Throwback Thursday Book Pick! June 8, 2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them. These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it!

For my first Throwback Thursday, I’ve picked a book that I read way back in 2005 when it was released in paperback. This was my first Lisa Gardner book, and I’ve read every book she’s published since, and she is an auto-buy author for me!

My pick is Alone by Lisa Gardner, #1 in the Detective D.D. Warren series.

4/5 Stars

alone

Synopsis:

Alone . . . Massachusetts State Trooper Bobby Dodge watches a tense hostage standoff unfold through the scope of his sniper rifle. Just across the street, in wealthy Back Bay, Boston, an armed man has barricaded himself with his wife and child. The man’s finger tightens on the trigger and Dodge has only a split second to react . . . and forever pay the consequences.

Alone . . . that’s where the nightmare began for cool, beautiful, and dangerously sexy Catherine Rose Gagnon. Twenty-five years ago, she was buried underground during a month-long nightmare of abduction and abuse. Now her husband has just been killed. Her father-in-law, the powerful Judge Gagnon, blames Catherine for his son’s death . . . and for the series of unexplained illnesses that have sent her own young son repeatedly to the hospital.

Alone . . . a madman survived solitary confinement in a maximum-security prison where he’d done hard time for the most sadistic of crimes. Now he walks the streets a free man, invisible, anonymous . . . and filled with an unquenchable rage for vengeance. What brings them together is a moment of violence—but what connects them is a passion far deeper and much more dangerous. For a killer is loose who’s woven such an intricate web of evil that no one is above suspicion, no one is beyond harm, and no one will see death coming until it has them cornered, helpless, and alone.

My Thoughts:

Lisa Gardner is one of my favorite crime fiction novelists. I love how well-written, intense, and suspenseful her writing is. But, being a research junkie myself, what I really love is how much time and research she puts into the crimes she writes about and the police procedures needed to solve them since that gives her books a real and authentic feeling.

I thought this book was interesting because even though it’s the first in the Detective D.D. Warren series (who I seriously love because she is cranky, no-nonsense headstrong, tough), D.D. barely makes an appearance. She is more of a secondary character but does play a very important role in the plot since it is her job to investigate Trooper Booby Dodge’s role in an on the job shooting.

It is Trooper Bobby Dodge, D.D.’s former lover, who is center stage in Alone. Bobby is one of my favorite characters in this series. As always, Gardner fully develops her characters, so we see that Bobby is very complex and although he has his shortcomings, he is very likable. It was difficult to read Bobby go through the intense stress and torment of being sued because he did what he was trained to do as a sniper and shot an armed man who appeared to be about to shoot his wife and son. There was a lot of emotion with Bobby’s character that I still remember even though I read the book 12 years ago.

Like all of Gardner’s books, Alone is full of twists, is fast-paced, and the ending is not only suspenseful but surprising. While Alone is not Gardner’s best book, I highly recommend it as an intro into one of her greatest series, but all her books are excellent even her stand alone books! I think you will really enjoy Gardner’s series (she has 3 different ones) if you’re a fan of crime fiction or are fans of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli and Isles series, which they remind me of in a way!

*Synopsis for Alone Provided by Goodreads*
11 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Book Pick! June 8, 2017

  1. I’m new to Lisa Gardner and was recommended the Quincy and Rainie series but this one is now on my tbr list as well!! I absolutely loved the first two books I read, The Perfect Husband and The Third Victim, and have the next book on hold from my library! I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

    1. I love Quincy and Rainie! They are a fantastic couple and the books are amazing. I’m glad you put these on your tbr list too! They are very good. Detective DD is much different than Rainie. She’s a bit of a hard-nose, tough as nails, scary as you know what! She can be hard to take. But she’s an excellent detective! I hope you enjoy them. Gardner has some really good standalone books as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome To Throwback Thursday Stephanie!! Sorry I’m late getting your link…this book is one of my absolute favorites of Lisa Gardner’s so awesome pick!!It really is the perfect intro into her series. She’s the only author I can say I’ve EVERY single one of her books! Now, I haven’t liked them all but I’ve read them:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I was really glad I was organized enough to do it this week! I’m glad you like my pick! Lisa Gardner’s excellent when she’s at the top of her game, but I agree I haven’t liked all her books! I do like her new (well, not new anymore, lol) Tessa Leoni series. She’s an interesting character! Not quite as cranky as DD, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

