Let’s Chit-chat… A Weekly Recap: June 5-10, 2017

Happy weekend all!

I hope all of you are having a gorgeous weekend! It’s been a busy week for me on and off the blog, and I’m more than ready for my two-week beach vacation that started today! We got a (very, very) late start on our trip today, but we finally got here about two hours ago, which was later than the noon arrival we planned on by 5 hours, ugh! Still, we are here now! 🙂

It was quite a wild experience typing this post while bouncing along down some of the two lane roads you have to drive on to get from NC to parts of SC! Crazy! I was more than thrilled when we reached our beach house on Pawleys Island (our family house belonging to my parents and my grandparents before that). Many of you who have read Dorothea Benton Frank’s books may be familiar with Pawleys Island from her book by that same name. It’s in the SC low country not too far from the Isle of Palms, which she has also written about as well as has Mary Alice Monroe (in her latest book Beach House for Rent)! The low country is absolutely beautiful, and I’m looking forward to some much-needed relaxation for my mind, body, and soul!

The View from My Back Door Right Now….So Peaceful

ocean

I’m still tweaking my blog and deciding what features I want to include each week, so I’ve decided to add a Weekly Recap feature every Saturday where I’ll tell you a little bit about my week, review the weekly happenings on my blog, share my NetGalley or Edelweiss approvals for the week, and/or any books that I treated myself too! When I’m not crazy with traveling, etc I promise that my Saturday Weekly Recap will be posted much earlier that day 🙂

Off the blog, Wednesday was a pretty emotional day for me. It was my middle son’s last day as a junior in high school, so I teared up quite a bit that day. I’m not ready for him to be a high school senior in the fall! In my mind, he is still 3 or 4, and I really don’t know how I will be ready for him to head off to college next year 😦  Funny enough, yesterday was my daughter’s last day of 1st grade, and I was thrilled about that! We celebrated by taking her to dinner and ice cream! She is super excited to start 2nd grade in the fall, and I’m over the moon about that! She had such a horrible time in kindergarten and starting 1st grade that it is a relief knowing she is actually happy about 2nd grade. I’m just hoping her excitement lasts all summer and until the 1st day of 2nd grade without the horrible separation anxiety she’s had the past two years kicking in again…

On my blog, I want to start my first weekly wrap-up by thanking all my new followers during the week of my blog’s one month anniversary! This week has just been amazing for me with the number of new followers I’ve had since last Sunday: 42 new followers in the past 6 days! That’s 6x the number of followers I had the first two weeks of my blog the beginning of May, and I’m so close to reaching 100 followers! Without all of you being so amazing and reading my posts, liking my posts, and commenting none of this would be possible and my baby blog wouldn’t be slowly but steadily growing! All of you are amazing! 

So, it’s been a busy week on the blog! I participated in the Goodreads Monday meme hosted by Laurens Page Turners, the Top Ten Tuesday event hosted by The Broke and Bookish, WWW Wednesday hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words, and the Throwback Thursday meme hosted by Renee @Its Book Talk. I wrote two full book reviews and two mini book reviews. And, I did one fun book tag from Jay @This Is My Truth Now! I’ll be including the links to all my posts from this past week below in case anyone missed them!

Books! Books! Wonderful Books! I’ve had a nice week getting a haul of books from either NetGalley, Edelweiss, buying them for my Kindle, or buying physical books! I was really good at not requesting too many egalley books this week because I have so many books that I already own and want to read this summer from my TBR or have bought in the past couple of weeks and need to read!

This Past Week on My Blog:
Goodreads Monday: Midwives by Chris Bohjalian
Review of The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger (audiobook)
Top Ten Tuesday: Suspense, Mystery, or Thriller Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR List
Review of He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly
WWW Wednesday 6/7/17
ThisIsMyTruthNow Tag
Throwback Thursday Book Pick: Alone by Lisa Gardner
Mini Reviews of The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo (audiobook) and The Night Bird by Brian Freeman

My NetGalley Approvals for the Week:

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker Expected Publication August 8, 2017

emma
Little Monsters by Kara Thomas by Expected Publication July 25, 2017

monsters

 

My Edelweiss Approval for the week:

The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory Expected Publication August 8, 2017

tudor

These are the books that I bought myself this week:

The Sunshine Sister by Jane Green Published June 6, 2017

sunshine
One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus Published May 30, 2017 (audiobook)

lying
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid Expected Publication June 13, 2017

seven
The Marsh King’s Daughter Expected Publication June 13, 2017

marshking

Again, thank you to all my lovely new followers and of course those of you who have been following me for awhile! I would love to chat with you in the comments below about anything book or non-book related! That’s it for this week’s recap! I hope you have a lovely weekend and week! Since I’m on vacation, I’m not sure how much I will post this week,  but we will see since I’m a technology junkie 🙂

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Chit-chat… A Weekly Recap: June 5-10, 2017

  1. Enjoy the beach! So far I’ve only “visited” the low country setting via books and movies, which makes me want to join all of you there in real life.

    I got The Sunshine Sisters this week and have Emma in the Night on Pippa, my Kindle.

    I love the sound of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

    I know what you mean about how fast our kids grow…my youngest, who has been an adult for a while, is visiting my eldest son, who lives in Prague. She and her husband went there on their honeymoon. They also spent a lot of time in the Stockholm airport before arriving in Prague…a missed connection.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog. Congrats on the growth of your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely need to visit. It’s so peaceful and beautiful here; exactly like in the books!

      Haha! I should name my Kindle since we all have one! Maybe if it had a name, it would stop getting confused with my daughters 🙂 I’m looking forward to Tuesday when The Seven Husband’s of Evelyn Hugo is published. I’ve really enjoyed Taylor Jenkin Reids books lately.

      Our kids do grow too fast! I wish there was some way to freeze time. Do you get to visit your son in Prague? I was there about 20 years ago, and it is gorgeous! I would love to visit again but Italy is on our agenda for next April for our wedding anniversary. I’ve never been to Stockholm, but I would love to visit! That is great that your children are close enough that they want to visit like that. My two boys are still at the stage as teenagers that they want to hang out but in the next breath want nothing to do with the other. I know it will pass in time…

      I love your blog (blogs I should say!)! They are wonderful! I’m not sure how you do it all 🙂 And thank you so much! I’m just so glad it is growing 🙂

      Enjoy your week as well!

      Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

