The Liebster Award #2

liebsteraward

This is my second Liebster Award nomination since I started my blog a little over a month ago, and I feel so blessed and thankful to  Norin@Diary of a Bookfiend for nominating me for such an amazing award! Thank you, Norin, so much for thinking of me 🙂 If you haven’t checked out Norin’s blog, then, please do! She has a wonderful blog and fantastic book reviews! And, she is truly a sweetheart and wonderful person! 🙂

In case you aren’t familiar with the Liebster Award here is some information about it taken from Norin’s own Liebster’s Award Post, which she, in turn, excerpted from Mischenko@ReadRantRock&Roll post, who originally nominated Norin for the Liebster!

“Liebster” is a German word meaning beloved, dearest, sweetheart, or darling.

For bloggers, the Liebster Award is an online recognition given by other bloggers to new bloggers for enjoying or appreciating their work. It highlights up and coming blogs.

Here are the Rules: 

  1. Acknowledge the blog who nominated you and display the award.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you.
  3. Nominate 11 blogs.
  4. Notify those blogs of the nomination.
  5. Give them 11 questions to answer.

Here are the 11 Questions:

  1. What inspired you to start blogging? I was inspired to start blogging because I love to read more than pretty much anything so that made me want to start my own blog because I wanted to have a special place of my very own where all my reviews would be in one place, a place that I could personalize and be creative with unlike Goodreads….like, well, my own blog :)! Another reason I started my blog was that I love to write, but I don’t get a chance to do that very often for fun just for work and classes, which is often pretty boring, so blogging lets me do explore the fun side of writing unless I have to write a not so fun review!  Last, I started my blog because I really wanted to meet other people like me who love to read and understand why books are my passion since my husband and closest friends aren’t readers, yikes!
  2. Other than blogging, what are your passions in life? (name the top 1). That would have to be my family…my husband, our three kids (my two sons and daughter), my parents, and my 2 doggies, Branna and Onyx, and kitty Chloe! When I’m not reading, blogging, teaching, or attending school, I spend every moment that I can with them.
  3. Suppose you won a huge windfall that would surely last the rest of your life, what would you do with the money? Buy millions of books!? No, I wouldn’t spend it all on books! I would take a hiatus from teaching while I finish my Ph.D., so I would be able to spend more time with my family while finishing my degree. It has been a very real challenge attending school, teaching, and balancing family life, so I would try to make that easier on all of us. I would probably pay off both my car payment and the rest of our mortgage, so I wouldn’t have any big ticket monthly bills anymore. I would definitely donate a large amount of that money to animal no-kill shelters because I am a huge animal lover and also donate some for Alzheimer’s, cancer, Fibromyalgia, and heart disease research since all of those diseases impact myself or other family members. Then,  I would make sure to have larger college funds for all three of my kids, so they would definitely be able to go to any school they wanted to attend and then I would put the rest of the money aside for anything I might need or just want. After that, I would just do what I do now and not change the way I live! I’m very happy with my life and lifestyle 🙂
  4. What is your favorite place to read? Either curled up on my sofa with my favorite cashmere afghan covering me or all cozy in my bed with the blankets piled high! Unless I’m here at the beach and then my favorite place to read is on the beach under an umbrella or in my hammock!
  5. Give me your tips to stay awake and keep reading at night when you’re awfully sleepy. Lol, well I have insomnia, so I’m probably not the right person to ask….but based on watching my teenagers trying to stay up all hours of the night, you drink lots of coffee or chug Mountain Dew!
  6. Which of the following do you see yourself fit as a reader – having multiple books going at the same time or single-mindedly focusing on one book? Oh, I have to have multiple books going at a time!! I will focus on one book even if I am reading several books at a time, but I want options, lol!
  7. How would you describe yourself in a few words? Yikes..okay! Introverted, Loyal, Sensitive, Creative, Compassionate, Overly-Stressed, Perfectionist, Hot-Tempered at times
  8. Are you athletic or good at sports? (because I’m NOT; I’m curious!) Definitely not athletic but not terrible at tennis although I hate playing sports but will watch them on TV if they are on.
  9. What is your go-to method to vent your stress? Meditation and deep breathing! And a nice hot cup of tea with milk and sugar if one is available! Yoga if I’m in a situation where I can do some yoga exercises. Screaming really loudly works well too! Or throwing things, but I don’t recommend that unless it is pillows. I went through an entire set of dishes in my 20’s before I learned to control my temper and stress throwing dishes….not a good method!
  10. Tell us the name of the city (or place) you have never visited but desperately want to. I have always really wanted to visit Iceland and see the black beaches. They are supposed to be stunning!
  11. Give me one thing that is on your bucket list (or thing you really want to do in your lifetime). I would really like to travel to Australia one day. Oh, and I would really like to read every single book on my TBR list before I die!

 

My Nominees:

I hope that I don’t nominate anyone who has already received a Liebster Award but if I do, please forgive me! You can certainly participate again if you would like or please don’t feel obligated to do it if you don’t want to 🙂 I just want you to know that I really enjoy all of your blogs so much and wish you continued growth as you continue your blogging journey!

 

My 11 Questions to the Nominees:

  1. If you could be any book character, what character would you be? Tell us what book the character is from and why you chose that character.
  2. What do you think is the worst book to movie adaption, in your opinion?
  3. Do you have a favorite classic literature author? If so, who is the author and what is your favorite book by that author?
  4. On average, how many books do you read in a month?
  5. Do you only read books because the synopsis sounds appealing or based on good reviews, or are there books you will read no matter what because the author is your favorites?
  6. Do you loan your books to friends and family? Or are they too sacred, and you are afraid you will never get them back or they will get ruined?
  7. Do you have a favorite reading memory to share with us?
  8. What five of your favorite books could you not live without if you were told you could only have just five books on your bookshelf or e-reader for the rest of your life?
  9. Would you rather watch a book to TV adaption or book to movie adaption?
  10. Do you prefer a vacation in the mountains or at the beach?
  11. Physical books or ebooks?

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “The Liebster Award #2

  1. My, Stephanie, what great answers!! I could tell your personality from your answers so much!
    Well, thank you for such sweet words about me, I really appreciate it, but you ARE the wonderful, sweet one 🙂
    I feel you; none of my offline friends nor family members read that much, hardly ever, so i don’t really get to share my thoughts and love for books which is kind of frustrating at times… whenever I gush about books with my hands moving all over the place, my friends are like, “Uh… okay.”
    I’m really glad that I have met you, Stephanie. I enjoyed this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, thank you Norin 🙂 I’m so glad to have met you too!! Which is why I’m so glad to have started my blog or I never would have!!

      Oh, I know! Thankfully my boys read, but we have mostly dissimilar tastes. At least I love the books that my 7 yr old daughter is reading right now, lol! But wow, I can’t think of the last time I saw my husband read, lol. I know he has read The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit, and they are his favorite books! Maybe they were so big that they were all he could manage to read in his lifetime hahaha! I have a few friends who read but not like me! It takes them a year to read one book, and I am like what in the world???
      It’s funny how people like different things, but that is what makes us all unique 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so honoured that you would think of me for this award Stephanie!

    We started blogging for similar reasons! I have very few readers in my life, and no one quite as passionate about it as I am. It makes me so happy to find people like you who share my love of reading!

    These are great questions. I’m excited to answer them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I told you to expect an Award nomination 😉 I love your blog and your reviews! You definitely deserve this award!!

      I think a lot of people started blogging for some of the same reasons! I don’t know anyone who reads as much as I do, well, except my mom, but her tastes and mine are way different!! She is classic literature only, but she is the one who inspired me to read and to become an English Lit major 🙂 So, I owe her a lot!

      I’m very happy to have met you too and other people in the book blogging community that share my passion! It makes blogging fun 🙂

      Oh, good! I never know what questions to ask, lol! Have fun!

      Like

  3. Ahhh…thank you for the nomination Stephanie! I’m so glad we became blogging friends. We have similar taste in books, which is blessing and a curse because that means that my TBR will be getting longer! 🙂
    I couldn’t agree more, no one understands the book passion better than other die hard readers.
    I hope you find your way to Australia someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! You deserve it!
      Oh so am I! It’s been such a joy meeting friends on the blog with similar tastes! And who understand why reading is a passion! Oh, Tina, I think as long as there are plenty of authors writing good books that we’ll never read everything on our TBR! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’ve always tried to read at least 2 at a time. I’m not sure why really. I’ve just been that way since I was younger. I think I do just want options,lol. When fall is here and I start teaching and taking my own classes, I will be reading 1 at a time! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

