Soul Ripping Romance Tag

Thank you, Jo-Ann@Inspiration Pie for tagging me in this new tag, the Soul Ripping Romance Tag! Jo-Ann is a wonderful person, and she and I chat pretty much every day back and forth on the blogs! She truly has a fantastic blog, so please go take a look!

romance

The Guide:

  • Thank the person who tagged you and create a pingback to the original author (Nel @ ReactionaryTales).
  • Share at least 5 (but more are welcome) romances that tugged your heart strings. They can be from books, movies, TV shows, manga; anything you can think of! They can be examples of sad tears, angry tears, happy tears or a combination of all three.
  • Nominate 5 (or more) people to share their emotional traumas
  • (Note: Try not to spoil the story for your readers in case they would like to check out these romances on their own)

 

Derek Shepherd and Meredith Grey (Grey’s Anatomy)

MerDer

Since Grey’s 1st aired in 2005, I always rooted for Meredith and Derek’s relationship even though it went through more than its fair share of problems. For me, Meredith and Derek were relationships goals for those who believe in soulmates and finding The One. Their relationship made me cry angry tears, sad tears, and everything in between. I truly believed everything for them was just perfect until….it just wasn’t. This is my defining soul ripping relationship since I don’t believe I’ve ever cried so hard over a relationship, and my crying lasted for several days.Honestly, I would burst into tears; I was a mess. Yes, I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m crying right now just thinking about them….

Jamie Fraser and Claire Beauchamp RandallFraser (Outlander series)

still-jamie-claire

I spent 12 weeks in 1998 on pre-term labor bedrest discovering the 1st four books in Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.  I immediately fell in love with Jamie and Claire and their relationship in book 1, Outlander and my love for the couple only grew stronger the more I read of the series. I’ve said it many times that destiny or fate brought them together, as is undeniable if you’ ve read all of the books in the series. Their relationship has gone through so much hell in the 8 books that I have sobbed and bawled more than a few times! Even though I have been married for 20 years, they the couple that I aspire to be for my own relationship! Even my husband thinks they are pretty perfect! I will always cry when I reread the special and unique love story the couple shares in every single book. And yes, I adore the TV series and haven’t missed a single episode…it has made me cry too!

Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler (Gone With the Wind)

scarlettandrhett

Next to Claire and Jamie, they are my favorite literary couple of all time. Rhett and Scarlett are so obviously meant for each other from the very moment they meet that it seems only they, well only Scarlett, is unaware of how they are absolutely meant for each other. Scarlett may spend years mooning after Ashley Wilkes, but she and Rhett are exactly alike and perfect for each other. They are both fiery and passionate, which just fuels their relationship into dangerous territory. Rhett hides his love for Scarlett throughout their tumultuous relationship since he wants to be viewed as a devil-may-care ladies man while it takes a tragedy for Scarlett to realize she’s loved Rhett all along. My heart shattered into millions of pieces when Rhett walked out the door while Scarlett was sobbing for him to stay….and of course, I sobbed along with her.

Holly Kennedy and Gerry Clark (PS I Love You)

psiloveyoupic

Both the movie and book made me bawl like a baby until I could barely breathe., It is undeniable Holly and Gerry’s love was just perfection, which made the entire story just so heart-wrenching and bittersweet at the same time. At first, I cried fat, ugly tears with Holly then I cried tears of joy as she discovers laughter and a new world awaiting her. Gerry’s letters to Holly were amazingly romantic and just left me in even more tears. Not that I’m a crier or anything. Not at all.

Louisa Clark and Will Traynor (Me Before You)

meb4

 

Oh, Louisa and Will. The book gutted me. I read it twice since crying is a hobby of mine in case you haven’t realized that. Then the movie had to repeat all that sobbing in front of people in the theater. At least I wasn’t the only one crying although I probably was the loudest. I loved how these two different people utterly and completely changed each other’s lives, and I saw them as soulmates. This book made me giggle, cry, and feel all kinds of feels. Utterly beautiful.

I tag…

If you have already been tagged, I’m sorry! If not, I hope you share with us your soul ripping romances, so we can all share your favorite heartaches! We can all make room in our lives for a little more romance and sobbing into boxes of kleenex over a good love story!!

 

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Soul Ripping Romance Tag

  1. Much ashamed to admit, I haven’t read either Me Before You or Gone With the Wind (the latter seems a bit tough for me, obviously…) but if Me Before You made you cry, it’ll definitely be right up my alley! I love books that makes me cry or breaks my heart (it sounds weird, doesn’t it..). I have the book on my bookshelf, I think I’ll need to read during this summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have to read Me Before You!! But, I cry reading greeting cards in the card store or watching commercials, so maybe you shouldn’t use me as a guide on what would make you cry, hahaha! No, it is sad, but it is also ridiculously funny at times too! If you have it, you should read it and then watch the film!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, when it comes to crying competition, I think I can beat you! (probably) because I do have quite active tear glands!! Going to wedding ceremonies never fails to make me cry; I even start crying when the bride and the groom are walking down the aisle! lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I love Grey’s!! It’s one of the very few shows I don’t dvr and have to watch!! Lexi and Mark 💔💔 Those two made me cry too! There are so many couples who’ve made me cry over the years! Thanks for creating the tag! It was a lot of fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too!! Die-hard fan! They can run it till the kids are doctors or whatever and I’ll be happy! Definitely obsessed too! I definitely had fun! Some tags drive me nuts, but this one was great 😊👍

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I did!! I so love Jamie and Claire! They are so fantastic even in their late 50s…sigh. I hope to be like them in 15 plus years. You should get caught up! Season 2 was perfect and amazing and heartbreaking. I cried so hard watching several episodes. Go on,go watch them, lol 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s an evil idea 😈 Probably why I thought of it first….The best idea would be to pretend you were contagious with something and hide out in a bedroom with yummy snacks and wine until you are done binge watching. Then you don’t feel bad for making them have to stay outside. Burger can watch with you of course!

        Like

  2. Oooooh, I love this! Thanks so much for tagging me for it. Oh Derek and Meredith had me feeling the feels in like every episode. THEY WERE JUST SO CUTE. And Will and Louisa were too much. The movie especially got me. Wonderful answers, and I can’t wait to do the tag. Thanks so much again and great post! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oooooh, I love this! Thanks so much for tagging me for it. Oh Derek and Meredith had me feeling the feels in like every episode. THEY WERE JUST SO CUTE. And Will and Louisa were too much. The movie especially got me. Wonderful answers, and I can’t wait to do the tag. Thanks so much again and great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I’m glad you’re excited!
      Derek and Meredith broke my heart. I walked around the week of that episode and would just randomly burst into tears and say his name, lol. I might have been suffering from shock! Will and Louisa were heartbreaking. But I got him, so I was crying for both of them and so many reasons.

      Thank you! I had fun doing it, and I hope you do too! I can’t wait to see your answers! 😊

      Like

      1. I love Amazon Prime. They have some great shows on there. LOL, it’s Spectrum…was Charter before TWC. Even I’m confused and my husband is Spectrum’s regional mgr for Raleigh, Charlotte, and Wilmington. I still call it Time Warner. Whatever it is, it’s annoying. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well thankfully I don’t pay that much…perk of the job, but when it was owned by TWC it was free for employees , so there is that..😒 Spectrum doesn’t know what they are doing…urgh!

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

