Publication Day! Book Review: He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly

he_she
Book Title and Author: He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly
Publication date and Publisher: June 06, 2017 by Minotaur Books
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Pages: 416 pages
Buy on Amazon.com
Date Read: 6/4/17
Goodreads

5 Stars

Synopsis: 
In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim’s life that is changed forever. Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear, and while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something, and someone, is always in the dark.

Review:

I could list numerous adjectives to describe He Said, She Said, but none of them can adequately do it justice! This was, once again, a book I wanted to read because of all the wildly enthusiastic reviews I kept reading about it, so I put my request into NetGalley and prayed fervently for approval. I was ecstatic to see it on my shelf the next day, especially since I was looking for my next big read. I was not disappointed! I was enthralled and captivated!

Erin Kelly is an outstanding writer.  He Said, She Said is the first book that I read by her, which seems to be a theme this week, and she immediately became an auto-buy author for me. I’ve already added every one of her books to my TBR list.

*Trigger warning: There is a brief rape scene in the book, and the rape is also mentioned in conjunction with the rape trial. *

The story is told from the alternating POV’s of both Kit and Laura and takes place in two different timelines from 1999 and 2015. The story begins when Kit, who has been a serious eclipse chaser since he was a young boy, and his girlfriend Laura are in Cornwall when Laura comes across a woman being raped (or is she??). Although Kit doesn’t witness the actual attack, he believes Laura and goes after the perpetrator. Kit and Laura immediately report the attack and get help for the female victim. It is this event that forever changes their lives in ways they could never have imagined!

We see just how enormous the impact of their involvement in the rape trial is when the timeline moves forward to 2015, and Laura is now an emotional wreck and overwrought with anxiety caused by severe psychological stress. At times, she even seems crazed in her actions and thoughts. Kit may not be as outwardly anxious as Laura, but it is obvious he is struggling just as severely with the same stresses and trauma. The couple has also changed their identities and is in hiding. But, who are they hiding from? What happened from the time they reported the sexual assault and were witnesses in the rape trial to fifteen years later that completely overturned their lives?

Trust me, this is one book you’ll want to read without knowing too much about the overall storyline and characters because it will be a much more pleasurable read that way! I would be doing you a terrible disservice if I told you anything more about the plot! You really must experience every minuscule detail of this intense and mesmerizing foray on your own. It is quite a journey—one that is amazing, riveting, and quite scary at times!

I will say that the book was slow to start, and I was a little worried at first that the rave reviews that I’d heard were wrong! But, I’m so glad that I did not put He Said, She Said down! Kelly is a smart writer; she paces the story perfectly so the suspense builds and builds with mind-blowing twists and turns until the explosive ending! The intensity becomes so strong that I could not put the book down until the final page! He Said, She Said is more than the title, it becomes one of the questions you ask yourself as you read the book! Who is right? Who is wrong? Are the events in the book just a case of he said, she said? And who do you believe? You’ll be asking yourself these questions until the very end of this very unsettling and shocking book! It’s one book you won’t be able to put down.

Thank you, NetGalley, Minotaur Books, and Erin Kelly for an ARC copy of He Said, She Said to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.

*Synopsis for He Said, She Said Provided by Goodreads*
7 thoughts on “Publication Day! Book Review: He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly

    1. Thanks!! It was very suspenseful! I wanted to check under my bed and in my closet while I was reading it…very chilling!! I think this will be one of hottest books of the summer or even the year!

      Like

  1. Great review Stephanie! I’ve read many reviews and still haven’t put this on my tbr but I really like what you had to say about it and your excitement over it comes through in your review so I’m adding it to my already bursting tbr:) What’s one more book anyway😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Renee!! I’m returning the favor, lol 😀 Seriously though, I think you will thoroughly enjoy this book if you enjoy psychological thrillers as much as I believe you do from reading the reviews on your blog! Definitely add it! You won’t regret it! Oh, I think for us booklovers that our TBRs are always going to be overflowing 😄

    Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

