Goodreads Monday: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page TurnersIf you want to participate, simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Make sure you check out Lauren’s Page Turners and link back to her blog and add your own links!

My pick for this week is a book that has been on my TBR list since I bought it in 2015 for my oldest son when he asked for it for his birthday. The plan was that I read it when he finished it, which he did, and he loved it, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. So, my pick is Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine…

inkandbone

Goodreads Synopsis: 

In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.…

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

My Thoughts:

The book sounds like something that I would really enjoy although psychological thrillers and suspense are my favorite genre, but I will get carried away in an excellent paranormal/fantasy if I can find one. The reviews are mostly excellent, so that is an incentive to read it. My son has read #2 in the series and has already preordered book #3, so he’s a fan! I guess I can weigh his opinion in too  about reading it 🙂

So, has anyone read Ink and Bone? If so, what did you think? Should I keep it on my TBR and read the rest of the series? Or take it off and make room for 3 more books (and 2 more when they are released). Any opinions appreciated! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

