My 20 Books of Summer List!

20-books

The #20BooksOfSummer is a fun and easy reading challenge hosted each year by Cathy from 746 Books blog. She set a challenge to read 20 books between June 1st to September 3rd this year. Anyone is welcome to join in, and you don’t have to set your reading goals for 20 books, but are free to choose goals of 10 or 15 books if that is better for you!

Even if you put a book on your list of 20, Cathy is very easygoing…she will let you change books if you find something else you want to read instead and if you don’t read all 20 books, that’s okay too! You can also share your reading progress on Twitter with the hashtag #20booksofsummer, as well as update your progress on Cathy’s blog!

There are a ton of brand new release books that I want to read between now and the end of summer and a lot of books on my TBR list, so I decided for this reading challenge list to choose a mixture of books that have been on my TBR for at least a year or longer  and a few new releases that I want to read—but not the ones that I just posted as “My Top Ten Most Anticipated Reads For the Rest of 2017”.

I’m also picking (mostly) easy reads because I don’t want to have to overthink about literature until August since I’ll have to do that once I return to teaching Literature classes and taking classes (I’m finishing my doctorate degree in English lit as well)! I try to give my brain a much needed break May to August!

So here goes (book link takes you to the Goodreads description):

ptowns

Paper Towns by John Green: It’s been sitting on my TBR forever, so I really should read it since I’m a sucker for John Green’s books. Cue the waterworks…

swimming

Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller: The blurb on this one looks super interesting, so I hope it’s good. Since I bought it, I really hope so!

trespassers

The Trespassers by Tana French: This will be my first Tana French novel, and I’m looking forward to it! I’ve heard such good things.

katherine

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir: I’m a total sucker for Tudor books, or well, Tudor anything! This one’s been waiting on my Kindle since its release, so now seems a good time to read it!

anne

Anne Boleyn, A King’s Obsession by Alison Weir: Again, a total sucker for Tudor books, and Anne Boleyn is my favorite of Henry VIII’s six queen! Also, I really enjoy Alison Weir’s writing and think she writes historical fiction and nonfiction in an engaging manner.

stranger

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena: I have this one as an ARC, so I need to get it read. I only enjoyed last year’s The Couple Next Door, so I’m hoping this is a much better read!

last mile

The Last Mile by David Baldacci: I love David Baldacci’s suspense novels, and Amos Decker is a new and interesting character. I hope it’s as good as the first one in the series.

lost

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan: This was another gift, and it sounds like a charming little fantasy! I hope it is as good as the reviews.

cop

Cop Town by Karen Slaughter: For some reason, this is the only Karen Slaughter book that I haven’t read, which is odd since she is one of my most favorite authors! And I own it! I must have overlooked it on my TBR list and my bookshelf!

lie

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline: This was a Mother’s Day gift, so I need to make sure I read this one soon 😊

see

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt: I cannot pass up what sounds like a very suspenseful thriller, so this one had to go on the list, and as a plus, I just received it as an ARC!

horse

The Horse Dancer by Jojo Moyes: I’ve had this on my Kindle for years, and it’s been on my TBR list for the same amount of time, but I saw it “marketed as brand new” Moyes book in Target recently, so I was confused! Apparently, they rereleased it after the success of Me Before You, so I hope it’s really good!

letter

The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes: I have several Moyes books on both my Kindle and TBR list going back a couple of years, so I think I need to read them. I just haven’t been in the mood to bawl my eyes out! But, I think there is plenty of time in summer to spread them out and give myself a good cry on occasion.

nightlights

The Night the Lights Went Out by Karen White: I love Karen White’s books, especially since she writes about small southern towns like I grew up in and people I feel like I know! She does southern suspense very well! I just bought this one yesterday with plans to read at the beach!

fix

The Fix by David Baldacci: Since I’m planning on reading Amos Decker #2, I might as read #3 in the series too and get caught up!

homegoing

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi: This has been on my Kindle since it was released, so I really need to read it. There’s no time like now…or the summer!

twobytwo

Two by Two by Nicholas Sparks: I admit that I’m a Sparks junkie. His books are like crack even if they can be cheesy at times. But I love them, no lie!

14

14th Deadly Sin by James Patterson: Oh, I am two books behind in “The Women’s Murder Club Series”, and I normally read them as soon as they come out!

15

15th Affair by James Patterson: Still trying to catch up in “The Women’s Murder Club” Books…after this one I will be! Too bad I don’t have book 16!

salt

The Salt House by Lisa Duffy: This one looks like a winner! It has rave reviews, and I’ve just got approved for an ARC, so win-win! Super excited about this one! 📚 READ 1/20

There’s my 20 for the #20BooksOfSummer Challenge! Now, which one to read first!!


25 thoughts on “My 20 Books of Summer List!

    1. Summer is the perfect time to relax when you can with an easy, fun read! With kids home too for some of us and so many other summer activities, I definitely don’t want to be reading things like Hemingway lol 😀 Enjoy your 10 reads! I’ll have to look at your list for more ideas!!

      Like

    1. I’m so excited to join! This is a great idea you’ve come up with😊 I keep hearing how good The Trespasser is! I bought it last year, then didn’t read it when I realized it was a series. But, I understand it’s okay to read as a standalone! I love suspense and mystery, so I’m looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a couple of others-The Likeness and Broken Harbor but since they were all out of order, I wasn’t sure where to start! I just need to go ahead and buy or check the other 3 out of the library! 🙂 Oh, I saw you have The Awakening on your list! It’s a wonderful read! I adore Kate Chopin’s work. I teach college English Lit classes, and she (and The Awakening) is one of my favorite women writers and texts covered in one of the advanced literature classes I teach. And, it is a favorite with 98.99% of the students! I hope you enjoy the book 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m pretty excited about my list! I wouldn’t have added The Trespasser without your recommendation, so thanks 😀 I think I’m most looking forward to The Salt House from this list. I’m hearing such great things. And I’m baffled why I haven’t read Cop Town…I buy her books as soon as they come out! Unless I did and don’t remember, lol!

    Like

    1. I’ve been in such a mood lately for creepy and suspenseful reads! I did throw in some romance and tear jerkers for a change of pace, but I was tempted to read all thrillers, lol! I bet when I look back at everything I read over the summer that 90% will be thrillers! It’s on my Kindle waiting for me, so I just need to get through my reads for next week, so I can start it! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks! I hope that I enjoy them all. I’m still baffled as to why I haven’t read Cop Town since I’ve owned it since it came out, lol! I guess I’ve had too many others to read that it got lost in the shuffle! See What I’ve Done just sounded scary when you read the blurb! I’ll let you know what I think 🙂 Thanks for letting me know!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I’m looking forward to reading it! I love both of those, and I’m going to be a stereotypical Sparks fan and say The Notebook is one of my favorites!! 😊

      Like

      1. Oh The Notebook, how could one get past that, cried buckets when I first saw the film version! Have you happened to read Letter to D by Andre Gorz? It’s a love letter written by a man to the woman he loves when he discovers she is dying and recounts their romance, and has been published as a book… It’s like a real life The Notebook!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, I cried my eyes out, so did my husband but he would kill me if he knew I told anyone 🙂 No! I’ve never read that, but I want to now! I love real life memoirs like that. I will have to look for it. Thank you for sharing 🙂

        Like

I love your comments! Thank you so much!!

