Book Review of It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
Published August 2016 by Simon & Schuster
5 Stars!

ItEndswithus

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

“Naked truths aren’t always pretty.”

I almost didn’t know what to write about this book. It left me speechless. And absolutely emotionally invested in Lily Bloom, the main character. If I thought that Hoover could write before, then It Ends With Us has proven without a doubt that she has serious writing chops since I think this is the best book she has written so far. Yet, for anyone who is a fan of Hoover’s books, it’s only fair to forewarn you that while this book is Hoover at her ultimate best, it’s unlike any of her other typical books.

At first, I was surprised at the twist that the book took but then I was totally blown away by the story’s emotionally, powerful plot. I couldn’t put the book down, which says a lot since I was listening to it on audiobook! Wow! I typically dislike audiobooks unless I have no other book version, and it usually takes me forever to finish an audiobook—not this time! I listened to this in one day because I was driven to know what happened.

The story is told in the first person narrative of Lily. Lily’s smart, beautiful, strong, and passionate. Also, Lily is a remarkable young woman; she’s bold and brave, and I admire her tremendously. Her life has not been easy, but Lily has overcome personal obstacles to move to Boston and open her dream business of a very successful floral shop.

Early in the book, Lily meets Ryle Kincaid, an arrogant, stubborn neurosurgeon who aspires to be the best in his field. Sparks fly when the two meet, and their relationship moves forward. Yet, going into her new relationship reminds Lily of her teenage love Atlas Corrigan, who she reencounters in Boston. But, this is not the story of a love triangle in the traditional sense of the word. It’s so much more than that.

This is a book that deserves to be read without too much of the plot being given away, so the storyline isn’t completely spoiled. I think you need to read it (hopefully) without having too much information even if that means that when you start reading it you believe the story is about something that it isn’t—exactly the way I did. Trust me, all the feelings that Lily feels you will feel too if you expect the unexpected. Be prepared for Hoover to sweep you away with the powerful characters and the naked truths of brutally honest relationships; be prepared to cry and feel things you may have never felt before when reading a novel.

It Ends With Us is a book that is so powerful and has such an important message that I truly think everyone should read it. I think to say that it’s a must read doesn’t do the book or its story justice. It’s just that phenomenal! It made me cry, laugh, feel heartbroken, and so proud of all the Lily’s of the world. The naked truth is that reading It Ends With Us will change your life because it is so stunning with its message of strength and truth.

14 thoughts on “Book Review of It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

    1. Thank you! This story was undeniably powerful. You definitely need to add it to your tbr list! I’m not sure why it was in my tbr pile for so long since I love Colleen Hoover’s work so much. I think I expected another typical romance and wasn’t in the mood but this, this just left me in pieces for so many reasons. You will definitely think when reading this book….and I believe for a long time afterwards. I’m still contemplating the book and message days later. And have your tissues ready 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Wow! I love your beautiful review. It makes me go through all these powerful emotions again when I read this book. I agree with everything you wrote here in your review. I have always loved CoHo’s writing and stories but this is definitely CoHo at her best. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I was blown away by this book! It was so unexpectedly real and unlike anything CoHo had written before, which of course it being personal for her I think made it all the more gripping and powerful. It was haunting. I loved it and agree it is her best work yet! ❤❤

      Like

      1. They are rather formulaic except this one. It was much different, very surprisingly so, which is why I thought it was so wonderful. I’ve heard from people who have read her new book that it is also very different and so good!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course! I know I’ve been following your blog. Unfortunately, I only get a chance to blog hop 1 day a week and I only post 1x a week to my blog, maybe 2x if I’m lucky because of classes and teaching…I have 164 students I teach, so it’s crazy! I’m trying to catch up with all my comments from the past week and blogs I follow now 😊😉 I’ll head to your blog in a few! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

