The Entertainer Blogger Award

award

I was awarded The Entertainer Blogger Award by both Kate @ MeltingPotsandOtherCalamities and Jay@ThisIsMyTruthNow…thank you both so much for thinking of me 🙂 Both have highly entertaining blogs, so please go take a look!!

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Add these rules to your post.
  • Answer all the questions below.
  • Display the award picture in your post.
  • Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring and most important of all ENTERTAINING!

WHY DID YOU START A BLOG IN THE FIRST PLACE?

I started blogging for a couple of different reasons. I love to read more than almost anything so that really inspired me to start my blog. I’ve been on Goodreads since 201 rating all my books, but I only just started reviewing them and I really wanted my reviews in one place that I could personalize and make my own, like my own blog! Another reason I started my blog was that I love to write, so blogging lets me write for fun unlike teaching, which is all work and no play 🙂 Last, I started my blog hoping to meet people like me who love to read and understand why books are my passion!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BOOK?

Wow! That question is hard to answer when you’ve read a couple of thousand books! Right now, I would have to say that my favorite book of 2017 is He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly…it’s just phenomenal! I encourage everyone who loves a good psychological thriller to read it!  I guess my all time favorite book though is Margaret Mitchell’s

I guess my all time favorite book though is Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind. Its such a dramatic, complicated book, but the reason I love it is because of Scarlett. I guess she has been my girl crush for 28 years….my husband is terribly jealous of how much I adore her, and that is no joke, lol. I’ve tried to name every child and our animal after her, lol! She’s a woman who breaks every norm of Southern tradition at the time and doesn’t give a damn because well, she’s selfish, and I can appreciate that because I’ve been known to be too, and she cares about her own survival and the survival of her loved ones. She was not going to let the past define her or ruin her and when I 1st read

Scarlett’s a woman who breaks every norm of Southern tradition at the time and to steal Rhett’s words, she frankly doesn’t give a damn because well, she’s selfish, and I can appreciate that because I’ve been known to be too or so I am told! She cares about her own survival and the survival of her loved ones and she was not going to let the past define her or ruin her, which I think shows a remarkable strength of character. When I 1st read Gone With the Wind when I was 12, I thought, wow, she is an amazing woman, and I didn’t quite understand the awful history behind the book. Of course, I later saw the flaws in her character  and came to understand the deep injustices being written about and portrayed in the book as I reread it every single year until I hit my 30’s and then every couple of years since (yes, I’ve read the book close around 25 times now), but Scarlett is still my favorite book heroine as well as GWTW being my favorite book because it does define an era, and I think portrays the full magnitude of the Civil War and the loss that envelpoed the nation.

WHAT DO YOU DISLIKE THE MOST?

That is a loaded question, hahaha! I could write an essay here. Okay, let’s just list them: liars, cheats, fake friends, fake people, having yearly biopsies on my stomach to make sure I don’t have stomach cancer since I have precancerous cells-I’ve been doing this since 2008 and my next one is on June 30th (fingers crossed), college students who want to be babied, students who plagiarize when I clearly have a no plagiarizing rule or I will fail you and withdraw you from my class OR give you a big fat zero notice in my syllabus yet there is always one every single semester, users, eating broccoli, my kid’s calling my name over and over again but then not answering me when I call them, my neighborhood kids trying to use my pool at all hours…it’s summer and I want to sleep in-there is a pool down the street use it at 9 am, come back at noon, waking up and stepping in a cat hairball at 2 am, gossips, people who don’t understand why reading is as important as breathing, and finally l ife going by too fast- I want it to slow down by a second just so I can enjoy the little things more before they are gone….

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD AT THE MALL?

I’m not a big mall person and in all honestly, the only reason I go to our mall is to eat because that is where The Cheesecake Factory and P.F. Chang’s is, and both are two of my favorite places to eat. Of course, when I get there, I get dragged to The Disney Store, Build a Bear, and Gap Kids by my daughter who is a major shopper for a little kid (she can really spend the money!), which is why I am perfectly happy doing my shopping online, lol!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE PAST TIME?

Reading, reading, playing with my daughter, hanging out with my two boys since they are too old to play with, cuddling and spending time with my hubby, listening to music, reading, watching tv but I really have to be in the mood…since I have 34 episodes of tv shows from this season’s shows still sitting on my DVR and countless shows on Netflix that I have started and never finished this is not a priority unless it is Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, How to Get Away With Murder, Game of Thrones, or The White Princess that I just finished up, cooking, baking, swimming or walking, and again reading. Did I mention reading??

Here are my nominations; I apologize if you have already been nominated!

  1. The Mystique Reader
  2. Destiny @Howling Libraries
  3. Book Escapade
  4. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads

25 thoughts on “The Entertainer Blogger Award

  1. Yay! Great answers… Phew… those dislikes. Good luck with the test. And I think you’re missing a digit in your “year” in the beginning about Goodreads… haha…. you’ve been around a long time if it’s 201!!!!!

    Like

  2. I always love getting to know the wonderful bloggers in the book blogger community better, so it was a pleasure to read all of your answers.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry for just answering you! For some reason your comment was flagged as spam, and I just caught it! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading my answers 😊 I agree it’s great getting to know the great bloggers in the book blogging community! They’re all so helpful and nice.

      I checked out your blog and am following you now 😀 Your blog looks incredible! It looks like you’ve been blogging a little longer than I have since I just started my blog May 8th, do we’re both newbies! I’m not sure I have any advice really except check out established blogging sites. Sorry I wasn’t more help!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it definitely is nice to meet new bloggers 😀 I’m just glad I figured out where my admin controls were for my blog, lol! I didn’t even realize there were spam comments…see, newbie right here!!! But, I had a lot! And some were marked spam from people who are followers of my blog, so I’m glad I went through them! Enjoy your week too! Looking forward to seeing your blog posts 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Stephanie for the nomination! This is utterly amazing that you think of me when it comes to choosing the nominees and I really appreciate it! Thank you so much again 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Stephanie. You nominated/tagged me for the Real Neat Blogger Award. I don’t know if I told you, I answered your questions. You can read them on my blog. Just scroll down a little to June 11th. I’m sorry I forgot to tell you. Thanks for the nomination. I had fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my gosh, Stephanie…awesome answers! Congratulations on the award! Sorry to hear about your biopsies 😦 that’s not a fun procedure! My mom has to go through something similar pretty regularly. I’m with you one the liars, cheats and fakes, too…grrrr…I could have put that one on mine easily lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! No, the biopsies are never fun but at least it is a relatively easy and painless procedure, and it’s only a few hours in and out as long as there are no complications. This will be my 10th one, and I’ve always done well, so hoping things continue to go as smoothly! Sorry your mom has to go through something like this. The worst part is just not knowing more than the procedure and then waiting for results. Hahaha, no wonder we get on well since we have similar dislikes! Ugh those things really tick me off…I saw you posted your answers, and I need to go take a look 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Reply! Thank You!

