. Lol, no it doesn’t! Her books usually take place in Charleston or that area, so it’s nice to see her write about the Atlanta area. I grew up in TN, live in NC, so I love all kinds of books based in the South 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I have probably only gotten about 35 pgs into it. Probably because I was so caught up reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and now am really into my 600 pg Katherine of Aragon book. I’m going to try to either finish it tonight since I’m just going do nothing but rest or Sunday on the drive home. I’m hoping it’s really suspenseful, and I’ve heard mixed things, but I’m hoping for very creepy!! Then again, I just finished The Marsh King’s Daughter and might be one of the few people who didn’t love it, lol!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Was it Renee? If so, then she and I had much of the same issues with the very vivid animal hunting scenes/slaughter. It was very horrific and unexpected. Being an animal lover and animal volunteer, it just made me weep. And there was a particularly godawful scene with a dog were I just sobbed and had to put the book down. I did enjoy the book more than she did but still the animal violence greatly detracted from the atmospheric suspense and overall excellent plot to where I was not into the story as I had hoped. Plus the child abuse scenes really shook me too. I’m not even writing a full review because I can’t do it justice. I’ll do a mini review maybe tomorrow if I feel up to it and call it a day. And I bought it the book too, lol. At least I bought it as an audiobook from Audible and have already gotten a refund….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I understood the hunting since they were living in a marsh off the grid so to speak since it was the only way they could survive, but there is a point when it’s too graphic or just not needed. And I don’t mind very graphic things, but the child abuse was too much and in particular one scene with a pet killed me. I had to take a break. I’m hoping to have a review sometime today or in the morning. Glad I’m not the only one who has issues with these things!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m being very slow…sorry! But, I promise to get it done! I ended up in urgent care yesterday with that cough I told you about, the one I thought was bronchitis, but it turned out to be pneumonia! So, I’ve been resting as much as possible like the Dr said but it’s hard still being here at the beach and not at home. And, it’s hard with this cough! They’ve put me on antibiotics of course but also massive steroids that are making me feel jittery. Ugh. I’ve got to get 100% better because I’m having an inpatient surgery next Friday (simple in and out) but they will cancel if I’m still sick and my lungs aren’t clear because of possible complications with the anesthesia. 😔 But I’ll definitely get my thoughts down. It may just be a small review though. I told Renee I was having a hard time with this one. I didn’t hate it but didn’t love it either. I think since I’m so sick that next week I might take a break from the blog. I have posts already scheduled next week for Mon to Thur, so that’s covered. Unfortunately just no book reviews. But, pneumonia isn’t a joke either. Of course, as I feel up to it,I can write 😊 I just need to start taking better care of myself. It’s much easier to make comments to everyone than post right now, lol!! No thinking required 🤣😊

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Don’t push yourself with the blog while you should be recovering! I am glad you have some antibiotics and steroids. They are usually the key to a bad case, but understand the jitters. I experience the same. I was on predinsone for a while. It was a complete nightmare. I can hardly use my inhaler without shaking. So I am keeping you close in my thoughts and will be waiting to hear from. Keep my posted on surgery please ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I won’t! I hate steroids! They are just awful, but I know they are heavy duty and get the job done! Oh, I stopped the inhaler because it was making my pulse race too much, and I was hating it too much! Thank you for the good thoughts!! I will keep you updated! I plan on being around next week on the comments and everything! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

