WWW Wednesday! June 14, 2017

img_1384-0WWW

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. Here’s how it works; all you need to do is answer the following three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently, I’m reading: 

swimming

Swimming Lessons by Claire  Fuller

Swimming Lessons is another book from my #20booksofsummer challenge that is being hosted by the very kind Cathy @ 746 Books blog, so that’s book #2 to cross off my list!

see

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

Another book off my #20booksofsummer challenge, so book #3 to cross off!

seven

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

sunshine

The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green

I thought I would finish this one last week, but I’ve been busy with other things this week and other books. But, it’s so good! I expect to be done in the next day or two. I probably shouldn’t have started The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and just finished it, but I couldn’t resist starting it when it was released yesterday! 🙂

Last week I finished up the following:

The Weight of Lies by Emily Carpenter  5/5 Stars

The Salt House by Lisa Duffy 4.5/5 Stars

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus 4/5 Stars

The Night Bird by Brian Freeman 2.5-3/5 Stars

Next week I plan to read the following:

katherine

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir

I expect this one to take some time since it’s over 600 pages, so it may take a week or two!

marshking

The Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne

lost

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan

If I have time and get finished with all my currently reading, then I’ll start this one too:

nightlights

The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White

I planned on reading The Nights the Lights Went Out this week, but I changed things with being on vacation (and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo being released yesterday!).

Next week I will also be able to cross two more books, Katherine of Aragon and The Keeper of Lost Things, off of my #20booksofsummer challenge! Woohoo, I’m making progress since that will (hopefully) make 5 marked off my list 🙂

I’m still at the beach for one and half more weeks and in the middle of planning a birthday party for my daughter who will be 7 this Saturday, so some of my currently reading books could get pushed into next week with everything that’s going on 😃 I think I might have a lot of reading (and reviewing since I’m behind on that too) to catch up on once I’m home and back to reality!

What good books are you reading this week or have you recently finished? What wonderful books do you plan on reading next? Please, share so I can have more ideas for my always growing TBR pile 🙂

17 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday! June 14, 2017

    1. I am enjoying it so far although I haven’t gotten as far into as I would have liked! I would definitely recommend it based on what I’ve read so far 🙂 The Keeper of Lost Things does have a lovely cover! That was honestly the first reason I picked it up! Then it sounding fascinating! Thanks for sharing! I’ll check out your WWW 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely! Swimming Lessons is very good so far, and so is The Sunshine Sisters! I love Karen White’s books, so I was hoping The Night the Lights Went Out would be good! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your WWW post 🙂 I’ll take a look!

      Like

  1. Glad you are still enjoying the beach! It’s still a bit too cold here for that but its getting closer to summery weather 🙂 I haven’t been getting a lot of reading in myself lately but I hope that will change soon!

    Happy Birthday to your daughter and happy reading to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I honestly haven’t read as much as I would have liked since Saturday, but that is okay I guess although I’m missing my books. I’m reading a chapter here and there instead of hours and hours at a time like I normally do! Family time is more important though 🙂

      Tomorrow it is supposed to rain all day, so I hope to at least finish one book or two since I’m almost done with 2 of them!

      We usually head down here in July, but my daughter wanted to come down for her birthday, and we just couldn’t say no to her since we were able to work our schedules out. And she asked so sweetly 🙂 I’m home for the summer anyway on summer break, so anytime was good for me! I’m glad we did since July is usually almost 100 degrees during the day and sitting on the beach is brutal!! It’s been in the mid-80s all week, so that has been perfect!! I hope you get summery weather soon! I’m going to hate it when we get 90-100 degrees every day, yuck!

      Hopefully, you get to read soon! I’m just glad I’m able to grab some time here and there. I’ve got 5 ARC’s to read, but thankfully they are all July and August releases, lol. I was hoping to get a review written for yesterday, but well, I didn’t lol! I have a paragraph down hahaha. I may try to write it tonight when everyone is asleep but maybe it is just me, but sitting on the beach makes me so tired! Tomorrow’s rain day might be a good day to try and catch up on the review..or the two I had planned for the week! I think maybe I shouldn’t have “planned” or expected to do my regular reviews while on vacation, but I’m a bit obsessive about keeping to a schedule. I’m trying to just go with the flow and relax though! The reviews can wait until I get to them this week, if I can, or I get back to NC!

      Thank you for the birthday wishes for her!! I cannot believe she will be 7! She needs to stop growing….being my baby, I wish she would stay little forever!

      Like

      1. It can be a challenge trying to balance family and reading! Family time is definitely important. Its when memories are made 🙂 Kids grow up way too fast, don’t they? It seems not long ago my boys were 7, now they are 20 and 13. How did that happen?!

        Is it weird that I look forward to rainy days? I never used to, but I feel less pressure on myself to ‘get out and do something’. I use the bad weather to curl up with a good book 😉

        We always traveled to Old Orchard Beach in Maine to kickstart our vacation in July. The weather is warmer than here in Nova Scotia and so is the water. We won’t be going this year, unfortunately 😦

        Enjoy the rest of your vacation and enjoy your books! I’m looking forward to your reviews 🙂 (no pressure!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes, it’s so hard to just balance family, work, and everything else much less reading time 🙂 But, yes, family comes first!

        Kids grow much too fast! My oldest will be 19 in Sept and my middle son will be 17 in August. I’m not sure how that happened….

        I love rainy days 🙂 It’s a good excuse to slow down. It’s downpouring right now and starting to thunder. Definitely a good excuse to read…or right the review I wanted posted on Tues, lol! If I can get out of my lazy mode.

        I’ve never been to Maine but always wanted to visit. We lived in Philly for 5 years, and I hoped to visit then. We went to Vermont but that was as close! I’d love to visit Nova Scotia too someday 🙂

        Thank you! I hope we do! I’m hoping we don’t get rained out, lol. 🙂

        Like

  2. I loved The Night the Lights Went Out and The Marsh King’s Daughter! I hope you do too.
    I’ve heard good things about some of the other books you are reading. Looking forward to your reviews when you have time.
    In the meantime I’m going to be a little bit jealous that you are at the beach 😉. Enjoy and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Karen White is such a great author, so I hope she doesn’t let me down this time! I just automatically buy her books now, so I really hope this one is as good as I’ve heard :)! Have you read her Tradd Street Series? They are the first books of her’s that I read, and I love them! I highly recommend them if you haven’t! They are a bit quirky and silly at times but so fun!

      I’ve heard such good things about The Marsh King’s Daughter that I got it as my free audiobook for Audible this month! If I hate it, which I doubt, I will just return it, lol! I’m doing the 30 day trial with them since I keep buying audiobooks I didn’t like and getting stuck with them! I hope this works out!

      Aww, I wish I could bring everyone to the beach since the weather is just perfect right now! I was so glad to get away and a little sad this will be our last vacation until next spring since I not only will start teaching again in August but taking classes too, so I will be slammed with schoolwork..mine and my student’s, lol!

      I feel like I’m really behind on reviews, but it is only one that I planned for Tuesday that I have missed, and I want to have one written for Friday hahaha! But, I hope to get one written tomorrow or maybe two. I don’t want to get too far behind or I know I will really be playing catch-up!

      Happy Reading 🙂

      Like

      1. This was my first Karen White book and will not be my last! I picked up The Time Between at a used book store recently and hope to read it soon. I haven’t heard of that series, but will be looking it up. Thank you for the recommendation!

        I’ve been tempted to give Audible a try, but haven’t yet. I hope you like it!

        What age level do you teach and what classes will you be taking in August?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Funny, I haven’t read that Karen White book, so I need to find it!! The Sound of Glass is probably my favorite. You’re welcome for the recommendation. They are mysteries with a ghost element, so a little different! Very fun though!

        So far, I’m enjoying audible. You can return the book if you hate it, and get 1 free book credit a month. I was buying 1 or 2 audio books a month for my morning walk and kept buying ones that just were awful, so Renee @It’sBookTalk recommended Audible!! I’m glad she did 😀 It’s free for 30 days if you want to try it then you can cancel if you don’t like it.

        I’ve been teaching English Lit classes for almost 16 years to mostly college sophmores and some freshmen. British Literature (from Beowulf to the Romance period to the present) is one area I specialized when getting my Master’s degree, so I teach British lit I and II both semesters during the school year, and love it!! I also teach Contemporary lit both semesters to honors students, which I really love since that’s the other area I specialized when getting my degree. Then I teach American Lit I one semester a year unless another teacher does it. Luckily, we’ve started offering classes online, so I’ve been teaching a mix of seated and online classes. This year though with school, I’m teaching more online classes than seated…3 half days in the classroom (8-2) and the rest online.

        I’m back in school completing my PhD in English with a concentration in Literary and Cultural Studies. I’m doing that online…thank goodness for online classes! But once fall hits, it’s like I’m literally breathing school…and English, lol. I’m hoping teaching online helps this semester and I’m teaching 1 less class than I usually do as well. It’s really hard to balance family, work, and school when fall comes around, so I’m trying to find ways to make it easier.

        Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

