Book Review of MatchUp, Edited by Lee Child

MatchUp, Edited by Lee Child
Expected Publication Date: June 13, 2017, by Simon & Schuster
5 Stars!

matchup

What an absolutely wonderful read!

Matchup is a thriller anthology edited by Lee Child, one of my personal favorites, where 23 of the best of the best thriller writers today have matched up to write a short story.

The fun thing is it’s 11 female and 11 male authors who’ve teamed up to write a brand new story with their most iconic characters. Wow, does this make for some thrilling crime solving and excellent story telling!

Some of the authors and their characters were already my favorites but there were other authors I had never read, so this was a great introduction to their work—I will definitely be adding some of their works to my to-read pile!

I especially loved the seamless way the stories unfolded. All the authors worked so well together that if I had not known the short stories were collaborations, I could easily have assumed one author wrote each story.

“Faking a Murderer” by Lee Child and Kathy Reichs probably my favorite! I love both Jack Reacher and Temperance Brennan, so it was great to see the two characters work together to solve a murder. “Past Prologue” by Diana Gabaldon and Steve Berry was another great read, especially with the time travel element introduced through Gabaldon’s character Jamie Fraser combined with Berry’s Cotton Malone although I would have loved to have more Jamie Fraser in the story. I’m a huge fan of Lisa Scottoline’s character Bennie Rosato, but I had never read anything by Nelson DeMille. After reading their short story “Getaway”, I’m a fan of both Demille and his character John Corey; it was a great, fast-paced, engaging mystery!

There are others that I can list that I loved: “Short Story” by Karin Slaughter and Michael Koryta, which was another new experience since I’d never read anything by Kortyta but am a huge Slaughter fan; “Dig Here” by Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross, both authors I’m huge fans of and whose characters surprisingly meshed so well together; “Deserves to be Dead” by Lisa Jackson and John Sandford, again two of my favorite authors.

This is a perfect anthology for any thriller fan since you can spend about 15 to 20 minutes on one story and get lost in a thrilling adventure! Many stories in the anthology are excellent, none are bad, and all are highly enjoyable and masterfully written!

Definitely 5 Stars of great fun!

I want to thank NetGalley, Simon & Schuster, and the authors for providing me with an advanced copy of MatchUp to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.

I love when you leave comments! Thank you so much!!

