The Liebster Award #1

I owe a huge thank you to James at This Is My Truth for nominating me for the Liebster award. I’m very honored! James has an absolutely amazing blog, so please go take a look and follow him! It’s a really fabulous blog, and he is such a nice guy! I’ve really enjoyed chatting with him the past couple of days! Oh, and I’ve added his Liebster questions/answers at the end of this post so if you don’t know him, make sure you read them and get to know more about him!!
The Liebster award is a great way to discover newer or smaller blogs (like mine !!) and make wonderful new friends in the blogging world, plus it’s a wonderful way to learn more about each other! So, thank you again, James, for the award nomination! It’s greatly appreciated 🙂
Here are the rules for the award:
 Say thank you to the person who has nominated you for the Award.
 Answer the 11 questions the person has asked you
 Nominate 11 people
 Ask the people who you have nominated 11 questions

leibster

MY 11 QUESTIONS:

  1. What made you start blogging? I started blogging for a couple of reasons. First, I read a lot, and I have been keeping track of everything that I read on Goodreads for about 5 years. But, in all that time I’ve only been rating my books and never reviewing them, well, except in my head and sometimes in a journal. So, I finally thought after reading and rating over 1500 books that reviewing them might be fun, and I wanted a place other than just Goodreads to keep track of all my reviews. Secondly, I really love to write, so blogging is a fun way that I can combine my serious passion for books with my love for writing while hopefully getting to meet some really great people who have the same interests in books that I do!
  2. What are the primary content areas on your site? So far, mainly just book reviews, but I’d like to branch out to include some of my writing, but I haven’t gotten that far…or that brave!
  3. What other languages can you speak, read or write? I can’t write in any other language, which is a shame since I took two years of Spanish in high school and two years of French in college. But, I can speak and read French somewhat fluently, Italian enough to get by if traveling, and a smattering of Spanish.
  4. Which color best describes your choice in books? I tend not only to gravitate towards books with red covers since that’s my favorite color, but books about murder, suspense, psychological thrillers, exciting passion tend to be my first choice to read so even the content is psychologically intense, bold, and dramatic just like red conveys!
  5. What is your favorite of the 7 deadly sins, and why? Pride is the first one that popped in my mind, so we’ll go with that one! Why, I’m not entirely sure! Maybe it’s because I’ve been guilty of letting pride get in my way more times than I can count, which is not something that I’m proud of, but I’ve learned a lesson from it, so I guess it’s a favorite as it’s taught me something. When I think of the 7 deadly sins, I immediately think of Faustus, and I would hate to end up like him destroyed by pride (and greed, lechery, and the list goes on….).
  6. What other job would you want to have? If I weren’t a teacher, I would want to be a doctor since that was my original plan. I love all things medical and according to family and friends “pretend” I’m a doctor with the help of books and Google! I’m always diagnosing this and that—and I’m usually right; my own doctors roll their eyes at me because I tell them what is wrong with me at every appointment and have a list of treatment plans outlined. It’s a bit insane, I know! But I learned this the hard way after being told I had cancer while pregnant when I did not and was advised that I should abort my daughter due to “my fast spreading cancer” that you should always, always be an advocate for your own healthcare! If I hadn’t followed my instinct there and gotten a 2nd opinion, I can’t imagine what would have happened,  and I wouldn’t have my precious girl in my life today 😦
  7. What foods can’t you stomach no matter how hard you try? (You must have tried it before) Caviar! I’ve tried it several times in different ways—on crackers, by itself (ugh), on scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, in a dip….umm, no, no, no! I think it’s because I know what it is and not so much the taste, but I’m not giving it another try…
  8. What zoo animal would you most want as a pet? Fun! I would want more than one and very impractical ones at that: an elephant because they are so gentle and amazing, a tiger because they are just majestically gorgeous, and a lemur because my daughter is fascinated with them!
  9. Who do you live with? I live with my husband, my 3 kids: 2 teenage boys, a 6-year-old daughter, 2 sweet dogs, and 1 very insane cat. It is actually like living with zoo animals!
  10. Describe the perfect book. The perfect book—it would have characters who were realistic, not cardboard. They would be perfectly and deeply crafted, so you completely connect with each and every one of them even if there were a character you viciously hated. That hate would be passionate and rich because the character was alive in your mind and soul. The characters that you love would be ones that linger with you long after you finish reading the story because a connection has forever been made and you feel every single emotion and feeling they feel. The plot would be painstakingly vivid, rich, and the narrative would be silky smooth and a joy to read. There would be no plot holes or slowness to the story, but it would flow evenly and take the reader’s imagination places it has never been before, whether the book is a mystery, fantasy, romance, adventure, or horror. A perfect book is one that ticks all the boxes for that particular reader and deeply gratifies their every reading need.
  11. Which blog that you follow is your must-read every day? Only 1! It’s only must-read because it’s work based, and it’s a habit to check it every day now!  Admittedly, I haven’t been following any other blogs for longer than a week or so, and haven’t yet gotten into the daily habit of reading them all yet! That will change though! But for now, my “must-read” is The Scholarly Teacher….boring, boring, but necessary!

Here are my nominees, and please again, do not feel obligated to participate!

FNM

krazymombooks

thelivingbooktree

rehanahashmi

Patty @ Moonshine’s Corner

PanicAtTheBookStore

Engrossed in a Good Book

Keeper of Pages

Kristin’s Novel Café

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Book Obsession

Here are my questions for my nominees (remember, you don’t have to participate unless you really want to! And if you do, there is no rush!

  1. What is your favorite time of day to read and reading snacks/drinks?
  2. What has been the most rewarding part about having a book blog?
  3. Besides reading, what do you like to do in your free time?
  4. What’s number 1 on your bucket list of things to see or do?
  5. What is your favorite post that you’ve written? (Please provide link!)
  6. So far, what’s your favorite book of 2017?
  7. If you could travel to the past or future, which would you choose and why?
  8. Have you learned anything from blogging? If so, what?
  9. If you were stuck on a deserted island for six months (without any wifi), what four real books would you bring with you to read?
  10. Do you have a favorite quote? If so, what is it?
  11. What is your favorite dessert?

 

 Here are the Questions that James Answered (enjoy and get to know him better):

1. What one person dead or alive, would you like to have lunch with?

ALIVE: Ken Follett, just to get advice, learn how his mind words and be transported to another country for a few hours.
DEAD: A great-great-great grandparent, so I could track down more information on our family tree.

2. Who is your all time favorite author?

Oops! I may have answered it in the previous question. But I currently have four (4) I bounce between: Agatha Christie, Henry James, Ken Follett and Kate Morton

3. What do you usually drink when reading?

Coffee or flavored seltzer

4. Where do you normally read?

On the couch, in one of two reading corner chairs or in bed

5. Do you own bookcases? Can I see them?

Yes, but not as many as I used. Check out my Instagram feed and you’ll see a few. Feel free to follow me, too. I love to interact everywhere on social media.

6. What is your favorite TV show?

Too many to choose… the current series I’m watching include: Grace and Frankie, Younger, Young & Hungry, How To Get Away With Murder, Kimmy Schmidt, Great British Baking Show, Falcon Crest, Scandal, Modern Family, The Real O’Neals, SNL, Schitt’s Creek, Downward Dog, Mom, Life in Pieces, Who Do You Think You Are?

7. If you were going to have your last meal, what would it be?

Steak Tartare, Champagne, Jack Daniels & Ginger Ale, Pinot Noir, Chocolate Cake, French Fries

8. Which do you prefer, e-book or real book?

Started using e-readers recently, and they’re OK, but I think I prefer a physical book

9. Who was the last person/band you saw in concert?

Dolly Parton at the Queens outdoor arena

10. What book are you reading right now? Do you like it?

I plan to start “You” by Caroline Kepnes tonight. I just finished “Dead with the Wind” by Miranda James last night. It was a cute cozy, but I’m hoping for a great thriller in “You.”

11. How long have you been blogging?

9 months

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award #1

  1. Lol, I know right! Google knows it all, haha!! Too bad I can’t change my job based on that some days; I love teaching, but there are some days…

    I love meeting new people, so I thought this was such a great idea ❤ I can’t wait to read your answers!

    Like

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

