Tag: This-Is-My-Truth-Now

cropped-ryder_snow

I’m finally getting around to answering this tag by Jay@This-Is-My-Truth-Now! He created his own tag, and it’s a great one! You really have to think about the books you’ve read to answer it. Jay is an awesome guy, and I love interacting with him 🙂 Also, his blog is amazing! If you haven’t checked it out then you’re missing out! Thank you so much, Jay, for the tag! If you scroll to the bottom, you can see Jay’s answers to his challenge and learn a little more about him 🙂

Here are the Challenge Questions:

  1. You’re on your way to a birthday dinner that your friends have thrown for you. When you arrive, your favorite author is having dinner by himself or herself and asks you to sit with them, before you even see your friends or they see you. You have two choices: (1) You can sit with the author but can’t tell your friends that you’ve abandoned them for three hours, or (2) Meet your friends and lose the only chance you’ll ever have to talk with the author. Pick one or the other — no exceptions or communication to your friends to tell them about the author — and explain why. I would totally ditch my friends—sorry guys!! I love them, some of them I love as much as I do my family (more than some of my family), but they’re my friends! They know how much I’m book obsessed and if I had the chance to meet my favorite author it would be a dream come true! Plus, they’re completely used to me randomly changing plans on them, so my not showing up wouldn’t surprise them and wouldn’t require an explanation, hahaha!
  1. You’ve got an opportunity to spend a few hours alone “in your bedroom” with a character from any book you’ve previously read. The character tells you that (s)he would like to lock the door and spend some alone time with you. What book and character is it, and do you decide to enter the room and lock the door, or tell them you aren’t interested? Do you mean locked in the bedroom together as in a naughty way? Or just to talk? That might sway my decision here! No, I’ll bite! This was a tough decision, but I have to go with Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse series (but only if he looks like Eric as played by Alexander Skarsgard in the HBO show adaptation). He’s a several 1000-year-old vampire, and I have a thing for vampires, uh, I mean history since the minor for my degree is history! So, I’m sure that we would have a lot of very interesting things to talk about! He could teach me so much that I don’t know about necks and biting. I mean all about Vikings, oops…sorry!
  1. If you could turn any male character from one of your favorite books into a female character (or change a female into a male) in the book or book series, which one and why? Man, this was hard! I completely got stuck on this one. Sorry!
  1. What blogger currently on your follower’s list (meaning they follow you too) do you admire the most and why? Oh, that’s not really a fair question! I actually love reading them all! I sit down every morning and again in the afternoon with my tea or coffee, depending on my mood, and read The Reader so I can read everyone that I follow’s blog posts for the day. That’s such a wide variety of content that there is always something that I enjoy each day 😊
  1. If you could change any one decision your favorite book character made, what would it be and why? I would go back and do whatever I could to make Harry Potter take the occlumency lessons from Snape seriously, so he could keep his mind closed to Voldemort. I’ve always hated how Harry let Voldemort show him fake images of Sirius being tortured. It is heartbreaking how Harry’s attempt to save his godfather inadvertently led to Sirius death and then a lifetime of guilt. I think that is one of the saddest moments in fiction, and I would love to rewrite it.
  1. If you could pick 1 character from a book and 1 character from a TV show you watch (that is NOT based on a book) to be in a relationship together, who would you choose, and why? Wow! I only watch about 2 shows on TV that aren’t based on books right now, lol, so this is extra tough! I had to go back to past shows for this! Okay, I would take Joe Morelli from the Stephanie Plum Series and put him in a relationship with Susan Mayer (before she became Delfino) from Desperate Housewives! First, Joe needs to settle down, and he needs to leave Stephanie alone so she can be with Ranger—she and Morelli are just all wrong together! Susan is sweet, kinda the girl next door, really pretty, and she’s a housewife!! She’s what Joe is looking for: a wife and mom to fix his dinner (even if she is a bad cook), clean his house, and have his babies (maybe). And she’s a comic relief, so he will still have someone to laugh at without worrying about his car getting blown up every day. Although with her and her friends around, he will probably have a murder and other crimes to solve, but it will still be a less dangerous relationship and cheaper than having to replace vehicles, parts of his house, etc on a daily basis.
  2. It’s your last day on Earth. As you are about to cross that final finish line, a mysterious shadow appears, giving you a choice: (1) You can go move forward to whatever comes next for you [based on your own spiritual or religious beliefs], or (2) you can become a character in a book series and exist permanently doing whatever that author chooses to do with you in the book. Which do you choose, and if it’s option 2, reveal the book and author. As much as I would love to live my life out in my favorite book series, I don’t like the idea of giving up control of my life to my favorite author. I could be stabbed, poisoned, kidnapped, attacked, fed broccoli, stuck in a love triangle, possibly stuck somewhere with Christian Grey against my will…well, you get the idea. Better just to move on and see what happens from there.
  1. If you could steal a pet from someone in any book you’ve read, but had to replace it with a friend’s pet (meaning they wouldn’t ever see their pet again), would you do it?  If so, explain the who and why. That would be horribly mean, so no, I would never steal a friend’s pet! But, if I could take a book pet and keep it for myself, then I would steal Jon Snow’s direwolf Ghost, preferably in puppy form, so I could be there as he grew up. I love that beautiful, pony size wolf, and I think I would like to have a pet that was only loving towards me but scared the hell out of everyone else.
  1. If you could turn someone from your real life into a character from a book, who from your life, who in the book and why? I would turn my friend Maria into Claire Fraser from the Outlander series. One, Maria is from Wales, so she is technically British like Claire but with a much different and cooler accent. Two, she’s a nurse practitioner, so she’s almost a doctor, and she’s very into herbal medications, which is all Claire had to treat people within the 18th Century. She’s always giving me herbal teas she’s concocted and tinctures…some taste like feet, but they work. Third, she has an obsession with Sam Heughan who plays Jamie Fraser on tv’s Outlander so if he is anything like the book’s Jamie, then she will die happy (I would happily switch places with her!)!
  1. Post a picture of the cover of a book you read in 2000 and the book you are currently reading now. (Note: if you weren’t alive in 2000, pick the first book you ever read and tell everyone what year it was from).

Book from 2000-I remember reading it when I was pregnant with my 2nd son.

shop

What I’ve been reading all day today.

lying

  1. Your favorite character (under 18) needs a place to stay for 3 months and asks you if (s)he could stay in your spare room (yes, you have one for the sake of this question). Who is it and what is the reason (s)he needs to stay with you? Of course, I would since it’s Harry Potter, and he is being chased by the Death Eaters and somehow I’m the only person in the world, Muggle that I am, who can safely hide him..not in a cupboard, but duly noted in my spare bedroom!
  1. Which of the 365 Daily Challenge posts most describes you? To see them all, you can go here. (Note: This is the question each person can change when they tag their own nominees) Out of 81 Challenge posts I had to narrow it down to one (again, hard 😊) Okay, well I am going with the Only Child post from Day 86 since I am an only child and for some reason when I tell people that they have strange reactions, like “you’re really an only child?” or “you have no brothers or sisters?”. Yes, that’s what the word only means! Or, I get told no wonder you act a certain way, do a certain thing, like to be alone, etc since I have no siblings—no, that’s just me, thanks! I’m an INFJ personality type, sorry! And, no, I’m good, I don’t need a brother or sister now that I’m 40; that is what my sister-in-law is for or even better my best friend. I like being alone and after watching my kids argue, I thank God that I was an only child!

 

Here are Jay’s Challenge Answers to His Own Tag:

  1. You’re on your way to a birthday dinner that your friends have thrown for you. When you arrive, your favorite author is having dinner by himself or herself and asks you to sit with them, before you even see your friends or they see you. You have two choices: (1) You can sit with the author but can’t tell your friends that you’ve abandoned them for three hours, or (2) Meet your friends and lose the only chance you’ll ever have to talk with the author. Pick one or the other — no exceptions or communication to your friends to tell them about the author — and explain why.
    • Meet my friends. I would love to meet the author, but I’d feel guilty over abandoning my friends when they showed up for a birthday dinner.
  2. You’ve got an opportunity to spend a few hours alone “in your bedroom” with a character from any book you’ve previously read. The character tells you that (s)he would like to lock the door and spend some alone time with you. What book and character is it, and do you decide to enter the room and lock the door, or tell them you aren’t interested?
    • Yes, I choose to lock the door. And these days… it would probably be Jamie Fraser from Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander simply due to the accent.
  3. If you could turn any male character from one of your favorite books into a female character (or change a female into a male) in the book or book series, which one and why?
    • I’d like to see a male version of Lisbeth Salander from Steig Larsson’s Millenium series – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. And it’s because of the tattoos, the danger and the wild side that I could only imagine! No clue who the guy is below, but that’s who I’d picture for a male Lisbeth.
  4. What blogger currently on your follower’s list (meaning they follow you too) do you admire the most and why?
    • Right now, I’ve got some super respect for Rae Longest because she reads every one of my posts and engages in really strong dialogue, revealing a lot about herself and how she and I are similar and different at the same time. I have this connection with a few online bloggers, but Rae and I already jokingly refer to each other as great aunt and nephew, even tho we’re not related.
  5. If you could change any one decision your favorite book character made, what would it be and why?
    • I would stop June Reid from Bill Clegg’s “Did You Ever Have a Family” from running away when her family is killed in the accident. It sets her off on a path that leads to a horrible period in her life and hurts one of my favorite characters, Lydia Morey.
  6. If you could pick 1 character from a book and 1 character from a TV show you watch (that is NOT based on a book) to be in a relationship together, who would you choose, and why?
    • Stephanie Plum from Janet Evanovich’s “One for the Money” book series with Ross Geller from Friends. To see their conversation over “we were on a break” would just be hilarious! And their facial expressions… yikes.
  7. It’s your last day on Earth. As you are about to cross that final finish line, a mysterious shadow appears, giving you a choice: (1) You can go move forward to whatever comes next for you [based on your own spiritual or religious beliefs], or (2) you can become a character in a book series and exist permanently doing whatever that author chooses to do with you in the book. Which do you choose, and if it’s option 2, reveal the book and author.
    • I think I’d have to go with Option 1 only because I wouldn’t want to mess with whatever fate had in store for me. But if for some reason I ever chose Option 2, I’d let Ken Follett put me in any of his books in any way he felt appropriate.
  8. If you could steal a pet from someone in any book you’ve read, but had to replace it with a friend’s pet (meaning they wouldn’t ever see their pet again), would you do it?  If so, explain the who and why.
    • I’d love to meet Koko from the “Cat Who” books so we could solve crimes together. But I’d never take someone else’s pet away. Are you crazy? LOL
  9. If you could turn someone from your real life into a character from a book, who from your life, who in the book and why?
    • I’d like to see my friend Michael (he’s just hilarious and has no filter when it comes to things he says) into a character in a Dr. Seuss book for adults. I think people would buy it ten times over. He can make you laugh no matter where you are or what’s happening in your life — and he has no boundaries. I’ve lost my shorts in public because of him, he will say things in cab that make you embarrassed, then jump out at a light and run away. Several bartenders have given us free shots just to get him to stop from being so lively. Total ridiculous fun.
  10. Post a picture of the cover of a book you read in 2000 and the book you are currently reading now. (Note: if you weren’t alive in 2000, pick the first book you ever read and tell everyone what year it was from).
    • Currently Reading
      •  You (You, #1)
    • 2000 Read
      • Catering to Nobody (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #1)
  11. Your favorite character (under 18) needs a place to stay for 3 months and asks you if (s)he could stay in your spare room (yes, you have one for the sake of this question). Who is it and what is the reason (s)he needs to stay with you?
    • I would adopt Liesl from Markus Zusak’s “The Book Thief,” as she needs a place to stay to escape from the Nazis. And since I am German, they would have trusted me, and the treasured book would still be part of our lives.
  12. Which of the 365 Daily Challenge posts most describes you? To see them all, you can go here. (Note: This is the question each person can change when they tag their own nominees)
    • They are all me, so I really can’t participate in my own questions, now can I?

The Rules:

  • Create your own new post and call it “Tag: This-Is-My-Truth-Now” and be sure to include in your tags the words — without quotes — “ThisIsMyTruthNow Tag”
  • Include these rules when you copy/paste to your own post.
  • Be sure to thank the person that tagged you and include their responses at the bottom of your post, so someone can get to know them too. Tell everyone something interesting about the person who tagged you.
  • Include a link to my original post mentioning this blog so we can see how many people choose to play along. Link to cut/paste is:  ThisIsMyTruthNow
  • Choose 12 bloggers to tag and include a link to their latest post, so others can check them out and meet new people.
  • Answer all 12 questions in The Challenge Questions section, but replace the 12th question with your own new one around telling the truth or revealing something interesting about yourself — you can leave the existing if you can’t think of something.
  • Be sure to copy/paste the “Truth or Dare” section at the end of this post. It’s important to the challenge — so you better carefully read it!
  • If you’ve haven’t been tagged, but you want to play along, you can totally jump on in and post responses to the tag on your blog.

So, I’m breaking the rules…I’m being bad here, and I’m tagging all my followers because I would love to see as many of your answers as possible! 🙂

Oh, make sure you read Jay’s Truth or Dare challenge below!! 

TRUTH OR DARE: Oh, did I forget to tell you the last part of the ThisIsMyTruthNow tag? If you choose not to accept the tag, you have to follow through on whatever dare the person who tags you chooses — for my nominees, if you choose not to do this tag, your dare is to re-read [within the next 30 days] the book that has the lowest rating of all the books you’ve read in the last five (5) years. And if you don’t read it again, you’ll be cursed with bad book reads for the next five (5) years. HaHaHaHaHa!

8 thoughts on “Tag: This-Is-My-Truth-Now

  1. Good Morning. Thank you for much for everything you said about me. I love hearing wonderful lies about myself! 🙂

    HeHeHe. And thank you for participating. Hope it wasn’t too grueling. Your answer on #2 was hilarious and ridiculously good. But you’re in trouble on #3 (none!). Luckily you made up for it with the Joe Morelli and Susan from DH. That’s a fantastic suggestion. We have a lot in common… no wonder we get along so well here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was going to say how evil you were to write a tag that required my lazy brain to work, lol. Then I decided to be nice 😉 But I was telling the truth anyway…

      I’m glad my #2 answer amused you! It was quite a lovely thought. I need to binge watch Season 4 of True Blood now. I really was stumped on 3. I couldn’t think of a single character, lol. It will probably hit me later. I was doing this at 1 am 😪

      I’m so glad you agree with Morelli and Susan!! I thought that would be a perfect pairing, lol.

      I enjoyed participating! Sorry it took a week! Yes, we definitely have a lot in common and get along well! Glad we met 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Slightly evil okay; I think we all probably are. But no, all the nice things I said about you were true too…sorry I had that written, but somewhere that got lost in translation. That sometimes happens when I use my phone and think I’ve typed out something, but I haven’t lol! Sorry! No, it wasn’t a quick one. It was like sitting for an exam or something 😉 Yes, I did enjoy it though!

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

