Throwback Thursday Book Pick! June 15, 2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

My Throwback Thursday pick for this week is one of my favorite books. I picked it after seeing the movie trailer online the other day (I really hope they don’t mess the story up). My pick is The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls.

glasscastle

The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

Published March 1st 2005 by Scribner

5/5 Stars

This memoir and true story by Wells literally broke my heart. I don’t think that my eyes were dry except for just a small part of the time that I read this book.  Even though this was a non-fiction book, Wells writes so compelling and tells the story of her youth and life of poverty and neglectful parents that it reads as a fiction book. You are pulled right into the story and made to feel everything that Wells felt. You feel how much she loves her parents even when her father’s alcoholism took over and having no food to eat was the norm or when her mother was much too selfish to do anything to care for her children or their deplorable living conditions. But, it was the fact that Wells relayed her story with love and without blame or recriminations that made this story really stand out to me In her shoes, I’m not sure that I could do the same or if I could have changed my circumstances with the same courage and success she did.  A truly amazing read.

 

17 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Book Pick! June 15, 2017

    1. It’s such a great book! My aunt gave it to me and all my cousins one Christmas and told us we really needed to read it! She was right! I hope if you read it that you enjoy it 😊
      Thanks for linking me up! I went ahead and scheduled my TBT post last week so I wouldn’t forget to write it since we’re on vacation and made a note to link back to you this morning! But things were a little crazy this morning with some unannounced And unexpected house guests at 10 am, and I hadn’t had a chance yet. Sorry about that!
      Enjoy your day 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! Definitely enjoying the vacation, but not getting to read as much as I would like! That is okay though 🙂 My daughter will only be this age once and want to swim with me and play in the waves with me. In a few years, she will be into her friends and boys….:(

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it a great book? My aunt gave it to me as a Christmas gift one year to read because she said it was a book everyone should read, and I just devoured it! I’m looking forward to the movie, but I hope they do it justice!!

      I’d love to read your review of it!! Goodness, I just started blogging lat month and writing reviews, lol! I’d hate to have to go back and write reviews of all the books I’ve read, lol. That’s over a 1000 books. I’d be writing reviews all day hahaha! Although there are some fantastic books that I have read that do deserve a review….I may have to figure out a system for that even if it is mini reviews 🙂

      Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

